We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Hostal Alemana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Alemana
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Really liked this hotel, which was excellently located for the beach, and was a short walk to the shops/old town.
The decor in the bedrooms is contemporary which I loved. We got a corner room which was very spacious (lovely high ceilings) but unfortunately the downside of it was the street-noise. Additionally there was a lot of overhead noise from what sounded like a family living upstairs.
We ate breakfast on one morning and it was very good.
There was always someone working on the front-desk and we found the staff here very helpful.
Added bonus - free wifi, definitely a requirement for researching how to pass rainy days in San Sebastian!!

Room Tip: Presumably the benefit of a corner room is the size but avoid if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Alemana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 191 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hostel is in an excellent location close to the beach. The main issue was the price - hotel prices for what is really just a hostel. The hotel was clean and felt safe. The beach is less than 2 mins away and the old town is a nice 10 min walk along the sea front. It can be noisy in the mornings, the windows didn't seem to close properly. If you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I agree with another comment that San Sebastian is expensive - yes for accommodation this seems to be the case. This place is called hostal because it does not offer all the things that hotels typically offer and yet of the 11 hotels we stayed in during our long-ish trip in Spain, it was by far the most expensive. Nevertheless, the location is top, even has a tiny bit of beach view, the rooms are large and the bed - was a dream. Best bed I ever slept in. Service was absolutely correct, if one remembers that it is a hostal. Try not to have a car because the parking will cost your more than copious amounts of pinxos. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CeeandEnn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very good rooms, at a good price, near to the town center and beach. Good Breakfast.
Very interesting buildings and historic area in the older part of town, lovely views everywhere and the very best tapas ever!

Room Tip: Some rooms open onto interior shaft so no outside view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Walking distance to everything, a minute from the beach, clean, comfortable and well-managed. What else to say? The only negative side it that it was a bit hot, and we had to open the windows. Unfortunately, there's an Irish pub next door and that got noisy when it closed. Someone else wrote that they should think about putting in fans. Maybe not a bad idea. I think there are rooms that don't give on to the pub, and maybe these are quieter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SwissMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 8 other family members for a week.
PROS:
- excellent location, beach literally 1minute walk away, shopping and food within 5 min walk.
- clean and spacious
- comfortable bed (even if it is at shin height)
CONS:
- HOT!!! No fans no central AC only small portable air conditioner. At nights it was sooo hot (I drowned the bed in sweat) we opened all windows and doors to let cool air in. This led to the next con.
- NOISY! Cars, drunks, bins being emptied... Ugggg it was pretty tough getting a good night sleep here. Best option is to get sauced and pass out.

All in all I had a good experience at this accommodation (location outweighed every con). If you can survive on 6-7 hours sleep or sleep like a log through loud noises or can sleep in heat then you won't be bothered. If you love sleep and need heaps of it, then maybe look somewhere else.

To the owner: maybe get a portable fan or air con for each room. Then the doors and windows can be closed which would solve the noise problem.. Thus rendering the hostel a GREAT place to stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

San Sebastian is a popular holiday place in summer, there are not many places to stay and property-owners know this, hence the prices. This doesn't mean I think the price-quality relation is good. I also confirm the sparce decortion, the thin walls that allow noise in the hall-way to be heard in the rooms and the complicated parking facilities. On the other hand I found the owners charming and friendly, and the breakast quite acceptable. Now the rooms: rooms 101-104 face an inner-courtyard. Choose these if you don't care for a view and want silence. 105-109 face the busy street mentioned by others. 105 seems larger than others. 110 to 113 face a quieter street. In any case I also confirm that stying close to the reception attracts unwanted noise (rooms 105-110). On the second floor on the other hand, there is no reception, so my choice would be one of that floor.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor away from the reception and facing the side Street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#23 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
809 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Niza
Hotel Niza
#10 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Husa Europa
Hotel Husa Europa
#29 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#14 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alemana

Address: San Martin, 53 - 10, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $82 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Alemana 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alemana Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Hostal Alemana San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing