We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH San Sebastian Donosti
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs an overhaul”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in another hotel from the chain in Bilbao and loved it (Hesperia Bilbao). This hotel doesn't compare.
It is way out of the city centre and a 20min walk from the nearest part of La Concha beach. There are buses but we didn't know how to buy tickets so we didn't try them. The walk wasn't bad for two thirty somethings as long as you didn't try it in the midday heat. I wouldn't recommend it if you have kids or loads of beach stuff. You do pass a couple of nice cafes, a supermarket and some restaurants on the way in however.
The hotel itself might have looked new in 2007 as some of the reviews here suggest but it doesn't look new now (in July 2012). The carpets are worn and stained. The lift has rails around it that are not attached securely. The room we stayed in was small and felt cramped. The hotel felt like it had been built on a budget. You could hear TVs from the rooms on either side. People walking down the corridor were also easily heard.
I was glad we ended up in a room facing away from the motorway as I can imagine that would have been very noisy.
As others have said the internet didn't work in the rooms. I was offered an ethernet cable but that isn't any good when you have an iPad.
The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English but they were by far the best things about the hotel. All in all I'd have been disappointed if I'd been there myself on business but I was upset to be there with my wife on holiday. It wasn't particularly cheap either.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room that doesn't look onto the big road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    213
    98
    23
    14
See reviews for
85
173
13
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nice people but remotely located in an otherwise small city. No restaurant at the hotel and very little offer on the vicinity and needs a walk. Funny enough they don´t serve breakfast before 8:00 AM on Saturdays and Sundays, very Spanish waking up late, but really bad if you have to take a plane early. Not a place that I would go back any time soon.

Room Tip: When in San Sebastian choose centrally located hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel provides NO value for money. It is poorly located in relation to San Seb. It is by a very, very noisy road. Breakfast isn't included. The internet does not work in the rooms (as stated on my booking confirmation) and even in the lobby my search engine gave up as it was so slow. The worst problem was the smell. The carpets are filthy and the stink of them permeates the hole hotel. It is very cynical that they do nothing about this and continue to advertise 'free internet, great facilities, brand new hotel, excellently located' etc. I rarely write reviews, but this hotel provided such poor money to value experience that I feel obligated to warn people off it. Stay in a hostel in town - it will be far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecGtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

As the hotels in the city had a outrageous price per night, we decided to try for once to book a hotel a little bit far from the city. This decision was proven right (but usually we do prefer to pay a bit more and stay in the heart of the city). In this case there is a bus just across the street from the hotel which takes you in 15 minutes to the city center. The hotel is small and modern and seems to offer for a businessman more services than to a family but for one night it was sufficient for us...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

You may feel bad to be far from city center, in a city like SanSebastian. Its a basic hotel, not offering any extra.
The rooms are spacious with a balcony but you just watch a university building not the beautiful coast of SanSebastian.

The taxi takes about 15 minutes to the city center.
If you are not travelling to SanSebastian frequently, you should choose a hotel to feel the atmosphere.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in May 2011.

This hotel is run down, corridor carpet cleaned last in the last century, and is definitely not a 4 star.

The worst of all, it is a building located on an 'island' between 3 highways, with 6 lines in one case, with cars passing all night. it is 15 min by bus to the center of the city, and although the connection is easy it only runs till 23.30, so with the Spanish dinner timetable you will have to use the taxi. Honestly, i do not get why in such a beautiful and green place at the sea you need to face highways. do not spoil your stay by going there!

the breakfast is good, the check in efficient, the bed ok. only one place (tavern) walking distance to go for dinner.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AnnaandMicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
249 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

San Sebastian Hesperia Donosti
Nh with its sister hotels the same site where you can book it sounds like expect honesty in any case because what does the text on the NH Hotels: Hesperia Donosti
I quote, "The Hesperia Donosti is a great new hotel and as you might expect, this hotel offers guests excellent service and facilities. Wireless Internet access in rooms, air conditioning, minibar and satellite TV (most of the channels did not!) Are just a few of the possibilities you stay with us as memorable as San Sebastian will make itself. "Unquote
Well do you think a Splinter NEW hotel, but I think it's too dirty to tackle stains in the carpet (3rd floor), cards no longer work at the garage, intercom at the garage does not. Cracks in the night curtain, a gray old towels in my opinion. One real hotel room bed. In short once but never again, a few weeks before the NH slept few miles away which was better and the price did not help. Oh yes the man behind the counter, OK guy! My room 305 has a terrace, sitting outside in the evening, but the outdoor seats are so dirty because I dare not, a pity!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredvdFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,610 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,699 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH San Sebastian Donosti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH San Sebastian Donosti

Property: NH San Sebastian Donosti
Address: Avda. Zarautz, 120, 20018 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Donosti)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH San Sebastian Donosti 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH San Sebastián Donosti hotel, formerly known as the Hesperia Donosti, is a great base for business travelers. It’s close to the city’s business and technology district, and has lots of major companies within walking distance. As for getting to the city center, it’s just a short drive away. - near the city’s business and technology district - within walking distance of major companies and most of the university’s buildings - a 10-minute drive from the city center – there’s a bus stop just outside the hotel, with a service to the old town running every 5 minutes We have 45 spacious rooms on 5 floors. They’re comfortable and stylish in equal measure, and come with some thoughtful extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your NH San Sebastian Donosti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Donosti Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Hesperia Donosti San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing