We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rude Manager”
Review of Hostal La Concha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal La Concha
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, but totally overpriced, the rooms are tiny and nothing special. The manager is very rude. He had double booked our room and threw us out claiming that we had not made a proper reservation (which I had). He didn't acknowledge that it was his fault and was completely unapologetic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2007

You are definitely paying for the location, just a few hundred meters from La Concha, but the guesthouse is getting a bit run down and grubby. Moldy bathroom, old worn sheets for example. However, I do think this is as close to a bargain you are going to get at short notice in San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Olimur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Orange, CA
150
Reviewed August 31, 2005

Hello all, this is my first post. I recently traveled to Spain and chose Hostal La Concha as my place to stay in San Sebastian. I am just writing a quick review of it since I literally could find no information on reviews of this place when I was debating booking it or not. Hopefully this post will help those who are unsure of whether or not they should book this hostal, as well as how to get from Bilbao to San Sebastian, since maybe people fly into Bilbao because of its cheaper plane ticket prices.

ROOMS: The rooms are excellent. Everything is brand new (recently remodeled) and functioned properly. My room (105) had a nice double bed, TV, in-room bathroom with shower, air conditioning, in-room refridgerator, and a small balcony. I think (though I am not entirely sure, that all rooms are very similar (except for maybe having a single bed, twin beds, etc.). Everything was exceptionally clean and they clean the room everyday providing new sheets upon request and towels.

LOCATION: An excellent location in the center of San Sebastian. There are really two distinct areas in San Sebastian: Parte Vieja, the older area which has all of the bars and restaurants in the small streets, and the City Center/Beach area called Miraconcha. The Parte Vieja is filled with hostals and pensions, and is where most of the younger travelers stay, but gets very noisy at night. Hostal La Concha is in the quieter part of the town over in Miraconcha, and is literally a 2 minute walk to La Concha beach. You can walk to Parte Vieja for the bars and nightlife within 5-8 minutes of Hostal La Concha, so to me, it was worth staying someplace a little quieter and just walking to the bars. Everywhere in these two areas of San Sebastian seemed very safe to me, and Hostal La Concha is indeed in a safe location as well.

STAFF: Every staff member was extremely nice. They all were very helpful and chatted with us for a minute or two each time we came and left the hostal about what we did that day or what we were planning on doing that evening and recommended places for us to eat and drink. They will answer any questions you have an assist you with anything you need.

HOSTAL TIDBITS: The hostal has an excellent internet room with around 5 computers. I think it was 1 Euro per hour for high speed internet, and everything seemed very new. Additionally, you can order food from the hostal to stock in your mini refridgerator in your room. The hostal has an outer door into the building, another door into the hostal, and then the door to your room, each with electronic locks accessed by the key card they give you at check-in, so you will have no worries about someone coming into the hostal that doesn't belong there.

PRICE: Price for a double was around 80-85 Euro per night if I remember correctly, but you can check current rates at the hostal's website.

GETTING TO HOSTAL LA CONCHA FROM BILBAO: In Bilbao, you can take the city bus from the airport directly to the bus station that they call Termibus. Ask the airport information representative which bus takes you to Termibus from the airport. From Termibus, I took a PESA bus to San Sebastian for around 10 Euro. The ride was around an hour to an hour and a half. Once at the San Sebastian bus station area, you can hop in a taxi and they will take you to Hostal La Concha for around 5 Euro.

SUMMARY: Excellent choice, though slightly more expensive than the typical hostel for a youth traveler. In my opinion, the extra money was well worth it for the ammenities you get, considering that if you have 2 people staying in the room, it runs about 40 Euro per person. In the cheap hostels in Parte Vieja, you'd pay 25-30 Euro per person anyway. Can't beat the location right by the hottest beach in town, and you can also walk to everything from your hostal. Stay here and you won't be disappointed. I hope my information has been helpful to any of those looking to travel to San Sebastian.

50  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las que dan ala calle principal tienen un fotón con la catedral de fondo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PyA154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank mtgo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marceau s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Nane0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Alemana
Hostal Alemana
#24 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#23 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Bahia
Hostal Bahia
#39 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Niza
Hotel Niza
#11 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Husa Europa
Hotel Husa Europa
#34 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#42 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Concha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Concha

Address: C/ San Martin, 51 | Guipuzcoa, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $77 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Concha 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Concha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing