We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Antonio

Bar Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar, Mediterranean, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Hope Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent 5 days in San Sebastian and found this tapas bar to be absolutely excellent. The staff were very helpful and had a good sense of humour. We thought the tapas selection was the best in San Sebastian albeit there were lots of good ones but this was the best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    72
    14
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We decided to come here on our first night in San Sebastián as the bar was so close to our apartment. It was a Tuesday so not very busy, one of us got a seat at the bar while the other stood. We had intended just to have just one glass of wine and a pintxo each but stayed for a couple. It's a very traditional Spanish bar with football on the TV and people stopping on the street to have a small beer through the hatch. More people watching opportunities!
I can't remember everything we had but it was all delightful. We returned on the Friday night when it was much busier but there were more staff behind the counter, again the food was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siobhan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is great and the experience even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thanks to TA we found this wonderful friendly little place. When we enquired about the very large mushrooms on the counter, our waiter explained they were served cooked. We should have order the full plate because they were among the best dishes we have eaten. This is a real local treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We had the place to ourselves with great tasting dishes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited on a Monday night, after enjoying pintxos in the old town. I'd read the reviews, so wanted to experience Bar Antonio for myself. We drank Gin and tonics and ordered from the menu as there wasn't much pintxos on the bar itself. The food came quickly and was delicious, stand outs were the squid and the mushrooms. The squid for it's flavour and the mushrooms for their price (20 euros alone, which was more than expected!) the menu doesn't have the prices listed! We weren't disappointed with the quality at all. It was also unexpected when the shutters were pulled down mid-way through us still eating. We were sat at the bar, it was raining outside and we were their only customers, but we had expected that as a bar it would be open past midnight, which it wasn't. I'd recommend this place, but make sure you take your credit card.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BelJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in San Seb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

AMAZING! We were a little lost when we first arrived. When the waiter took pity on us and come over asking if we needed help and an English menu we were very grateful. Asking if he had any recommendations he started bringing us food and a glass of wine each. Eating and drinking our full we were expecting a henfty bill and were amazed at how low the total cost was. We spend less then 30EUR for two people which included 6 glasses of wine. Food was delicious. Must must visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kels_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Antonio also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Bar Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing