We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tucked-away, seaside charm”
Review of Pension Edorta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Edorta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

my wife and I arrived in San Sabastian at mid-day, having been misinformed about the bus schedule from Bilbao, (courtesy of the Lonely Planet), the evening before. (we were scheduled to spend three nights at the Pension Edorta, but the mishap cut it down to two.)

at San Sabastian, the cabby from the bus stop said that he couldn't drop us at the pension, since the last stretch was impassable. so we took the bus instead, and found out that the calles at the seaside at San Sabastian are narrow alley-ways. We walked the last three blocks with our luggage. (annoying, but our mood was about to change for the better.)

we found that the small, cozy pension, which we had booked, was two buildings in from the beach promenade. we were led up to our room on the second floor by a very polite attendant, who apologized for our mishap with the buses. they later took half off of the previous night's stay, which we felt was more than fair.

to get to the point, the room was just BEAUTIFUL, with a small balcony overlooking the delightful mini-street, which dead-ended at the promenade. the rest of the calle was occupied by pintxos bars, small stores, and other pensions. the interior walls were stone, the floors were tile, and the colors were festive. the bed was comfy--stay on the upper floors to avoid late -night pintxos crawl noise.

bottom line--great stay--dying to return.

rodney

Room Tip: anywhere above the street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTK321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 272 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was in an unbelievable location- close to the water & in the heart of where the action happens each night. Our room however was so quiet. We could even hear the ocean when all the pintos bars had closed!

Staff were extremely helpful & very very friendly. Even on arrival having no hesitations recommending the best places to try tapas.

The share bathrooms were very clean and spacious and we never had to wait. The shower pressure and hot water were good too.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillianthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for three nights - and for the price, it is great value. We arrived early, and had no problem checking in before normal check in time. We tried to book a room with it's own bathroom, but these were booked out, so we had a room with shared bathroom. The bathroom was kept clean, but would prefer to have not shared. The room was clean and well kept - it had windows opening to the street. We were here at the end of summer, and the room had no fan. This was a bit of a negative - it was hot (would hate to be here in height of summer without a fan). We left the windows/doors opened to the small balcony - this did provide some fresh air. The only problem with this was that there was a lot of street noise, until approximately 3am. People in the restaurant under the building, and also people walking up and down the street. Then from about 4:30am onwards, you have street sweepers, shopkeepers putting out their stuff and delivery trucks and garbarge trucks on the street. It was not terrible - but after three nights we were looking forward to a good night sleep somewhere else. San Sebastian is a place that you spent a lot of time out at night, eating the good food and watching the world go by, so you are usually tired by the time you get home, but it did have some impact. If there was a small pedastal fan in the room, and you could close the windows, this would be much better. The location can't be beat though - right in the heart of old town, close to the beach. Even with the noise I would still recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janita_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a fab time in San Sebastian! Stayed at the Pension Edorta because it was cheap and location was good. On arrival we discovered that location was perfect! Right in middle of the old town, and just a few minutes stroll from the harbour. Room was decent size, comfortable bed, good wardrobe space and decent size bathroom. Yes it was slightly shabby but it was clean and made a great base for our weekend. We seemed to run out of hot water one morning though. We were worried that the street noise would keep us awake but think we were lucky - quiet time of year? Would definitely recommend you take earplugs, and the walls were quite thin meaning you could sometimes hear your neighbour. Couldn't really have the window open so in summer would be unpleasantly hot as no air conditioning.

Food options in SS are plentiful although we struggled to find nice places nearby for breakfast. But the numerous bars and restaurants provided a great array for lunch, dinner and everything in between. Do make the climb up to see the statue of Jesus, and seek out the little refreshments hut up there for a cold cerveza and the most breathtaking view of the Playa de la Concha.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AlanMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pension Edorta is perfectly positioned on one of the quiter streets of the old town right by the beach and a stone's throw from all of the pinchos bars. We had a lovely large room and bathroom at the back of the pension which meant we had a great sleep each night. Mucho Gracias and we hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great central location! Tapas bars all a short walk from the front door and about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach. San Sebastian is a great little party town, especially if you're a student traveller.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, overlooking the street and was very spacious. We booked a room with an in suite bathroom and even that was quite roomy. Very clean and comfortable.

With all the tapas bars filled with tourists be prepared to be out as late as you can as the late night street noise may keep you up. However, despite waking to breaking bottles and drunken groups of tourists we would stay here again. Great value for such a spacious and clean accommodation.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with bathroom in suite if you're travelling as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YEGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great place to stay, right in the middle of the old town. Lovely ensuite room at the back of the building so we didn't hear any noise whatsoever on the street.....and it was carnival week!! People working there were really friendly and helpful, I would recommend it to anyone to stay. Stayed in another pension a number of years back and Edorta was a real step up from that. Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishDeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3,005 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Edorta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Edorta

Address: Calle Puerto, 15 | 1st Floor, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $51 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Edorta 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Edorta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Edorta Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Edorta Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing