We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise on outskirts of city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio de Aiete

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise on outskirts of city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile


Actually a great hotel and its facilities. Tip would be to follow hotel road sign for Aieti once you get to city as this worked best rather than GPS instructions. Front desk staff very helpful with local info and how to get around San Seb. We walked to old town and back once but taxied back another night. Cafe in foyer is also very good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueO_RonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    242
    143
    37
    15
See reviews for
60
291
14
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here or any hotel that tells you the air conditioning is turned off for the entire building. While the lobby is nice and cool you arrive in your room which is a sauna. They refuse to turn on the air conditioning because they said it was cooler outside a few days ago. So they tell you to open the windows. We of course checked out the next day and we will issue a chargeback on our credit are. The room description says air conditioning we should decide when we want it on or off not them.
Also, you are far from the town center. And last but not least they only provide you with one towel per room. If you want a second towel you have to ask for one. No secure parking either.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is quite simply, functional. Service was ok, but not special, front desk staff were mostly helpful and spoke English. Upon first inspection the room was spacious and clean, however as you begin to get comfortable the cracks start to show.... smell of stale cigarettes, mould in the bathroom, thin towels. Location not amazing but we knew that when we booked and the free car parking made it worthwhile for us. The walk to the old town and back was do-able if you're fit and healthy but it does involve a reasonably arduous hill, it was raining when we were there and so we opted for taxis and buses and these were inexpensive and easy. And just a word of warning, flag the hotel restaurant, including for breakfast. Service is average and so is the food. All of this added up to a just so-so stay, however it's not horrific and if you're price conscious it is a good option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itinerant
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I really liked this hotel. I chose it because it had free parking.
The location is a wee bit out of the town centre - 25 minutes walk down hill to centre. Alternatively the bus stop is nearby the service is cheap and frequent.
Staff are very helpful and speak perfect English
Wi-Fi is free and has a strong signal
Hotel is spotlessly clean

Breakfast looked poor but it was ten minutes before closing that I went in there then chose not to have breakfast.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spanishlearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I loved the fact that most of the staff here spoke English, which limited the amount of Spanish I had to try to use. The food in the restaurant was also tasty. Unfortunately, the walls were thin, so I did not get much sleep either night due to my neighbors having loud conversations at 2am or calling their relatives in other time zones at 3am. Also, the people above me kept dropping thing on the hardwood floors. They also woke me up with their sexcapades multiple times. If I ever do come back to this city, I will NOT be staying here, especially if I have early morning appointments. There was also a hole in my top sheet and the pedal on the covered trash can in my restroom did not work.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 1st floor. You'll hear the cars on the street, the people walking around a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkness3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
603 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there one night. It was easy to find as it is well indicated and the car park is free which is great! We arrived 2 hours before checkin time but had our room ready in 20min. The staff at reception was very friendly. The room was clean and spacious. Its nothing fancy but it has everything you need: desk, tv, air cond, balcony... I especially loved the shower which was very powerful. We didn't take the breakfast but did have some snacks at the bar downstairs which were fine.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chrysteria64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

4 stars hotel, spotless with gym, restaurant, cafeteria, goodies in the bathroom, big bedroom-nothing to complain about
The staff was brilliant, very helpful, very pleasant and efficient
the hotel is not central-25min walk from the concha but we knew it-we had seen on tripadvisor comments confirming it-there was no surprise

Room Tip: we were bedroom 217, was good but I guess thay are all the same ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Aiete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Aiete

Property: Hotel Palacio de Aiete
Address: Goiko Galtzara Berri 27, 20009 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio de Aiete 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Aiete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Aiete Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing