We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great!”
Review of Pension Alameda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

For those who come to San Sebastian for the plethora of pintxos bars and restaurants or sights, it doesn't get more central than this. Rooms are light, airy, immaculately clean and even the beds are comfortable enough. We managed to book a room with a balconette to the boulevard/square, but having seen a (propably quiter) courtyard facing room, i wouldn't hesitate to stay in them either. Perfect location, stunning value!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vessu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensionalameda, Propietario at Pension Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review.
That's very kind of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 146 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is very central to San Sebastián old town and where a foodies heaven awaits. A little hard to find the entrance (google map print outs are not the best). The pension is clean and comfortable. The owners are lovely, although they speak basic English. However they are very friendly and you feel safe staying in their pension.

The location is perfect. Close to the beach and the old town pintxos scene. Nothing worse than feeling like you have to travel a mile to get good food and be amongst it.

The pension Is definitely high 2* and even a 3* in the quality. It is basic, but the location alone makes up for its simplicity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AnitaAJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here to attend a conference at the Kursaal Conference Centre. The pension is spotlessly clean, the owners and staff are friendly, the wi-fi works, the shower was hot. It was unseasonably cold, but an extra blanket was instantly available. There's a great bar right outside the door; ditto an ice-cream parlour; the tapas bars of the old town are a two minute walk; the beach is five minutes away, as is the harbour; the market square is a minute, and the Kursaal is a leisurely seven or eight minutes. The blinds effectively cut out the light. Yes, San Sebastian is noisy on a Friday night - but get out of bed and get out there! Absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found this pension to be really amazing for a 2* establishment which would normally not be as nice. The owners were lovely and really made our stay very welcome and catered to our every need. We loved the location, the room size, position and only had a small issue with noise from the adjoining room and upstairs but not enough to worry us too much. Outside noise was no problem at all. I would definitely come here again to stay when returning to San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Pension Alameda in San Sebastian in July 2012 and my mother and my sister stayed there in April 2012. This review is a little late in coming but one I feel compelled to write. The pension is right in the middle of the action in San Sebastian and a short walk to the fabulous beach. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the owners were incredible. Of course, the rooms were not huge as per most European hotel rooms but they were big enough for our bags and to move around in. We wanted to spend a couple of days at the beach and the proprietors graciously and generously lent us a beach umbrella and some beach towels. We had decided at the last minute to stay an extra night but the double room we had was booked for the second night so the owners rented us 2 single rooms for the same price as the 1 double room. What a deal! I would highly recommend this pension and I would also highly recommend making reservations as much in advance as you can!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We chose san sebastian to relax in the middle of a 2 month trip, this was the perfect place to do so. It has the best possible location practically in old town within 5 minutes of the best pinxtos and 10 minute walk of the nearest beach.
The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Most importantly the owners are lovely, they tried their hardest to accommodate our preferences with the most pleasent demeanour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aguyfromaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensionalameda, Propietario at Pension Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your very nice reviews.
That's very kind of you. Yours sincerely Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

good to see hospitality people caring and sharing with the client.....me.
World series position on the edge of old town but not in the ruck of the absolute hustle and bustle.....but very close mind you.

Our room was the worst one in the place ,almost behind the reception desk, but it was tolerable and if one enjoyed the pinxtos and vino and snuggled in for the late start ......not a drama.
Very clean....extra helpful.....and San sebastian is the place to holiday.

The Pensione is better than a Rome Hotel and with it's position between Old and New parts one can meander the corridors of life without trepidation. The Cafes are all about and almost the whole area can be walked without to much hassel from the pensione.

Room Tip: ....do not get the room behind reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mausgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Pension Joakina
Pension Joakina
#1 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension AB Domini
Pension AB Domini
#33 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Casa Nicolasa
Pension Casa Nicolasa
#6 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sansebay
Hotel Sansebay
#21 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#2 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostal Isabella B&B
Hostal Isabella B&B
#62 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Alameda

Address: Alameda del Boulevar 16, 2nd fl, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $62 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Alameda 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Alameda Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing