We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old Property with a delight taste.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Quito
Level Contributor
284 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“An old Property with a delight taste.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Yes the Villa soro at san Sebastian is a very good Hotel, peaceful, quite, with an atmosphere of and old Castle, the people who atend you are so cordial as all the people in san Sebastian and
as a c ouple we could enjoy the Hotel.
since is rather small you feel like you own the place. I will recommend to anyone going to San Sebastian , the Hotel is in the oukskirts of the city , but if you like to walk around town within 20 minutes you are in downtowm i n the old city ,and you can see all of the architeture of the city, don't miss it, .
and for the price is a gift to your senses.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    147
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
77
490
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

San Sebastian is our favorite city in Spain and after staying at Villa Soro, we'll need not stay anywhere else when we return! Its luxury is matched by its charm and it feels like having a room in an elegant mansion rather than staying in a hotel. We were impressed with the turn down service, cleanliness, and attention to detail from the staff. There was plenty of parking and it's located within walking distance to all of the hot-spots. The cookies awaiting us on our bed every night were as delicious as all the other food in the area and they provided bottled water (sparkling & regular) each morning and evening. We didn't want to leave !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Great place to stay and feel at home. Big and clean rooms with very nice bathrooms. Personnel very kind and professional. Nice breakfast.
Walking distance to old part of San Sebastian were you can have the famous pintxos and see the beautiful Playa de la concha. You can also borrow a bicycle for a ride into town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccrmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's a very beautiful, cozy, looking like a private residence hotel with home-style welcome. You will not feel like you are part of a big ant house check-in/check-out machine. At Villa Soro you'll feel like a private most-welcomed guest. It is quiet, with only a handful but big rooms, very convenient parking, warm service and delicious breakfast. I enjoyed two nights at the hotel, and it's funny, but what I miss the most now is the smell of the burning fireplace which is set up every day in the grand room. The WiFi is free inside both common areas and rooms. I celebrated my birthday in San Sebastian, and it was very nice and unexpected to find a little birthday cake waiting for me in our room that afternoon. And what a treat that was! I still remember it being the best desert I had that week. The hotel gets booked very fast, but if you get your chance - do not hesitate, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLumiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Beautiful small luxury hotel, almost like a private residence. Some way to walk to the old town, Kursaal closer. Very good breakfast and service. Recommended if you don't mind the price. Easy drive and parking.

Room Tip: Traffic noise if you open the windows, otherwise quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aila189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at a highly discounted price through my wife's company so we can't really talk about real value for money, but we can say that it is about 3 mins from the nearest Pintxos in Gros and about 20 mins walk via the beach to the old town and a fantastic range of great Pintxos bars.

The hotel itself has 2 very specific parts - the original house facing the road and the annexe behind.

We stayed in the annexe and it was very quiet and we had our own terrcace where on the second night, due to the general strike in Spain we couldn't find any open bars or restaurants, we had room service dinner which was THE best room service I have ever had.

Overall, a great hotel with free parking and great, if limited room service, which is very close to lots of gret bars

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for the annexe, away fro the road. If you askk for a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glossopshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, it's not cheap and the facilities are quite basic, but it is a lovely villa. It's not far from Arzak's so it's great. If you stay here it's a 10 - 15 minute walk to the center so long as you don't stop at all the tapas bars. They are amazing. One major draw back about this hotel/ B& B is no food served in the evening apart from a basic room service. With all the tapas bars around you won't go hungry though!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valhalla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Leku Eder
Hotel Leku Eder
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Property: Hotel Villa Soro
Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing