We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis of peace in a house coverted hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 16, 2014

First you pass by this place. It looks too much of a private property, and absolutely not a hotel.
Staff are very friendly. Bell boys, efficient. We had the rooms in the backyard.
Spaceous, large beds, seamless internet and a complete minibar.

The hotelbar is also very cosy. Unfortunately we had no time for breakfast the next morning.
But this is a great place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: backyard rooms are peaceful and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Paul,

It is always very gratifying to receive such praise from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor.

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how you liked the service provided by our “friendly and efficient” staff.
Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you at Villa Soro in the future.

Warm regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 842 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was not in the center of town and we were planning to spend most our time making day trips in the area. In that regard is was just right. Our room as very comfortable with a king bed, well soundproofed, and well equipped. The staff was helpful and friendly, though not everyone spoke English. As advertised, it is a 10-15 minute walk to the beach and/or town. There is no restaurant, which we didn't realize. Somehow though, there is room service for full dinners. Skip it.... Food was disappointing. A breakfast room did serve a delicious breakfast. The lack of a restaurant is my main reason for an "Average" rating. There is only one restaurant of note close by (Saltxipi).... All I can say is you better LOVE seafood. There really is nothing wrong with this hotel... It just left us kind of flat. Near constant rain didn't help our mood.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mapman521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, we have noted the highs and lows of your stay.

We appreciate that you liked the room, breakfast quality and our “helpful and friendly” staff. On the other hand I feel concerned reading that not all of your expectations were met during the stay particularly referring to the quality of food. It will surely be followed up and appropriate actions will be undertaken.

Villa Soro is located to a 5 minute walking distance from Gros quarter, where you can find a full range of restaurants and Tapa´s Bars (Bermingham St, San Francisco St, Zabaleta St…).

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again to Villa Soro Hotel and a better summer could help us to offer you a better experience.

Best regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great small hotel, small number of rooms, quiet location about 20mins walk from the old town (with some nice stopping off bars on the way) Service excellent and very prompt.

Breakfast very nice , bare in mind it has no evening restaurant but they do give great recommendations for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Lee,

This makes lovely reading and I very much hope that your next visit to San Sebastian and Villa Soro will be so successful and enjoyable!

Best regards from San Sebastian,

Ander Elortegi
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is a renovated old large house with by additional rooms in an annexe at the rear. It has a gym and is set in wonderful grounds with ample parking for all guests.
It has a well appointed sitting room and bar area and a bright breakfast room. Room service is available but there is no restaurant.
Our room was on the second floor and serviced by an elevator. The room was spacious and well appointed with a large and modern bathroom with bath and separate shower. The vanity was large enough for travel packs.
The room had ample space for luggage and hanging space for coats and clothes. The service was excellent with attentive and helpful staff, who called taxis, made great gin and tonic and served a very ample breakfast, as well as booking restaurants and answering all our questions.
The best part about this hotel is that it is only 15 minutes easy walk from the old town in San Sebastián
If you want excellent quality and service at a reasonable price don't go past this hotel.

Room Tip: Ha room in the main house is an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear John,

That is fabulous, no words could describe how thankful we are for these fantastic words of yours.

We can clearly see that you have experienced our hotel ‘from head to toes’ and as could be seen in the review- all was to your liking. With pleasure I will share your opinion with our Team, they will surely take a lot of pleasure reading it

Entire Villa Soro Hotel Team hopes to see you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

From the time we arrived at this Villa the staff were very friendly and helpful, and made us feel at home. Rooms very spacious and beautifully decorated. Great location about a 10 min walk from surfing beach and 20 mins to the old town. The old town is a must amazing Tapas Bars everywhere the food is out of this world.. The Villa has parking on site which is a bonus when driving around Spain.
The breakfast at the Villa was very good. Would definitely recommend this Villa.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabbs121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how you liked breakfast, the location of the hotel but especially the service provided by our “friendly and helpful” staff .

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are looking forward to welcome you at Villa Soro soon.

Best regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in late June after 3 weeks in many other nice hotels in Spain. Villa Soro was the best in terms of its decor, intimacy, public space and charm. The staff was very helpful and friendly, but unimposing. We borrowed bikes one afternoon and rode through town along the beach - what a treat! We liked that the location was out of the hub of town but extremely close in. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tripster C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear guest,

What a charming summary of your stay - could not thank you enough for this splendid comment of yours!

We appreciate you enjoyed the decoration and charm of the public spaces as well as the free bike service.

Thank you once again for sharing this wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back soon in Villa Soro.

Best regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Beautiful villa, very nicely located 15 min away from the beach and the city- this place offers calmness and elegance on one hand and the immediate vibrant city within walking distance on the other hand. Nice small gym and swimming pool. Nice area for sitting outdoor. Charming public areas to comfortably sit with magazines or books. We enjoyed much.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Idit,

How splendid to read your review – thank you for sharing and recommending us! We appreciate you noticed our location close to Zurriola beach and our “charming” public areas.

There is not much for us to be desired than just to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Villa Soro Hotel in not too distant future for some more of the enjoyable experience.

Best regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
2.4 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#9 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
520 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Leku Eder
Hotel Leku Eder
#3 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arrizul Congress Hotel
Arrizul Congress Hotel
#19 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#16 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,764 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $167 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing