We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
kildare
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed in this small city hotel on honeymoon this summer and found it a good base for staying in San Sebastian. Some people may prefer to stay closer to the old town and la concha beach but we enjoyed the walk from the hotel to zurriola beach where you can continue along the prom to the old town and la concha beach. The main hotel building is very elegant. Our room was in the newer building to the back of the main hotel but that was not a problem. The room was very nice with tasteful, quality furnishings, a good bathroom and a comfortable bed. (After our previous stay in the horrible Zelai hotel in Zumaia this seemed like a dream!).
The hotel is in a residential area so there are no views to speak of but you will most likely spend most of your time out exploring beautiful San Sebastian.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aylevarroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    147
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
77
490
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

We actually decided to stay in the Hotel Villa Soro because of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews and because it is within walking distance of the Restaurante Arzak (probably our best dinner ever in over forty years). Hotel pros: Very helpful and friendly staff, beautiful public areas, very spacious and pretty room with a very modern bath area and a very comfortable bed, free internet service via a computer in a public space, on-site parking, and an excellent breakfast (included in the room charge) in a pretty breakfast room. Hotel cons: It is a ten-minute taxi ride from the main "old-town" area (not much of a "con") that is on a two-mile stretch of a beach shaped like a scallop shell (similar to Rio, for those who have been there). Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ/HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

Overall the hotel was ok, the staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was great (if you don't mind paying £28 for two that is!). This is by no means the cheapest hotel to stay at in San Sebastian and we were disappointed with the room, which was very dark because of it's location - in the annex at the back behind the main house (see photos). If you want a bedroom in the main house, which is gorgeous, you will need to book a superior room (not the standard room we booked). The hotel is also miles away from the old town (which is where all the action is) - at least a 20 min walk. Either bring sensible shoes or budget for lots of taxis!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

This was the biggest splurge in our recent vacation to Northern Spain, and well worth it. Room was gigantic, bed was very comfortable with high-thread count sheets, bathroom was immaculate and bright and luxurious (towels, bathrobes), and there was an English channel or two on the telly. Hotel itself is beautiful and fairly glamorous. Breakfast is almost ridiculously lavish. But our favorite parts were a) safe free parking on premise(this is really really hard to find in San Sebastian), b) location (we could walk everywhere) and c) the front desk staff, who made our trip the best it could be (knowledgeable and appropriate restaurant/sightseeing recommendations, good map/directions, calls to another hotel to locate a lost item, wonderful attitude and patience). They really know what they are doing here if you are on vacation. Treat yourself - San Sebastian is expensive anyway!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spcfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

A lovely intimate hotel which is approximately a 10 minute walk from the town centre and a 10 minute walk from the amazing Arzak’s restaurant (a real treat!). It is extremely quiet so if you’re looking for a lively bar and buzz about the place then this probably isn’t the hotel for you! It’s hard to find fault with Villa Soro, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern as are the bathrooms, the soft drinks in the mini bar are complimentary and at turn down, they leave a selection of buns in your room which was a lovely touch. We did find it expensive however and our room rate did not include breakfast, this aside, I couldn’t but recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgirishrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

My husband I spent 3 nights here in November 2008. It was a bit of a splurge for our off-season tour of the Basque country. Our room was gorgeous and extremely comfortable. We were in an annex behind the main hotel building. In warmer weather, the small outdoor patio would have been lovely. Free internet access (wifi). Free parking. Our rate included breakfast, which was excellent and very generous. Location: 20 minute walk to San Sebastian's center, but plenty of restaurants and bars were nearby (say a 5-10 minute walk). The nearest beach would have been a 10-15 minute walk. We were happy not to have to navigate the city center when arriving at the hotel by car. The staff was friendly and attentive. We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srudy1780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

We were only here for 1 night but we were all impressed with this beautiful restored villa. It even has the convenience of an elevator and the Continental Breakfast was lovely. We enjoyed sitting around the wood burning fireplace on a cool evening. The superior rooms were very spacious, one with a balcony and one with a larger sized terrace. Don't miss the chance to walk to Alona Berri for fabulous tapas. It is only a few blacks from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Leku Eder
Hotel Leku Eder
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Property: Hotel Villa Soro
Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing