We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy guestroom, good location”
Review of Pension Edorta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Edorta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in the double room (2 beds) that had a private bathroom. The guestroom had hardwood floors and red brick walls which made the room feel cozy to me. The bed was slightly hard on my back but I still had a good night's sleep. I did not notice if there was air conditioning in the room because we left our windows open all night so we can hear the church bells ring and the locals strolling in the quarter even up to 3am (this did not bother me at all, in fact I wanted to experience that). Wifi on the third floor was slow so we had to stand in the hallway to get a good connection. The hallway/staircase was dark but they will show you how to turn on the timer. The receptionists (not sure if they are the owners) were helpful with providing directions and suggesting what attractions to see. Nevertheless, I liked the old building where Pension Edorta is located. Walking distance to the San Sebastian beach, Plaza Constitucion and of course the pintxo bars where you can endulge yourself in the basque cuisine (our favorite one was Izkina Jatetxea which seemed to be a favorite among the locals, bring a good appetite with you). If you like good panaderia, you can look for La Mie Caline and try their Neopolitana bread which was delicious. If you are coming from or heading to the San Sebastian Railway (RENFE), it's about a 10 minute taxi ride. You can ask the receptionist to call a taxi for you and they will meet you at the roundabout /entrance to the old city. If I were to visit San Sebastian again, I will still choose Pension Edorta. Traveling with my sister, we felt safe in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rileyboo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 273 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

nothing fancy, just a "pensione". the room was comfortable. the shared bathroom was very clean and we never had to wait to use it. the receptionists were welcoming and helpful. it's right in the old town. after we stayed one night on our road trip to lisbon we decided to book another night for our way back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cicciopirrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The location is great in the middle of the old city, few steps from the harbour with all the pinxos bars around. The room was nice and spacious with a bathroom, all very clean. the receptionists were very helpfull and the price very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you come in the summer dont take the street side rooms, there is no AC and the noise from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOAZTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The bedroom was pretty, with bright colours and exposed beams. However, the walls were very thin, we could hear everything from next door's conversation, the bathroom was rather old and it was quite cold in the room. On the plus side it was very central. Lonely Planet describe it as a Boutique Hotel. It isn't. It's a good enough hostel in the centre of the old town, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed in a room with a private bathroom and balcony. It was very nice room. The room and bathroom were very clean. Reception called up and booked us in at a cideria just out of town (I would recommend visting one of these, it was a fun day). It is the best location. Very central. Obviously this does mean it will be a bit noisy, especially on Saturday night, but with earplugs the noise didnt bother us and we had a room facing the street.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Central, clean, friendly staff + nothing bad to report on this Pension. We stayed here for three nights and found Edorta to be perfect for our needs - a great base to explore the city and also easy to stumble back to after a few too many 'Old Town' bars!


We shared a twin room with private bathroom which was a great size and it also had a TV, big windows and a separate sofa to relax on, free wifi + all the mod-cons you'd expect too. I'd recommend this to young + old travellers alike. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAlbarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the pension and the town! Kind reception and we had a cheap, small but good room, with a shared bathroom which was only two steps away and very clean & always available. We enjoyed our breakfast in the morning sun just at the end of the street,on a lovely square, the beach at the other end of the street and lots of delicious pinxtos bars all around!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgo053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
#24 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Alemana
Hostal Alemana
#25 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#43 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#16 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,655 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
#20 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Edorta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Edorta

Address: Calle Puerto, 15 | 1st Floor, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $50 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Edorta 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Edorta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Edorta Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Edorta Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing