We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting and food”
Review of Mirador de Ulia

Mirador de Ulia
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting and food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Food was excellent/creative and if you have children, kids menu @ 18 Euros is an absolute bargain.
Service was very correct, View from veranda to die for ( best ask to be seated there). Only issue visitors might find, is the fact that: ' no se habla ingles' , Spanish of course, French works out but imho they could do with english speaking waiters to raise their profile. It is however a problem one will find in many other restaurants even llike Arzak.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dinotruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    109
    38
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dreamy dinner with unforgettable view”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Given S.S.'s rep as a Michelin star haven, we wanted to try one of the top spots without totally breaking the bank, so we settled on Mirador de Ulía. As everyone else says, the stand-out feature of this restaurant is its great view overlooking the sparkling city at night and the beaches. Our hotel called ahead for us to reserve a table, so we got one right along the windows and arrived just as sun was setting. Service was gracious and very professional but not snobby, and we were able to get a good bottle of cava for 15 euro. We decided somewhat spontaneously to do the 80 euro/person tasting menu, which was a good choice. There were around 10 courses plus a couple gratis platters they offer everyone, and the meal had a nice flow. Some stand-outs included the interesting tuna tartare with fruit, the soup, the green peppers, the roast duck (yum!), and the cheese "carpaccio" in the desserts. Many of the courses had a modern twist which they mostly pulled off, like a tasty goat cheese ice cream with apple foam. It ended up being a very pricey night and I'm not sure the food was totally worth it (a chef in the city told us food-wise there are better 1-Michelin star options), but when you account for the view, romance (we were surrounded exclusively by couples), and atmosphere it seems to level out!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“5 star view, food average”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The view is amazing. The food is average for the price and the reputation - it has one Michelin star.

We had the tasting menus. It was about equivalent to $100 or so per person. The wine/cava/champagne list is pretty good and relatively inexpensive.

The food was good, don't get me wrong, but no better than your average nice restaurant and some dishes were "duds". The tasting menu had a number of "unique" items with foie gras, bone marrow, intestines, etc. Many of the dishes were very salty. The presentation was okay, but nothing to write home about.

Overall, you got the sense that they were trying to be great, but just not quite there and did not use the freshest ingredients or go that extra mile to make everything perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cocktail-hour-1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service, fantastic view, good food, no snobbery”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic view over San Sebastian from the terrasse, no snobbery which we liked very much. The service was excellent and the Food was very good. What surprised us was the size of the entre courses, they were very large. The Food was overall very good, but not extraordinary and seemed to lack a little "freshness" to make it extraordinary. What surprised us was that few of the staff spoke English. We were told that Bask is the basic Language in School and that Spanish is the normal second Choice. Overall a very nice restaurant With good prices for a Michelin star restaurant. To be recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fascinating view and fantastic food”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Yhe location of the restaurant is very succesfull. It's on the top of a hill so you have a fascinating view on San Sebastian and its bay.
But of course the main thing you are worse to visit it is the food. We enjoyed all dishes but most of all I liked tuna tartar and desert from milk skin, mascarpone and nut ice-cream.
They have very good wine list.
Staff is well-trained.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anturix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirador de Ulia also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Mirador de Ulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing