We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a bit noisy at night”
Review of Pension Kursaal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Kursaal
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
“Good location but a bit noisy at night”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Me and my boyfriend was happy with the location close to the Zurriola beach but the nights was a bit noisy because of the traffic and a nearby bar. Bathrooms clean and modern!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    176
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
46
237
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A good low cost, €89/night, 2 star in Donosita/San Sebastian. Clean, but small rooms, with free WiFi. Staff is excellent in offering help or ideas on things to do. Right off of the Zurriola beach in the Gros section. Lots of eating choices, but everyone is going for pinxtos in Parte Veija. Parte Vejia is less than a 5 minute walk from hotel. A little noisy at night, but close the doors and roll down the security shade and the noise goes away. No AC, but a fan is provided.

Tip the blind accordion player as you cross the Puente Zarriola bridge, he works hard and all day long.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this modern, clean and welcoming hotel. We had a great time, my only 2 issues were that there was no a-c and the breakfast could have been a little better. Otherwise I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting San Sebastian

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

54 euros per night, great location
Gros is the best barrio to stay in donostia
If you care , you could see the Kursaal form most of the rooms
2 min walk from Zurriola
great option, for something simple And easy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monquiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great location with an easy walk to old town and a beautiful less crowded beach right across the street. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coleylynn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holanda
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed for a night in this place. Room and bathroom were very neat. We had a room with a small balcony and a view to the Kursaal. Just some meters away from the hotel you have the beautiful Concha Beach. Unfortunately for us, we had stormy weather, it was quite cold and windy, but it didn't stopped us to enjoyed this wonderful city.
Pension provides free wi-fi but its signal is not too strong in the rooms. For optimal reception you should be at the reception (or close to your room's door ;-) )
Staff friendly and cheap parking place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaHolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Good location, cheap parking & very lean & modern Accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendanshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,632 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,503 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,610 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kursaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kursaal

Property: Pension Kursaal
Address: Pena y Goni, 2-1, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Kursaal 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Kursaal lies in front of Zurriola Beach, ideal for surfing, and Kursaal Convention Centre, home of the San Sebastian Film Festival and Jazz Festival. Next to the Old Town you will be delighted with all the pintxo bars and very close to the magnificent Concha Beach. Just in the heart of town at walking distance from Tabacalera Contemporary Center, theatres and train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pension Kursaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kursaal Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing