We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable rooms”
Review of Pension Amaiur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Amaiur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you're after a central location in San Sebastian that is close to the old town (restaurants, tapas at your doorstep) stay here! The rooms are simple but that's all you need when you're at the beach all day. Try to get a room with an ensuite as some don't have a bathroom within the room and you have to walk down the hallway - interesting in the middle of the night. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we had swift confirmation of our booking. Great value for money too! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katee321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    55
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
139
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I loved the web side from the hotel and the reviews were splendid. But the reality was a bit different. The room we got was very simple and without even a chair, maybe because there was no space for it. Everything was quite clean but the floor smells a bit like old hotels do. At the arrival we got a small worn towel which were not changed in the next 3 days!! Anyway, for San Sebastian it still might be a choice, but do not expect too much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bochum1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

our experience with this pension was a terrible one. we had to find different hotel when we arrived, cos of number of reasons. First and biggest problem - they don't have Internet. they claim they do, but the signal is strong enough ONLY in the reception room. not even in the corridor! it's very important for my husband to work every day and early in the mornings, this is a huge inconvenience and very poor decision by the pension not to have good WIFI, especially after the edvertise it!!!
also, we booked 2 rooms there: one with view and balcony and another one without. the one that was supposed to have views and balcony didn't have any of it. we had a window that was facing BASKETBALL PLAYGROUND! You can't even have 30 mins rest cos of constant screaming and hearing the ball bang on your walls! and we paid extra for that room! the cheaper room wasn't any better - it was almost literally the size of the shoebox! plus the window was facing another window and anyone could easily get inside that room and take the valuables... apart form all this all pension was stiky, smelly... smelled like old, dirty place, like a very old and forgotten storage place at my granny's... so overall it was terrible for us in many ways: no Internet, small room (1 of them), smelly, crazy noisy... shortly - false advertising! when we arrived by the way there was no reception even! so we had to wait till 3 to try to solve our problem... but even after we spoke about all of the above they refused to give us better rooms or at least any discount. the result was that we had to find another hotel last minute.. terrible experience and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.. :( very sad, cos the location is supreme....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovekoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia I, Gerente at Pension Amaiur, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are very upset reading your opinion, when we put all our effort making a invitation letter for you in order to get your vacation visa for Spain.

It's a pity to read those lines, but many of them are not truth.

First of all, the pension has no 4 floors. Maybe you were talking about the building.

In one of your emails you asked for free wifi and certainly we have free wifi for our guests in common areas. You can take some coffee or tea (complimentary from the house) and surf the net, as many of our guest do. If you would have requested for free wifi in room because of work in one of your emails, we would have taken it in consideration, no doubt of it.

You don't specifically asked about the signal of wifi in any email, and consequently, no Eric response was possible.

One of the rooms we offered you was facing the square, not the main street and you were agree with the offer (we only have 2 rooms with no views, the rest of rooms are with views, no back rooms). Besides, that square is one of the historical places in San Sebastian, Plaza de la Trinidad (Trinity Square), where International Jazz Festival happens, for example. Obviously, during the day there are people playing and visiting the square, but not at night. Actually, if the situation of people talking in the square happens after 23:00 at night, we instantly call the police to take them out of the square, because the square is closed at night. No possibility of people playing at 1am.

We made a mistake telling you that the room has balcony and certainly it has no balcony, but a big window to the square. We tried to repair the mistake offering you a discount on the price of the room but you did not consider it enough.

You say that you saw 1 of the balcony rooms, but that's impossible because, as you say, we were fully booked and the guests were all in their rooms and consequently you couldn't see any of them. All our double rooms have the same square meters area.

You told us that you wanted to leave the pension at 5pm, and, as you sure know, every booking that is cancelled in the same day has to be payed at least for the first night. But it was clear that you were going to put all your efforts in cancelling the payment. In fact, you called your bank and cancelled your own credit card while Eric was talking to you to find a solution.

You say that our pension is ideal for young people that want hard party. You are absolutely wrong. Our pension is located in the most historical street of San Sebastian and the main street for pintxos and gastronomy. Our guests are mainly people over 30; families, couples...but not hard party young people. The rest of opinions confirm this point.

Obviously, we are located in the center of the old town of San Sebastian and there are people (families, couples, friends...) outside having pintxos and good food in bars and restaurants. But we don't make difference between them as you do when you talk about "spaniards party". We take care of all our guest the same way.

After all, we suspect that all your actions with us were part of an strategy to get your vacation visa, and that is really pity.

Anyway, have a good day.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 days and it was just wonderful. We arrived late and this was no problem, the staff were lots of fun and very helpful. There is no lift and they carried our very heavy suitcases all the way up and into our room. We were wanting to get to Biarritz, France for the day and he mapped it all out for us. The location of Pension Amauir is just awesome right in the heart of all the great tapas bars and close to the beach. Rooms were lovely and clean, although you need to share bathrooms with other guests there is lots of them so we never need to wait for it to be free. Plus there is a kitchen on each floor, you can make yourself a nice cup of tea and make use of the free wifi. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ola_lipinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I can not fault this B&B at all, 5 stars from me.
The staff are really friendly and knowledgable about the area and were really patient speaking English with us.
The location is in the heart of the old quarter, right where all the great Tapa bars are and a short stroll to the beach.

I wish I could of stayed here for twice as long.
My only small compliant was the bed was very short, it was fine for us but if you are taller than 5'10 your feet might be hanging off the end.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fionacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved it, so much so that we extended out stay by 2 doors.
We arrived late, and they were waiting with open arms.
The service was immaculate and very warm, and helped us plan out day.
The location was amazing and easy to find.
The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and beautifully decorated.
Overall a great stay. Will definately stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

For our first visit to San Sebastián, I don't think we could have chosen a better place to stay.

I didn't really know what to expect of San Sebastián, but we fell in love with the place straight away.

Instructions given to arrive at the Pensione were straightforward, and allowed us to arrive with no fuss. The pedestrian only area of Parte Vieja makes for relaxing strolling during the day, that gets busier as the night goes on. brilliant.

Anyway, we arrived a little earlier than expected, but our room was made up within ten minutes and what a beautiful surprise it turned out to be. We had an Ensuite room with small balcony overlooking the street below. The room was plenty big enough for two, and was spotlessly clean. The decor is beautiful. The bathroom perfect, and the walls lined with lovely ceramic tiles and a user friendly shower. Noise problems for us were non existent, which surprised me given our location right on the street.

Wi fi was outstanding. There is a communal kitchenette and shared refrigerator to use if required. But, with all of the food offerings in the streets below I can't imagine cooking for myself - it is a nice option though.

Staff were wonderful and would do anything for you. San Sebastián is a magnificent place - some of the best eating I have ever experienced. The pinxtos bar experience was new to us, but within a short time we got the idea of it and spent hours enjoying this very social way of eating.

When we come back to San Sebastián in future, we will definitely return to this little gem of a Pensione.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Edorta
Pension Edorta
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,634 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Amaiur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Amaiur

Property: Pension Amaiur
Address: 31 de Agosto, 44, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming guest house in the heart of San SebastianYour charming guest house in the heart of San SebastianAmaiur Pension is located in the oldest house in town. Works as pension since 1988 and has been renovated and redecorated in 2013 as if it were our own home, trying to make it as welcoming as possible for our guests.Our pension is unique with its own character, style and charisma. This will contribute to the pleasure of your travel experience. If all things were equal, there would be no magic in this world.We are happy to welcome you and make you feel like you’re at home, this is the Pension Amaiur, located in the heart of the old part of San Sebastian.Its privileged location allows us to reach the main attractions of San Sebastian, its port, beaches, walks, monuments and dining area. In faact, we are located in the most popular street of bars and restaurants of the city and just to 1 minute from the port and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Amaiur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Amaiur Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing