We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agroturismo Maddiola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This is a great little B&B, we stayed here for a single night as part of a road trip through the Basque country.

It’s worth noting the B&B is some way outside of San Sebastian, however we simply walked down the hill and got a very cheap bus into town (so we could have some Txakoli!) and got a taxi back (about 12 Euros). It still worked out significantly cheaper than staying in town, and the view from the sea view room (try to specify one of these) was simply stunning.

The property itself is lovely, the rooms are simple but comfortable and the bathrooms surprisingly modern. The breakfast was simple but very tasty, and I also enjoyed very much the homemade yoghurt.

The highlight was the owners, who cannot speak English but their children can. We were in dire need of a laundry, and asked the owners where we could find one. Instead of pointing us back into town, they simply took our washing from us, washed it all, hung it out to dry and gave it back all clean!! I tried to pay them something for this but they would not accept! This really helped us out and allowed us to spend out limited time exploring the fantastic town of San Sebastian and enjoying the pintxos hopping! You won’t beat this for the money or the view!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Agroturismo Maddiola
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

Firstly, this B&B is good value for money and in a great situation (but poor location), with friendly owners. There appear to be 6 groundfloor rooms, all ensuite; 3 are called "mountainview" but basically face a wall and 3 are supposed to be seaview but more on that below.

All bedrooms appear to be ensuite and each has a private patio. All bedrooms (including their shower-rooms) and all private patios are about 10 square metres each in size. The house is shabby and cluttered, the bedrooms have old, but sturdy, brown wood furniture. The bed is also basic but comfortable enough. The shower-rooms have good plumbing.

The breakfast is not "fantastic" as an earlier reviewer put it but can be called "good" for the price of 5 Euros per person. Each room has its own breakfast table which is preset, including the food. On it you will find 1 roll per person (exactly 1 roll), 1 slice of cake per person, some butter and two tablespoons each of two types of jam. Also fruit (we got 1 kiwi each and some slices of melon/pineapple) plus (a pleasant surprise) a glass of excellent fresh (not the concentrate stuff, which even 5 star hotels serve up) orange juice and a little homemade yogurt which was delicious.

The breakfast coffee was from a machine (even the 5 star hotels in this area serve only machine coffee so quality depends mainly on the beans used) and it was adequate (NOT fantastic as another reviewer who claimed to be Italian has written) and there is a choice of teabags and powdered hot chocolate too.

The location is a good 20 minutes (not 10 as others have written) by car from the old town, and the road is narrow, steep and windy. The peace of the place, its second greatest strength after the seaview, was broken the morning we were there by the angry sound of a buzz saw or strimmer, less than 100m away, going for hours.

The seaview is superb but therein lies a puzzle. 3 times - when we booked a couple of months ago, a few days before we arrived, and also when we checked in - we requested a seaview room if possible but were always told they were all taken. Yet at breakfast only 3 tables were set and we know they were all in rooms on the non-view side because all the others who had breakfast had been occupying the patios adjoining ours, on the non-view side.

Why would we be refused a seaview when none were occupied?! Those seaview rooms are their greatest strength, yet they put ALL their guests in the "bad" rooms (there was no price difference so it could not have been that). As you can imagine, this soured our visit.

I have rated the place as very good because of the value for money but the distance from town and the narrow, windy road are major negatives if you want easy access to San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank exotissima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

This guesthouse is situated in one of the most beautiful settings, in the countryside overlooking the sea. The property offers excellent facilities with plenty of seating outside to enjoy the views. The bedrooms have modern deco and are very clean, we had a view to the back of the house which was ok but some have views over the sea. Breakfast was the best we had in or week travelling the Basque region, with fresh fruit, and homemade yoghurt and cake which were lovely. There is a large sitting room with a comfortable setee and plenty of books to have a look at. They also have a fridge where you can purchase drinks and have a vending machine with small snacks.
Although the owners don't speak English, their children do and they gave us a pack with details of the local area and maps which were really useful.
The property is remote, however you can walk to the nearest bus stop which is about 20 mins away and then catch the bus into San Sabastian for a couple of Euros and the journey was only 20 minutes. We caught a taxi back which cost 15 euros.
Highly recommend this property and would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Spent a week in San Sebastian. Travelled there with a hire car from Santander airport (about 2 hr drive).

You need to have a car for this hotel, as the only other option from town is a taxi or a long walk. The drive in/out of San Sebastian is about 10 minutes.

We (couple in our 20's) had a lovely apartment with 2 bedrooms, shower room, toilet, open plan kitchen/living room with TV. Paxi, the co-owner, has done a lot of the woodwork around the house, which is of a high quality and adds a real personal touch. For the price (sorry - forgotten how much!) we felt it to be very reasonable.

The Maddiola sits on top of a hill overlooking the sea, with great panoramic views. The area is sparsely populated, so there's lots of greenery with the odd horse around (but a couple of tapas bars close enough to walk home after a few drinks). At the Maddiola itself, you'll see quite a few animals owned by the hotel owners, including goats, cows, pigs, chickens, and some donkeys.

In fact, during our visit, we were introduced to a donkey that had been born that morning - see the picture attached (you can also just about make out the sea view).

The staff were helpful and very friendly. We were given plenty of good suggestions for things to do in town. And Paxi speaks fluent French, in case your Spanish/Basque is not up to scratch.

Definitely a good place to stay if you have a car and don't need to be too central. If you're younger and up for lots of parties, you might want to look for somewhere in the town itself.

Stayed: May 2007
5  Thank Northern-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Last year in may we went to northern Spain.
Having a car rented in barcelona we headed towards S. Sebastian, making an overnight stop in Zaragoza (nice litlle town on the river Ebro). We did not book as may is not high season, especially in the north, so once in S. Sebastian we decided not to stay downtown (too much noise!) but went to Mount Igueldo (that overviews the bay of s. sebastian by the left). When we saw this charming agroturismo on top of a hill with this breathtaking views over the cantabric sea in an absolutely quiet piece of green land it was love at first sight and we decided to stay there. Unfortunately as we did not book we could only stay 2 nights instead of the 6 which we wished to, but the owner was kind enough as to indicate us an other agroturismo nearby where to stay (not same level as Maddiola, but totally satisfying from other points of view , called Aiz Perro, I shall write a review on this, too). Our room had a terrace overwieving the ocean and all the place was new and charming, I could use the spa (sauna and jacuzzi) for free, and we had a lovely breakfast in a charming dining room with home made cakes and fantastic coffee (I am Italian so you have to trust me on this.....). I would strongly recommend agroturismo Maddiola if you have a car and wish to enjoy both the nightlife in S. sebastian and a full immersion in an enchanted piece of heaven. S. sebastian is only 10 minutes by car, which I suggest you to leave at la playa de ondarreta parkings, taking a bus to go downtown . Bus rides (at least in May) end on midnight but we often walked all the way through la playa della concha, which is a very pleasant walk to do (especiallly after a night spent eating pintxos and drinking txacolì) of no more than 3 to 4 kms.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miciola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Castelldefels (Barcelona) SPAIN
119
Reviewed May 7, 2006

If you travel to San Sebastian by car, this is by all means the best place to enjoy your stay. Agroturismo Maddiola is located in the natural park of Mendizorrotz. We have been in Maddiola last week-end and it was fantastic, peace and quiet. Maddiola is a 6 bedroom charm house made of stone and wood, in the mounting, all rooms have TV, bathroom, heat and a balcony with a table and two chairs made of wood. We stayed at a room overlooking the Cantabric Sea (striking view) and a couple that came with us stayed at a room facing the mountain. Edurne and Patxi did really know how to make of our stay in Maddiola the warmest, nicest and most enjoyable in years. We recommend having breakfast in the sitting room by a fireplace and in a very charm environment; the breakfast contains a piece of a very tasty home made cake. You can also use the spa free of charge.
Edurne and Patxi were very helpful; they even recommend you places not to be missed in San Sebastian and around.
The house is by the sea, the road and surrounded by land, bulls, donkeys, goats and pigs.
A truly remarkable place to stay and to go back again and again.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank JordiLop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
3.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,337 reviews
3.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,761 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Leku Eder
Hotel Leku Eder
#3 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
830 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,740 reviews
3.3 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#9 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agroturismo Maddiola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agroturismo Maddiola

Address: Aita Orkolaga, 161, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $76 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Agroturismo Maddiola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing