We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive for a glorified hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Aldamar

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pension Aldamar
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very expensive for a glorified hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Although the rooms are very comfortable the hotel itself is more like a hostel and at 99 Euro a night a pretty expensive one. When we checked in the guy on reception was very friendly and happy to give us advice on what to see and do in San Sebastian.

We stayed in room one which is right next to the reception area, unfortunately the lady working on reception in the morning had a really loud voice and that was all I could hear from 7am!

Overall a nice place to stay but overpriced.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the reception area as these are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l3nny600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pension A, Gerente at Pension Aldamar, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It has been a pleasure to host you. Since the managment group changed last year, we are trying to improve our service and renovating the Pensión. We made several changes last year, and we are working on isolating more our rooms . All this modifications takes us some time but I confirm you that we are working hard on it.

Thank you for your review and we hope you had an amazing time in San Sebastian! If you need any information or help next time we will be glad to host you again!

Best,

Josu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    46
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

An excellent pension in a perfect location to explore the delights of San Sebastián. Our room, 05, looks out over the theatre and was spotlessly clean and a great base. Good facilities in the room meant we could use the fridge for our own wine as well as moving through the many pintxos places a stones throw away! Only regret is we only spent 2 nights here!

Room Tip: Room 5 - the best in the pension!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinksbumf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pension A, Gerente at Pension Aldamar, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope you had a great time in San Sebastian and enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location.Rm five spacious Junior suite with corner window and great seating area.Staff-Josu wonderful very helpful.Close to water new and old city.Walk to top of Castillo de la Mota.Pity the weather was not good but pension provides umbrellas and good recommendations for eating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pension A, Gerente at Pension Aldamar, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! We are glad to see that you had a great time despite the bad weather. We apreciate it and we hope next time you come to San Sebastián will do better climate.

Best,

Josu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I travel a lot to San Sebastian and this is the best place I stayed in. It has been renovated and it has nice rooms. Staff is lovely and really helpfull, they give you good recomendations. Ask them for a Pincho places, there are amazing pincho bars in the city! I paid 71.50E and it deffinitly worth it. I will come back

Room Tip: Junior Suite is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chepibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Myself and my 7 year old son stayed in the junior suite for 4 nights in august during Semana Grande and we were delighted from the moment we arrived. Room 5 is a good size, it felt like a little studio apartment with a great bathroom and big, powerful shower. The room is on the corner of the street and has lots of windows with great views in different directions. We couldn't believe how well situated we were-between Zurriola Beach and La Concha, so very close to the old town and also really lovely food shops and Pintxo bars on the same street. Over the road there is a great indoor market with the most fantastic Pintxo Bar downstairs. Honestly i've never stayed anywhere that has so much diversity close by.

On the final night of Semana Grande, we saw crowds of gathering on the street directly below our window, hundreds and hundreds of people, behind barriers waiting for something. Then we realised that the final night of firework displays was going to be taking place over the road -from the banks of the river it looked like and we had the most fantastic front row views from our room.

San Sebastian is a fantastic, vibrant, town with amazing, interesting food, great bars, beaches, mountains, a port, rich culture and great fun for children too.

The staff at Pension Aldamar must be credited , they are all so warm and helpful and the only thing that i could fault was our broken fridge-which would have been nice for keeping water cold because it was so hot, hot, hot during our time there. We weren't bothered by the noise on the street, the shutters help to keep it low and i didn't notice any noise from other rooms.

I think this pension is a great find, well run with lots of nice, individual touches. When we return to San Sebastian which we will on our Spanish travels, we'll definitely stay here again-and it's rare that i feel like that.

Room Tip: i can only vouch for room 5-it's more expensive but really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley_jane65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 6 days. At first I was a little weirded out by the fact that it's a floor of a building - but I got over that really quick. The people that work there are lovely - it's ideally situated - the furnishings are lovely - the view is gorgeous - the bathroom is well kept (the products leave a bit to be desired but I bring my own). I read a lot of reviews stating that it was way too loud - we had a room facing the main street and I must say I did not find this to be a problem at all. Of course I live in Brooklyn so I consider San Sebastian to be quite a small town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hitchdovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have been staying here each year over the past 10 years for three or four days. Its very central, close to all the restaurants, old town, shopping and the beachs. Its true the walls are thin, there is some street noise, but its very reasonably priced, we paid 79E per night in June. They have over the past few years upgraded the rooms, bathroom refurbished, albiet small shower, freshly painted, and now free mini bar, water and soft drinks. Also free coffee and wifi. The staff are all lovely and make the stay very enjoyable. They are happy to book a restaurant in advance for you. San Sebastian is an expensive city to stay in and Aldamar suits our needs , we will stay again in 2013. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#17 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aldamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aldamar

Property: Pension Aldamar
Address: 2nd Aldamar Street | first floor, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Aldamar 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique guest house was completely renovated in February 2015, it has 10 fully equipped, top quality rooms to guarantee the very best rest. Its central location close to the city’s main sights places them all within easy walking distance. The historical pintxo bars, icons of exquisite local cuisine, are just a few metres from the guest house, as are the Zurriola and the Concha beaches, the Kursaal Convention Centre, the San Telmo Museum and the aquarium. A service based on continuous improvement and personal attention in backed by more than 15 years of experience along with our close, friendly treatment. Make yourself at home; let us help you to make your stay in Donosti unforgettable. Ongi etorri! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Aldamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aldamar Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing