We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious bed between meals”
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A luxurious bed between meals”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Villa Soro for two nights whilst eating our way around San Sebastian.
The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms well decked out. The hotel is well decorated and the driveway/garden gives it a gran look. Location wise it is a 15 minute walk from the old town, which is handy after a big meal.

Room Tip: Our room in the main building faced the road and railway line, certainly not picturesque but neither...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToTheLastGrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    151
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
87
522
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was liking staying in something from Elle Decor magazine. A beautiful house, tastefully and imaginatively restored. Bedrooms large and comfortable and the staff are charming and very helpful. It's a good twenty minute walk from the main beaches (so no sea view) and the road in front is very busy but these are the only slight negatives. We left smiling and feeling we had been very well looked after by intelligent and genuinely friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved our week stay at Villa Soro. The staff was so helpful and friendly. They really made our stay wonderful with their attentiveness. We enjoyed evening drinks in the garden and the morning breakfasts were excellent and made to order The location is also good and we spent afternoons visiting Biarritz, Bilbao, Pamplona and Rioja. We had a very nice and spacious room with many amenities. We would ❤️ to return some day!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights at Villa Soro. It was a lovely place to stay. The room was very comfortable.

The breakfast was excellent. A really good variety of foods. The service was very accommodating.

All of the employees were very knowledgeable on the area and helpful. I have stayed at many small hotels and this is one of my favorites.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a really nice Country House style hotel, totally modernised, just a few minutes from the beach in a nice part of town. Our room was extremely comfortable, with an excellent bathroom. The hotel staff are very accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewravesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is small, charming and hits all of the right features I prefer in a hotel. The room was clean and had the correct amenities. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We enjoyed breakfast each morning and found that the food was well prepared with a large enough variety to meet most needs but also not excessive. It was a quality continental breakfast with eggs and such as required. Overall I would have given this a five star rating had the location been closer to town. While not too far out it still was an 18 Euro round trip cab ride. I think the hotel offers excellent relative value and would highly recommend staying there. If we were to return to San Sebastián I know I will stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very romantic. It is way more charming than most places. It is slightly off the beaten path, but still close enough to all the attractions and the beaches. They also will give you a bicycle to explore easily. The staff was extremely courteous. I highly recommend

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,701 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,506 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,612 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Property: Hotel Villa Soro
Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing