We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel.”
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top hotel.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in both this hotel and Maria Cristina. We preferred this hotel but it is a bit of a yomp into town (20+mins). Lovely rooms, beautifully fitted and clean with Penhaligon bathroom goodies. No restaurant, but they do serve an excellent breakfast. Bar a bit stuffy, but very attentive and charming staff. Lots of parking, tiny gym. Top hotel, but be prepared to spend the odd few euros on taxi rides, or walk off your lunch !

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markfiftyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    151
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
87
522
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had 1 night stopover on touring holiday and found it extremely comfortable and the room was stylish, very quiet and gave a great nights rest. Walking into old town is a fair way but worth it for excellent bars and takes 30 minutes at an easy amble.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Sadly I really think Villa Soro is a case of having an extremely flattering website!

The receptionist and staff were all friendly and we were given a great map with a guide for the fiesta that was one whilst we were there.

The first room we were allocated was in the new block and was so bland and corporate - not at all 300 euros per night. They were keen to impress on us the "terrace" we had which was just a table and chairs with some boxed plants around it so no sunlit could get in and right next to the breakfast area. Instead we moved to a room in the main hotel which had no terrace but at least more interesting decor and not right by breakfast!

Bikes that were provided were great but could do with a quick maintenance check - we both had very flat tyres! We quite liked the location - close to a few good bars if you don't want to go all the way to the Old Town but a lovely walk to the old town (about 20mins) along the beach - good for burning off too many pinxtos before bed!

I know accommodation in San Sebastián is expensive but I felt this was way over priced for very boring rooms, tired common areas and the only outside space to read being at a breakfast table. In future I would stay somewhere significantly cheaper and save my money

Room Tip: If you like any character then make sure you stay in the Villa -otherwise you may as well just stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgardiner2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eeklo, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

quiet and luxuriuos villa close from downtown;comfortable and clean rooms.good parking facilities and perfect (but expensive) breakfast.Effective and helpful service.
Good place to stay and to enjoy the toprestaurants of St. Sebastien!

Room Tip: for topquietness take the rooms in the house in the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricklaberche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for three nights following a visit last year.
The return visit was as good as before - if not better with a room with much more natural light in the main building.
Staff very helpful - room extremely comfortable - breakfast of high standard and enjoyable sitting out on a terraced area enjoying some sunshine.
Took advantage of the bicycles again to further explore Donistia -San Sebastian. Proximity is under 30 mins steady walk to the old town passing along the water front for some of the walk, about 10 mins on a bicycle or catch the no13 bus for a shorter journey. Taxi costs approx 8/9 Euros.

Location is good to San sebastian and of course by car to France (30mins) - St Jean-De-Luz.
Yes, it is not a cheap hotel but I'm sure visitors will fell that they are certainly getting more than value for money. You will not be disappointed.
See you there next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here and it was every bit as good as the first time. Yes it's expensive, but San Sebastian is not cheap, but the quality was very good. We stayed in the annex and while not as traditional as the main building the rooms are very good. We enjoyed the walk into.back from town as it gave an opportunity to walk off the food and wine. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were very pleasant. They also do a wicked gin and tonic

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to San Sebastian on a food trip like most everyone else but needed to lodge comfortably too. Villa Soro is really ideal if you do not like the crowds and want an oasis of calm in the food mecca of the world. It's a splendid mansion on atree-lined residential area. We liked that hte beaches weren't at all far and nice walk everywhere.

The hotel was modern and classical all at the same time. Breakfasts were very good and our room was comfortable and clean. We also appreciated the fact that this was a small and intimate hotel... just the kind where you feel quite privileged tojust be there!

The staff were both gracious and courteous at all times and we got some great recommendations for food naturally. The location is really ideal. Downside was our air conditioning was a tad weak, otherwise it was a really delightful stay. One thing's for sure, we'll be coming back for the pinchos and tapas some time soon...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougieOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,701 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,612 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Property: Hotel Villa Soro
Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing