We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed perfection”
Review of Arzak

Arzak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $164 - $188
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Relaxed perfection”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I only had an hour's notice before going to Arzak. I asked the concierge at Villa Soro for restaurant recommendations, and she suggested Arzak, a 3-star Michelin restaurant nearby. "But they're not going to have any availability are they?" I asked. "Well, we can try," she said. She managed to find the last table there on this particular evening, and I decided to go for it.

How serendipitous. It sounds a bit cliche, but the experience was magical. The dining room is very relaxed and unpretentious. I ordered the tasting menu; every dish was memorable, and the presentation was of the highest standard. The chef even visited the table for a chat. I even saved the mneu. Arzak is perfection without trying too hard. It's obvious why it has 3 Michelin stars.

If you go (and you know you will), don't hold back -- order the tasting menu. It would be a waste of an experience not to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,743
    276
    157
    55
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The art of food”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This restaurant is for the gourmet traveler who can appreciate the extraordinary in all details. It is too expensive for those who want a place to be fed. We went there twice, both times a top experience with the "menu de degustación", one superb dish after the other, all creative, all exceptional (you will not find them elsewhere). A special mention to Ms. Arzak, who enhanced our dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raul-UVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you consider yourself to be a foodie, you have to try food there.
Special place, cozy atmosphere.
Had pidgin as a main course, and it was soft and tasty.
Everything ran smoothly and every dish was a surprise - Parmesan lolly, "lunatico" candy and many more.
Sweets in shape of a screw and other engine parts.
Good vine suggestion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tikiNicosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excelent experience overall!!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food & presentation according to our expecatations. Food is very interesting, flavours are very original and beautifully served. Be prepared for the unexpected. The staff is very helpfull and nice. We felt spoiled by the nice lady with blonde short hair and the very helpfull somellier. As the Chef Arzak came to make a round at the Salon he was very warm with us by mentioning a very good basque restaurant in Caracas our home city.
We will cherish this experience!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little tired”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food was interesting but thought the service whilst fine was a little lacking in engaging the customer. Dress rules were very varied for a 3 Michelin star restaurant

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveEgglestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arzak also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Arzak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing