We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to San Sebastian on a food trip like most everyone else but needed to lodge comfortably too. Villa Soro is really ideal if you do not like the crowds and want an oasis of calm in the food mecca of the world. It's a splendid mansion on atree-lined residential area. We liked that hte beaches weren't at all far and nice walk everywhere.

The hotel was modern and classical all at the same time. Breakfasts were very good and our room was comfortable and clean. We also appreciated the fact that this was a small and intimate hotel... just the kind where you feel quite privileged tojust be there!

The staff were both gracious and courteous at all times and we got some great recommendations for food naturally. The location is really ideal. Downside was our air conditioning was a tad weak, otherwise it was a really delightful stay. One thing's for sure, we'll be coming back for the pinchos and tapas some time soon...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougieOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 858 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently stayed one week at Villa Soro and enjoyed the hotel and Donostia San Sebastián so much we changed our holiday itinerary so we could return for a few more days at the end of our trip to Spain and South of France. What more can I say?
San Sebastián is amazing - so much to see and do and food to die for. You must try Pintxos in the old town and all the restaurants we tried served excellent food, especially the fish.
Villa Soro is delightful. It's not really a hotel as there is no restaurant, probably more of a high class B&B. There are rooms in the villa itself and then some more in the new annexe behind the villa. We stayed in the annexe on both occasions but we were not disappointed - the rooms were spotless, very smartly appointed and had air con. The double bed was huge and very comfortable. You still have access to the public rooms in the villa which are beautiful and very quiet if you want to chill out and read, etc.
Staff were very friendly and courteous and nothing was too much trouble for them. All spoke good English. Free wifi was available and we had no problems. There's also a pc connected to the Internet for guests to use.
It is a good distance from the centre of San Sebastián but there is a local bus service which goes past the hotel every 7 minutes during the day (the D 13). It costs €1.60 to get into town or you can get a bus pass from the Tourist Office in town which also gets a discount on certain attractions eg the Aquarium ( which is very good). If you are staying for more than a few days and using the bus frequently this is a good investment.

Room Tip: If you do have rooms in the annexe try to get ground floor rooms eg 104/105 as they have a small pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at Villa Soro and what a delight! Friendly and helpfull staff, beautiful decor and so cool with free bike service!!! We basically spent two days biking around San Sebastian - when not enjoying probably the best food in the world, the beach and our room. Highly highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_sindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Villa Soro is situated a little away from the main town area, quiet and beautiful. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The room is big, clean and tidy. The bathroom is very spacious. The breakfast is good, hot dishes cooked to your order. A very nice place to stay after a long day out. It takes about 20 minutes to beach and 30 minutes to town, slow walking. Taxi is not easy to catch. We did not find any taxi even at taxi stands. If one does not like to walk, it may not be your choice. For us, we enjoy the stroll.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our 2nd visit. I could sum this visit as generic and defiantly not worth the 300 Euro. Last time we’ve stayed at the main building which is a charming villa. This time we were in the building next door which is nothing to write home about. I have high status at SLH and expected some sort of recognition/upgrade. Instead we got a basic room. The AC didn't work properly and there was no pressure in the shower. The service was also not what you would expect from a small hotel. It was indifferent. Next time in Bilbao we will try a different place

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ander E, Director General at Hotel Villa Soro, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review here in Trip Advisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences and rest assured I have addressed your feedback to relevant departments.

I must admit I am very surprised with your remarks about the room upgrade, as we do our best to offer upgrades when available, although this many not be always possible due to occupancy.
Forgive us for any inconvenience caused, I am genuinely sorry that we did not offer an upgrade this time around.

We are proud of the usual high level of services we provide as evidenced by the majority of comments on this website and sincerely regret any guest experience that does not meet expectations.

Kind regards,

Ander Elortegi
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Villa Soro for our honeymoon for a few days in July. The villa itself is delightful, set in nice grounds and has a sense of opulence when you walk in. We booked a delux room and were lucky enough to have the room with a balcony. The room was super clean and had a lovely, classic finish. The breakfast is great, a choice of continental and cooked..... so we had a mix of the two, having it on the balcony for a couple of mornings.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, very polite, friendly and welcoming. They pointed us in the right direction a couple of times with maps, hints and tips.

As others have said the Villa is set off a main road, we had a room at the front and with the windows shut it you couldn't hear the road. It is also a 20 or so minute walk from the main town, but the walk back does give you the opportunity to see a bit more of San Sebastian and walk off all that Pinxos and Red Wine. The Villa also does have a couple of great reds in their bar worth checking out.

I found the Villa excelled in the detail, the small things that help set the overall tone. We hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veritynomiddlename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel has a charming feel and has an excellent breakfast. The service was excellent except for one front desk lady who had a very blasé attitude. We requested 2 adjoining rooms with a connecting door when booking but upon check in was told by her that they were not available and that there was nothing she could do. The rooms in the newer section behind the original building are not as nice as well. Obviously the pictures on the website feature the rooms in the renovated building. The location is also quite far from the town centre (about 15 to 20 minute walk). Otherwise the hotel is very good.

Room Tip: Request a room in the original building that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray9_945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,806 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,955 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,614 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,874 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#19 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $151 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing