We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet location.Good onsite free parking.”
Review of Hotel Monte Ulia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Ulia
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at 6.30pm in San Sebastian without having booked anything. Big mistake. Found the Hotel Monte Ulia at the edge of town, about 30 minutes walk or 7 minutes in bus.
The rooms were spacious updated and good balcony.
The only downside was no fridge or English speaking channel on TV.
The WI FI reception was average.
Staff were very fiendly and we parked our car out the back in the huge car park and caught bus into town for 1.6 Euros. Limited parking in town.
Good location for those with a car.
Breakfast was supplied downstairs by private caterers for 5 euros. Consisted of cereal, fresh orange juice, toast and coffee. Great value.
As long as you can go without a bar fridge and English speaking channel then this is a nice place to stay. We paid 85 euros per night.

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cageykezzastrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 175 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Quit far from the city centre. Has a private parking. Small, very basic rooms for a relatively high rate. Only recommended if you are late and everything else is full. Breakfast (not included) chaotic and not tasty at all; the fresh orange juice however was a bonus. Free wifi. The nearby restaurant is very basic too, but it's dead cheap and has a nice little garden. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The rooms were ok although the shower wasn't great. Excellent location. The reception staff were particularly helpful though. The main negative issue was regarding the breakfast.

The welcoming member of staff at reception advised that our rate included breakfast at 5 euros pp per night. The 1st day, it was noted that there were a small number of items for breakfast. They were laid out in buffet style but the helpful lady said she would dish it out. Nothing was mentioned when she was asked for extra items but we noticed that she was taking note of all items. We stupidly presumed this was for internal stock taking reasons. Later, when one of our party decided to cancel their breakfasts for the rest of the stay, the new receptionist stated that the rate did not include breakfast and if it was not taken on the day, we wouldn't be charged. Annoyed by the conflicting info, this was accepted.

However, upon checkout, we found that the breakfast bill was much more than just 5 euros pp per night. The explanation was that the breakfast only included a set amount of food. Anything extra was charged separately. Whilst I accept we did not ask the details and presumed it was a set fee for a buffet style meal as in other hotels, I feel it is unacceptable that this is not explained at any point either verbally or in writing.

Just thought I would warn others. Apologies if this is reiterated in a previous report in Spanish. The other points of note are a horrible smell that engulfed the entire hotel on the first morning. Luckily this was no longer smelt again. Also, there is no specific arrangement for disabled car parking in the car park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The rooms are clean and nicely furnished, the price is very fair for the service provided. The parking is def. a plus since the hotel is not on center, so you will need a car to get around or lots of time to move around by bus

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FM221081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The room is very basic. Our shower head fitment was broken so had to hand hold it. Cord on the aircon fan also broken off so no control of its speed. Felt the whole thing pared down to save money. Initial welcome very offhand, although the recreptionist as we left was very friendly and asked if everything had been OK. Reported what was wrong with the room which she thanked us for. Breakfast served in downstairs room. Person serving did not seem to know what she was doing. Very meagre choice from on top of the bar - croissant or Danish, orange juice, coffee and tea, basic small yoghurt pot. Each item charged separately, thank good ness so did not have to set charge for so little. Good parking at back and can walk into town easily.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan580430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

A basic and quiet place to stay. Rooms were quite small, but sufficient. Showers were clean and water was hot. Beds were firm but comfortable. Little balcony in room was cute. Staff at reception were very helpful and friendly. It is not in the middle of Old Town but it is still a nice place to stay - no more than 10-15min on the bus. The bottle of wine we got from the hotel was very good. The parking is a BIG plus. There is a bus stop 100m down the road which loops all through SS. It runs every few minutes. This is also very convenient. The first time I drove past, we missed it as the sign came up too suddenly. So if driving, watch out for it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hksince2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I chose this place because I was touring by car and is one of the few with free and easy parking that's within walking distance of the town centre (some others had awkward and expensive underground parking). It's a fairly featureless place and needs better signposting off the main road, but was quiet and comfortable enough. The old town is about 25 minutes' walk. Reasonably priced for San Seb.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyinhiscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#21 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
330 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
#20 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
597 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Nicol's
Hotel Nicol's
#29 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
350 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gudamendi Hotel
Gudamendi Hotel
#32 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Ulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Ulia

Address: Avda. Alcalde Jose Elosegui 21, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $55 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Monte Ulia 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monte Ulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing