We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is it's location just steps from the beach. Other than that it's a basic generic hotel, so if you're looking for character this isn't for you. But I had absolutely no complaints and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 634 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

There are only two things going for this 1-star rated hotel: budget price and location to the beach. Easy enough to find with GPS but the nearby parking costs 20 euros a night and closes between midnight and 8 am.

The rooms do not have peepholes in the doors, nor does the sliding glass door to the tiny balcony fully latch (this caused me some concern for safety). Street noise at night was typical of a downtown location. The room itself was very small with 2 twin beds. The shower unit's fixture was broken so the shower head sprayer wouldn't stay in place - I eventually just let it drop to the tub and used it from there. It appears they've tried to cover up a decaying or moldy grout job on the tub with rubber moulding. Only one towel in the room but we got more when requested at the front desk.

Internet is free but if you get a room away from the receiver, it won't work. We had to go to the second floor "lounge" (a small airless room) to connect - signal was strong there.

The staff were cordial and could speak English well enough. If your breakfast is not included in your rate, don't buy it. It consisted of a meager selection of breads, tea or coffee, muesli, yogurt and a limit of one ham slice and one cheese slice per person. There was fruit salad (canned) and a few apples.

Other reviews here have said the place was OK for what it is, but I guess my standards are higher. Next time, I will pay more and stay someplace else.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleopatraBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights separated by a long weekend elsewhere. Both rooms and bathrooms were fine although not huge, our one minor grumble was that neither had a mirror in the bedroom.

The reception staff were very friendly and all spoke excellent English putting our pathetic Spanish to shame. San Sebastian - Donostia is wonderful and the hotel is only a few steps from the main beach and a few more to the heart of the town that is teeming with wonderful bars, restaurants, shops, and Belle Époque architecture.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Merry_early_retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Have to agree with your April reviewers. We had slightly cramped bedroom and bathroom yet there was nothing to complain about and it was cheap for San Sebastian. It is clean and fairly modern, designed to maximise the number of sleeping units at a budget price and does this well. It is not a four star yet better than a one star; lets divide by two and say it is two and a half stars.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpyoldulsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

hmm we only realized from the front door it was only a 1star which surprised us. We had just come from a 4star in Bilbao for the same price which offered everything in comparison. Zaragoza's rooms were CLEAN and modern, and because they didn't have cots we were charged for an extra bed for our baby, giving us a bigger room as well. The parking garage nearby cost over 20euros a day. We were in room 210, across from the lounge that offered free coffee, but was packed away during breakfast hours! We got a "ration card" detailing the breakfast we were entitled to (1hot drink, 1bacon, 2breads, 1cheese, 1juice etc) yet the higher weekend price (over 100euros) did not come with breakfast, but the lower weekday price did. Because we had a toddler we came back to the room in the afternoon to find the hot water shuts off, and the stopper in the sink was removed but the chain left, so couldn't fill the sink. No complimentary water, no room instructions for tv, channels, where things were, only 3 hangers in closet for 3 of us, and the smell of cigarette smoke from the staff breakroom next door came thru into our bathroom. Over the weekend the recycling bins on the street below were in constant use, seemed local bars came and dropped all their glass at all hours of the night so had to shut window at night. Unfortunate because the location was perfect and at night you could hear the waves lapping on the beach...

Room Tip: expensive for what we got, but very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mainz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

In a good spot, walking distance to beaches, shopping and old town. The rooms are basic, not very modern but will do for the cheap price. No complaints

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da33Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Such a lovely hotel. Near to the beach, the old town, the cathedral, the shops. We wish we had time to stay here longer than one night. Staff were all friendly and helpful and we would certainly come again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,607 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#11 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
524 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaragoza Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaragoza Plaza

Address: Plaza Zaragoza 3, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#12 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $58 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Zaragoza Plaza 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zaragoza Plaza hotel is situated in the very center of the Romantic Area of San Sebastian, just few meters from the most beautiful beach of the town called La Concha.Enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zaragoza Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaragoza Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing