We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Goshen, CT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Villa Soro was a great place to stay in San Sebastian. Our room was nice and large and very cozy. While we were there, it was raining....that made squeezing into those little pintxo bars that much more fun and filling!. The old town was just enough of a walk to make you feel like you worked for your meal. The best was returning to our room after having spent a cold rainy day parading the streets and being able to soak in a hot tub while reading a book with a nice glass of wine. Before you know it, a knock at the door and two sweet little cakes were happily paraded in by my husband, courtesy of the hotel. The staff was super helpful and patient was well informed. There was a nice continental offering for breakfast with a hot meal of eggs and bacon for those interested-and super coffee! We would go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goshenmicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    153
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
90
536
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Soro for 3 days and had a perfect stay. The staff was extremely helpful in planning a few outings. They packed us a beach bag with cold water and towels, recommended some great restaurants and when it was raining buckets made some really nice suggestions for nearby towns to visit in France.

The room was bright and lovely, the bed comfortable, the bathroom very big and well appointed. We also enjoyed the breakfast a great deal.

To those that complain about the location, it is off the beaten path but taxis are easy and plentiful so that was no problem in our minds. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would happily stay there again and recommend it to friends as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lckychrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at Villa Soro for two nights and found it to be an extremely comfortable hotel. The facilities were excellent, particularly the hotel umbrellas as the weather was very wet. The hotel staff are very good and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. San Sebastián is a lovely place even when the weather is not so good!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Como S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Villa Soro for three nights. A small hotel with lovely grounds. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very spacious and well appointed with access to the terrace. Parking is available on site. Excellent breakfast. Not too far to walk into town. Not a cheap place to stay, but if you after after a bit of luxury on your holiday, can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Private terrace available on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrariedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Villa Soro is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World so expect all the trappings that come with that association. Service was friendly and efficient. It is a good 20 minute walk to the old town but it's pleasant along the beach. Rooms in the main building are spacious, modern and clean. Very well appointed. Breakfast was a scrumptious affair. It was indeed an enjoyable stay. There was ample free carpark within the grounds.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootlooseSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Jean Cap Ferrat, France
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As we turned south on the A63 heading from Biarritz to San Sebastian my 7 year old Citroen Pluriel lost power. I decided to try to make it another 30 miles to our hotel in San Sebastien. The alternatives were somewhat unappealing. We made it to the Villa Soro after putting around on three cylinders looking for signs of the Hotel in San Sebastien. I stopped and asked a guy on the street for directions to the hotel. He spoke Basque and Spanish. I speak bad French and West Coast English. He gave me bad directions, but fortunately I looked around while we were trying to communicate and noticed a street sign "Ategorrieta". We were only one block away from the hotel. I tell this story because many can relate to the problem of being an alien with a problem in an alien land. And, this is where the Villa Soro saved my bacon. The reception called Citroen, and made arrangements to have my problem evaluated. They provided me with directions (complicated), and the next morning I dropped the car off at Citroen where I should add it remains today one week later. No one spoke anything other than Spanish or Basque at Citroen, so I was very dependent on the reception desk in my further dealings with Citroen. I couldn't have asked for better or more attentive service.
The hotel itself was as the other reviewers have noted perfect in so many ways. We had a room on the bottom floor of the new addition. Large bedroom with a large bathroom, with both a bathtub, and a separate shower. A young women delivered a cookie every night. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a charming and elegant Small luxury hotel of the world. It is about a 20 minute walk from the old town.

The room is well appointed and the bed very comfortable. We stayed in one of the front rooms of the main building and it was quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

If you like a small and luxurious boutique hotel with more privacy, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.7 mi away
Arrizul Congress Hotel
Arrizul Congress Hotel
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
67 reviews
2.5 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#11 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,673 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,741 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Property: Hotel Villa Soro
Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing