We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

La Cuchara de San Telmo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Up there with the best food I have eaten, & Incredible value. I recommend the foie gras (although my only experience of it), rabbit, mushroom risotto, goats cheese & octopus. Basically everything I tried.
It is small, & incredibly busy. There is limited seating outside, but most people stand at the counters. Friendly & efficient staff. I visited with some fellow travellers & also alone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BB0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,213
    559
    127
    55
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hot pinxtos!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Ordering was a bit of a challenge here, and it gets crowded very quickly, but the foie gras and the queso cabra were to die for!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
257 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent Pintxos Bar”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We ate in pintxos bars in Bilbao, Logrono, Hondarrabia and San Sebastian and by far La Cuchara was our favorite. The food was super fresh - cooked to order every time - no sitting on the bar all day. For 3.5E, you can get delicious fresh grilled specialties. Some are a little more up to 5E, but all a bargain. My favorite was the foie gras - fresh grilled with a delicate fruit sauce condiment that changed each time we went. We also loved the beef cheeks, octopus, and fresh porcini's. The bar is tiny and always crowded but we found a spot to stand each time and the guy behind the bar speaks enough english to be helpful when your spanish fails to be adequate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oaklandish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA.SPAIN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for pintxos”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Really great food and quick service with very good prices. Only problem with this place is that it´s very popular so there are always lots of people around.I was there in early december and there were not many foreign visitors but I was told that during summer there are many visitors from around the world.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOSEANTONIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small but great”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A very small place (if you have to be indoors). Nowhere to sit - you stand by the bar and order pinxtos. But it's definitely worth it. Friendly and quick service, and the hot pinxtos are delicious. This was one of the best food experiences we had in San Sebastian. As many others have already noted, the veal cheeks are fantastic. But there were other more esoteric food there as well, such as the pig ears.
It's can be a bit difficult to find, at the corner of a small street in the old city, but definitely worth the search.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blipp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuchara de San Telmo also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to La Cuchara de San Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing