We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, excellent location”
Review of Pension Edorta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Edorta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful; the location was amazing - right near the beach yet right in the heart of the old town; rooms could do with an update but they were good value for money.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms will be at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank KateS2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 271 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here two days while on a quick trip through Spain. Happened on it as we were walking through the old town. Were pleasantly surprised to find how clean our room was. We were able to get a room with ensuite bathroom, although the option exists for shared facilities. Checked in Sunday afternoon with someone who knew enough English to get us everything we wanted. Monday morning the desk person spoke excellent English and pointed us to a great lunch deal and to excellent pinxtos. We feel lucky that we found a great room in a great location for a great price so randomly.

Room Tip: Loved our ensuite room. It had a balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinktravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Price: San Sebastian is really expensive, and to find this in such a good location at this price is a good deal.

Location: Central, and great for exploring the city. This is in the old town. Everything is within walking distance.

Standard: As other reviewers have mentioned, you need to be prepared that this is a pension, and not a hotel. It is clean, with shared bathroom(s), and the rooms contain a bed, a TV and a place to put your clothes. It is basic, but really all we needed.

Noice: You can hear people in the other rooms and on the street, but I guess that is what you get in such old buildings and with small, narrow streets. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Other: Helpful, English-speaking staff. You get a key, so you can come in as late as you wish.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a pension style accommodation so you need to have expectations in line with this level of hotel. It is cheap for the location and the location cannot be questioned for a stay in this beautiful little city.

The issue of noise is legitimate - the walls are thin, you can hear people walking around etc - however it is very very clean, people are respectful of the noise issue and for the price it is worth overlooking this one concern which is common in this style of accommodation anywhere

Our room was actually very large, plenty of room and it was a comfortable space to relax after a long day. The people running the hotel were very reserved but helpful when asked for assistance, perhaps they are a little shy when using English. There is visitor information in the hotel and you can get assistance for the usual tourist needs 24 hours a day which is great for such a small place.

The location is a very short walk to the water and right in the mix of the old town - stunning!

There is a little convenience store down stairs which is handy for everyday items and you will not need to use a taxi or any transport unless leaving the place to explore elsewhere

This is a good option and will not disappoint unless you are looking for a full service hotel

There is a lift which is not always the case!

There is wifi available free of charge as well.

2 minutes walk to a taxi when required fort he airport etc

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_alewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We never thought we would ever risk a one star pension- but we took a chance based on a strong recommendation from well-travelled friends. Excellent position in the heart of the old town, spotlessly clean and spacious room and bathroom. 24hour reception and a manager (Oletz) who could not have been more helpful. WE had an early departure on the last day and the owner waited with us in the street to make sure the taxi arrived on time and we were safely on our way. How's that for service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in a double room with shared bathroom facilities. I had reservations about a shared bathroom but the place is very well maintained & the entire premises are squeaky clean at all times. I'd requested a quiet room with a double bed - the room was compact compared to a room with twin beds; our room overlooked the street & it was above a popular pintxos bar. Sleep quality was poor Friday & Saturday nights due to revellers. A good small 'supermarket' a few doors down for self-catering. Bakeries & a fabulous pasteleria within walking distance. And of course, pintxos bars abound!
An enjoyable stay in Donostia-San Sebastian. I would thoroughly recommend Pension Edorta for accommodation.

Room Tip: If you want room to move around, request a room with twin beds. If you want sleep, request a room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The room was very clean. The shared bathroom also. It's not a luxury hotel but the quality of the service is very acceptable. But.... The big setback lies in the noise. Not necessarily in the street (if you have earplugs. Even if the windows are well isolated) but between the rooms themselves. The walls are very very thin. You hear everything in the conversations of the other room. And last but not least. People at the desk are a bit cold, not really welcoming and not really open to customer service. Still it's a good deal if you don't have too much money to spend in this very expensive city.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank matvei007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,605 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,907 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,834 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#10 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Edorta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Edorta

Address: Calle Puerto, 15 | 1st Floor, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $49 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Edorta 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pension Edorta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Edorta Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Edorta Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing