We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomodation but away from old town”
Review of Olarain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olarain
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation but away from old town”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Rooms were lovely and spacious. Great facilities - internet, laundry. Pleasant staff. 10-15mins from beach. 20-30mins from old town. I was there outside of term time so the area is very quiet

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    83
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
78
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suli
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Okay, so this IS a beach town, but I felt that 60 Euros was a bit much. The rooms and service, however, were fantastic. There was a nearby supermarket and post office, the beach was about 5-minutesd away on foot, and the location was very peaceful. For the last two nights of my stay, the person in the room next to me liked the volume on his TV rather late at night (the walls are somewhat thin), but it was nothing a pair of earplugs couldn't fix. I enjoyed having a laundry room and gym handy, but the computers definitely need some updating!! If you bring your own, wireless is free on the main floor. Breakfast was nice and was well-priced.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbean68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We decided to stop in San Sebastian and we ask to the tourist information office for an accomodation. the city was fully booked and they suggested this "Colegio Mayor Olarain", quite close to the nice Playa de Ondaretta.
The college in quite new, modern, decorated in a cartoonist way, the staff is really kind. Rooms are simple furnished, new, and ensuite with a TV. The breakfast area is lightful, clean, with a really massive choice of foods,on self-service (breakfast is included into the bedroom price). guest can access to the computer lab with free internet connections and various other facilities. For me was a really last minute fantastic chance and stay, so I really suggested it.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raframon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We contacted the San Sebastian tourist board for help with accomodation as we´d left it a bit late to find somewhere in August! We were booked into this college accomodation which is 10 minutes from la Playa de Ondaretta.
The accomodation is perfect! Really modern, each room is ensuite with a TV. Breakfast is included and there is a massive choice. There is free internet and various other facilities, and the whole place is decorated with funky cartoon characters. The staff are really friendly and helpful. I would really recommend this as a place to stay in the summer.


  • Liked — Everything in general, nothing in particular
  • Disliked — approx 20 minute walk to old town
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Codina
Hotel Codina
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olarain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olarain

Property: Olarain
Address: Paseo de Ondarreta 24, 20018 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 Specialty Lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Olarain 2*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Olarain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing