We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel, great staff”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Hotel Zaragoza Plaza is located just 1 block from the beachfront and within a few minutes walk of the old town. The hotel is quite small - our room was compact but there was plenty of room for 2 to move around - more importantly the room was clean and the air con efficient. They have a great little coffee machine available for self-service all day. The hotel is great value for money - San Sebastian seems to be very expensive hotel-wise but the Zaragoza Plaza was very reasonable without compromising on quality of service. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful - they really make the hotel special. The wifi was fine if we sat near the desk in our room but kept dropping if we sat on the bed - once we realised this we just used it at the desk. We only stayed one night but would stay at this hotel again if we visited San Sebastian again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    305
    122
    25
    17
See reviews for
64
359
36
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Clearly San Sebastian is full. Otherwise I wouldn't have paid over the odds for such a small room where I could walk around the bed - but only just.
Staff were friendly, but seemed unable to take further action on the issue of the WiFi which wouldn't connect (apparently quite a common occurrence with Andriod and iPhone) probably because they still use an old insecure connection protocol. At least they have a small laptop they will lend you for an hour.
Breakfast was OK, especially if you have a sweet tooth, but left you with almost no choice if you have a gluten intolerance - apart from some tortilla and tinned fruit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyP000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were a little concerned that the one star Zaragoza plaza hotel would be a bit basic. We were wrong! The rooms are on the small side but once we unpacked, there was plenty of room and we had a lovely flower filled patio outside our room (room 102). The location is excellent, the entire place was clean and well maintained and every member of staff we met went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast offered a wide array of pastries and bread as well as cereal, cheese, cold meats, tortilla and yoghurts, and excellent coffee. And prices in the minibar were extremely cheap. We would definitely recommend staying here and spending the money you saved at some of the excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AesRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antequera, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Its listed as a 1 star but I have stayed in worse 2 & 3 star places. 100 meteres from the beach and 5 minutes from the old town. Decent breakfast, friendly staff and half the price of hotel londres Y Inglaterra which it is just behind. Great vale and location would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnbooth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here inb May 2013 for 9 days, what a great little hotel, we stayed in a room overlooking the plaza and a sea view between the hotels opposite. Although this hotel is a one star it is very good, lovely bedroom, with two big twin beds, TV, balcony, very clean, ample breakfast, both reception and cleaning staff very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as its location is brilliant for the sea front and the bars with those delicious pinxos, and only a 10 minute walk to the Euskotren and bus terminus and the old town.

Room Tip: We overlooked the plaza and we never had any bother, I am not sure if the night club was open, becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loslimones47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A group of 6 adults stayed at this hotel for a weekend in May. Our friend recommended it as he had stayed there before. Although it is only a 1 star grading, dont be put off as it is very clean & the staff are really friendly.Our room was a decent size with a double bed,TV, mini fridge, bathroom with shower over bath & a balcony. Breakfast was included which is your typical continental style breakfast in a cosy room on the first floor with a waitress serving tea & coffee. The hotel is in an ideal location, right in the center close to all the bars/restaurants etc & the beach is only a 5 min walk over the road. One thing to be aware of though, is that there is a night club across the road & if your room is overlooking this then you may want to request a room on the other side as the noise will definately awaken you. Its not so much the music but the crowds who leave for taxis or party on in the street in the early hours i.e 4.00am -7.00am. Or you could wear ear plugs like we did. Still, a great little hotel & i would definately stay here again

Room Tip: If possible, get a room not overlooking the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andymister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, GA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is rated 1*.

It is much better than that.

We had a room with balcony overlooking the plaza.

The room was comfortable. The view was pleasant.

The breakfast was adequate.

The staff were very helpful.

They have reserved parking a few blocks away.

The beach is a short walk away.

We were very happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irablock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#22 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaragoza Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaragoza Plaza

Property: Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Address: Plaza Zaragoza 3, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#12 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Zaragoza Plaza 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zaragoza Plaza hotel is situated in the very center of the Romantic Area of San Sebastian, just few meters from the most beautiful beach of the town called La Concha.Enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zaragoza Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaragoza Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing