We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old villa turned into a great hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here for three nights . I enjoyed the beautiful sitting room . The staff were friendly and helpful always wanting to please you
The breakfast was delicious and they cook you anything you may want and the price was not excesive for the quality of the hotel
The downside was the location in relation to the main area of town (about 15-20 minutes, but a lovely walk along the beach)
In spite of this I thought it was one of the nicest hotels in San Sebastian and would be pleased to return.This was winter so in Summer when days are longers it must be a great walk back to the hotel after dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOSEANTONIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Soro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 827 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our second stay at the Villa Soro. The second time we were celebrating my girlfriends fathers birthday. We knew he would love the city of San Sebastian as well as the hotel.
We were greatly surprised to see that staff remembered us from our visit two years ago and they were as friendly and helpful as the last time. At the reception you will get great tips fro restaurants, pintxo bars, sightseeing and anything that is happening in the area. The girls at the breakfast, which I recommend as it is a breakfast for everyone to enjoy, will spoil you and produce anything you want (within reason!!!). The cleaning of the room is the best I have experienced, and there are just so many little details that make your stay so much better. The almond cakes at night, for example. Wifi is all over the hotel, the access is free and there is no need for passwords, it simply works!
The Villa Soro is also only a 15 minute walk to the old part of San Sebastian, you are 10 minutes away from Pasajes de San Pedro and San Juan which are two beautiful villages to visit and eat at.

I can only recommend Villa Soro and we are really looking forward to our visit next year! Agur!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llucxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A wonderful hotel with beautiful rooms, all are very large with big windows that open, lots of sunshine and well appointed bathrooms. I loved the big bath!
Staff were wonderful very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay special. There is a lift even though it is only a single storied building. I would like to in particular mention the groundsman who explained our room to us and made no mention of the weight we were carrying after eight weeks on the road and the señora who ran the breakfast room. She was wonderful with her smiles food and caring attitude. We felt at home and looked after.

Room Tip: Any but if you like dead quiet rear building and the end rooms have all the sunshine.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed four nights at Villa Soro in October 2012 with a group of friends. Our room at the annex villa was quiet comfortable and good size. The main building was elegantly decorated with antique pieces and comfortable couches.The breakfast room was at the main building, the buffet breakfast had a good selection, the service was very attentive. All the bottled water and non alcoholic beverages were complimentary in the minibar. We were very happy with our choice of
hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mina976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our two nights at Villa Soro. The 15 minute walk to town is easy and we especially liked being able to walk to and from our fantastic dinner at Arzak. The front desk staff was extremely helpful. The day we arrived they informed us that there was a general strike in San Sebastian and that we shouldn't walk around town. They promptly made reservations for us to visit the Guggenheim Museum, which worked out beautifully. They made a lot of suggestions of special things to see in San Sebastian. We couldn't have been happier with the quality of the room and the breakfast. A very comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Located a 15min walk to the City centre, with complimentary cycles available, meant that this boutique hotel was a super place to explore San Sebastian.
The main house is very elegant with a large, comfortable well furnished drawing room, a bar area and a relaxing lounge.
Our room was in the main house and a good size, very comfortable with modern facilities and a very spacious bathroom - no room for complaint whatsoever.
Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, cold cuts, fresh fruit and a small selection of hot food choices - a great way to start the day - with lovely serving ladies.
My wife and I used the cycles throughout our four days stay (even at age 60) and found it a fantastic way to enjoy the city.
Delightful staff, very helpful and courteous.
Definitely not disappointed and certain of a future visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original house of higher quality.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyageur5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with my husband. The villa is superb both from outside and inside. From the street it looks like a beautiful mansion which you dream you could live in. The insides are as amazing. It sure doesn't look like a hotel- you hardly ever see any other visitors. The staff is warm, the rooms are immaculately clean, spacy, modern. Free minibar and a DVD with a movie selection from reception. The breakfast was very nice with some cold cuts, jams and fruit as well as eggs, toasts and cereals on request. All served in a warm and very personal atmoshere.

I was totally satisfied with our stay and fully recommend it to anyone. But I always like to leave areas for improvement in my reviews: caring for the others and giving recommendation to the management who seems to care. 2 things: first-need wifi in the rooms, second-the mattrasses are too soft, you get drowned in them and they are incluning towards the ends of bed. We are in our early thirties and normally don't pay attention to these things, but both of us had a poor sleep for two nights and some back pain in the morning.

Overall- big thank to the hotel, we were very happy to stay there and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgurnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.7 mi away
Arrizul Congress Hotel
Arrizul Congress Hotel
#19 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
81 reviews
2.4 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#9 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
511 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Leku Eder
Hotel Leku Eder
#3 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#15 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,734 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $179 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing