We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Enough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic Enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the Silken Vitoria for 4 days in January and have to say that it was a bit basic and I was in business class. Im used to Silken hotels and use them quite a lot but more for location than comfort but to be fair they do exactly what they say on the tin!
Firstly the good… Great location and affordable parking facilities. Room was basic but clean and reception staff very friendly.
The bad…..For some reason the Silken group advertise free WIFI in all rooms in their hotels and this is no different but its CRAP unless you pay for a 2nd level tier wifi.This infuriates me & I can't understand this for the life of me. It can only be greed which is regrettable and i would recommend their hotels change this policy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecoair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    396
    128
    20
    7
See reviews for
104
396
17
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel, and had a good time in the city. The hotel was walking distance from everything, without being in the thick of things. The morning we left, our car parked in the garage would not start (we had left the light on inside, we suppose, because we later realised that the hotel staff had left a note in the lift for the car owner to contact the front desk with our car license number on it). We were on the first floor and had not taken the lift, so had not seen the note. Olga at the front desk, was EXTREMELY helpful. She made calls to the garages, to the police, to the fire station, to a taxi office to get someone to jump our car. An hour later, she finally got through to someone who was actually working on a Sunday afternoon in the middle of August and he jumped our car. Olga was very patient and very professional and her perseverance helped us get on our way to enjoy the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I spent two days in this hotel. Rooms are quite OK, tidy, not to small I would call it standad. Bathroom is below standard with dirty mirror, and celling:( it is not make a good impresion.
Breakfest is bit below standard that you can expect in such hotels. Variety of food is very small, so you are able to mix you breakfest just maximum two days to avoid eating the same as you have already had. Very negative point is room they call Fitness, which is not a fitness at all, small, just four pcs of equipment and dirty floor can not be called like this.
Localization is very good - close to to old town. Do not open the window in room - it is very noisy in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our stay was for only one night. It's a nice hotel in a good location, but the internet connection didn't allow e-mail download unless you paid extra - something like 2 Euros for 30 minutes. They use some cockamimi scheme that allows web surfing, but no connection to e-mail. I was able to connect to my g-mail account, but not my normal e-mail. Thus, I only rate the Silken as average. They need to come out of the dark ages with their internet. Nobody charges for internet anymore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E.Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early September. The only down side to the place was aircon that didn't really seem to make a difference. It was 35 C both days & the rooms were warmer than they should have been with aircon. That said, we both thought this was a very well presented hotel. Yes, the bathroom was old fashioned & perhaps, dated even, but it was marble & in keeping with the rest of the decor.
Prices were very reasonable in comparison with San Sebastian (where isn't) & we found some of the pinxtos places at least as good as some of the much vaunted San Sebastian establishments.
This hotel is a short walk (10 mins )across a lovely park past a beautiful abanonned Art Deco petrol station to the main square, which is stunning. The area around the hotel feels very safe.
We used the hotel car park, parking is all but impossible on street, don't let anyone tell you otherwise. .
Perhaps the hotels greatest strength was its staff, they were always most helpful and polite.
Whilst in Vitoria my wife cut her leg & required hospital treatment. In a way this experience summed up our view of the hotel & Vitoria itself. Passers by qeued up to assist my wife who was bleeding quite heavily from the wound, even the local police could not do enough. Hotel staff helped us with translations for the neccessary medical forms.
All in all, a lovely town, well worth a visit and that certainly applies to the hotel as well. We would certainly return if we visit Vitoria again.

Room Tip: Can't really advice other than fourth floor was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We travelled from Bilbao to Vitoria, eventually found the hotel very central, clean, helpful staff. found some on street parking Free,( a god send if you can get it ) What a lovely city we stayed 3 nights travelled by car around the area had some wonderful trips, food excellent, not too expensive, coffee delicious, tapas ,great, massive selection. Well recommended. Had a day in Logronia another fantastic city to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 755Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights August 2013. Initial impression was poor as areas of flooring at the hotel entrance door worn through. Cheap internet deal (£39 per double per night), clean room and efficient reception. Air con was very noisy and made it difficult to sleep but it was too hot to sleep without. Nice cafe attaching. Location ok.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jambo_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vitoria-Gasteiz hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
#2 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel General Alava
AC Hotel General Alava
#6 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Araba
Hotel Restaurante Araba
#1 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria Hotel
#4 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jardines de Uleta
Jardines de Uleta
#7 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
#5 of 24 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria

Property: Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
Address: Portal De Castilla 8, 01008 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Vitoria-Gasteiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vitoria-Gasteiz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Hotel Vitoria Gasteiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing