We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, great location, great room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pension Basic Confort 2
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The last eleven days of June my boyfriend and I visited the northern region of Spain. We stayed in Bilbao for four nights and in San Sebastián for six.
For both cities, we were looking for a nice room close to all the things we wanted to see, for less than €100 a night. Since my boyfriend isn’t a breakfast fan and we didn’t feel like paying €5 or more per person for some toasts and a croissant, we were fine with just a room without breakfast included.

So, we looked on Hostelworld and Booking.com and decided to go with the Ibis in Bilbao and Pension Basic Confort 2 in San Sebastián.
This pension is located in the old part of Bilbao, a pedestrian area, on the second floor of a four-story apartment building. There are only four or five rooms and the reception is in what I think would be the hallway if it would’ve been a normal apartment.

It’s great.

The lady (and I think owner) who welcomed us was really friendly. She immediately gave us a map and pointed to all the places that were nice to visit. Our room was clean, really big, with two single beds put together, a little balcony, a desk, big closet, television, toilet and shower (two separate little rooms). You could see the place was recently renovated. There was someone at the reception from 9 in the morning until 9 PM, but if you needed anything after that time, you could go to or call another pension nearby.

A minor downside to this great pension might be that it can be a bit noisy. We were lucky to have a room at the back of the building, but I can imagine that you might suffer from some street noise if you sleep on the street side. Also, the walls are rather thin, so if someone in the room next to you is loud, you’ll here it. I tell these things because my boyfriend, who refuses to use earplugs, noticed them. I, who uses them, slept like a baby every night.

Oh, did I mention the lady gave us cookies before we left? And she let us use her computer and printer so we could do an online check in and print our boarding passes for our flight back home.

If you would like to know more about our trip to the Basque Country and our stay at the Ibis Bilbao Centro, be sure to check my blog www.wonderfulwanderings.com

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's located in the back of the building, not on the side of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank smillans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Iowa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank IsaLivLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetteT264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jcalcazarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,804 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pension San Juan
Pension San Juan
#66 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
350 reviews
1 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Basic Confort 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Basic Confort 2

Address: Calle de San Lorenzo, 12, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $64 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Basic Confort 2 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Pension Basic Confort 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing