We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pension”
Review of Hostal Alemana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Alemana
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pension”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here during the Drum Festival in January this year and we were happy with our choice. The hotel is located in a gorgeous old building near the beach, rooms are large but unfortunately don't match the exterior and aren't that modern. Nothing was wrong just no wow factor - and in other parts of Spain we had found that for a similar/lower price. I think San Sebastian is just slightly more expensive in general. There was a few issues with our toliet, but the staff were helpful. The room was well priced considering it is so close to the beach, and you can pay extra for parking (which is essential if you have a car). Service is good - we turned up shortly before breakfast was due to end and they looked after us very well with yummy fresh juice and pastries.
We had a room overlooking the main street which was well heated - we even kept the window open and it wasn't very noisy on a regular night. However the Drum Festival is so loud and they start at 12am going through until midnight the next night. We were woken up by the culinary groups in the street which was cool - all part of the experience!
Northern Spain is quite rainy in the early parts of the yea - just a heads up be prepared!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    93
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
106
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My friend recommended this hotel along with a few others in San Sebastian/Donostia. I logged onto their website to book a room for my wife and I for 5 nights in the summer months. When I went to fulfil the booking, a window popped up which read 'we cannot complete this booking right now. Please email or call us'. So, I emailed and I got a rude email back in Spanish which basically read: (and I translate)

Dear Sir,

In brief, the availability of our rooms and prices are published on our website. Sorry for any inconvenience. Hostal Aleman

Maybe I am a bit narky today but when you cannot make a booking due to their site and when you reach out in order to complete a booking, this is not how you expect to be treated. Their overall communication style, disregard for the customer and inepitude prevents me from ever booking or staying at such an establishment. The customer is always right even when your website does not work and your 'in brief' just does not suffice.

Room Tip: Call - email etiquette is non-existant in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kewcheystories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A great place. A boutique hotel despite calling itself a hostel.
Sadly could only stay one night as it was booked the following nights for the annual boat regatta.
Nice walk into the old town. Very comfy beds (although the room was a little small) and modern bathroom with all amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongIdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is good value. Its very close to the beach although a bit of a walk to the old part of town. The rooms are a bit old however probably matched to the price. Don't take too much luggage as you have to drag it up some stairs. Overall its a nice hotel and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We couldn't be more pleased with our stay here. The rooms were impeccably clean, including the spacious bathroom. We've been traveling on a budget and staying in hostales and pensiones, and have been used to cramped bathrooms. This one is standard hotel size (from a U.S. point-of-view).

Each staff member we interacted with was exceptionally welcoming and helpful-- everyone from the front desk receptionist to the cleaning staff to the delightful woman who serves breakfast. The view from the little breakfast cafe is pleasant-- you get a peak at the beach along with a lovely view of the plaza below and a view further down the coast.

One final thing that made our stay fantastic was that the front desk receptionist offered to keep our big backpacks even after our checkout time. That was about six hours we didn't have to worry about in terms of lugging our big packs around the city. It was great!

We would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Our room on the side street, second floor of the hotel (Rm 205) was quiet enough, and though it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Upon arrival we parked our car just around the corner where there is an official traffic sign indicating hotel guests are allowed to park here. We checked in and unloaded our luggage and as we were entering the car, an elderly lady stormed towards us accusing us of having parked illegally and what were we thinking parking at the parking space of Hostal Alemana and this space was reserved for their customers and bla bla bla, all accusations which she uttered with a great deal of self-indigation. She also emphasised she was the owner as if trying to intimidate us.

When I produced the key to our room which showed we were indeed customers she went all quiet and tried to excuse it with the fact she did not know... I checked later that she was the owner and this was confirmed. The traffic sign indicates hotel guests can ipark here and this space is for anyone using a hotel in the area not just Hostal Alemana. For her behaviour being the owner and treating guests like that, I am giving this place a one star.

There were no other redeeming features. The price was too high for what you get. A mediocre hotel with rooms that are average in every way. Nothing nice in the room- just cheap lamps, bed cover, table. The garage is also mostly full so either book early or arrive early. Parking is around 18 euros per day. Nearby they have a collaboration with a parking lot but the guy goes on lunch from 13 to 16 so if you need the car then, you are stuffed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent two months in Spain, 5 weeks on the Camino and 3 weeks travelling around. One thing I have learned is that guest services and professionalism in Spanish hotels is hit or miss. You certainly cannot assume that a more expensive place will have better rooms or better service. The Londres was horrible, they were exceptionally rude at the Hotel Niza...but they were so nice at this place we couldn't get over it. My son had left his phone in the cab. Before we even checked in, I told the guy what had happened and he was on the phone to the cab co and had located our cab driver before we could get our backpacks off. We were told we could pay the cab to bring it back to us or just pick it up from the police sta. The man at the front desk told us the PD was very close by. Our room was just beside the front desk - and the breakfast room. Stuff in the bathroom (soap, toothbrush, etc) was really nice. Very clean, and the beds were super comfortable. My Spanish is pretty good, but it was a relief to speak English with the front desk guys. They helped us a lot with different things we could do in SS.
And by the way - my son said there was a massive closet at the SSPD just crammed with stuff left in cabs. Purses and phones and laptops and suitcases. If you lose ANYTHING - check that night or the next day with the PD. He said they were super nice to him.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chach63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#22 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Niza
Hotel Niza
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Husa Europa
Hotel Husa Europa
#27 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#15 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alemana

Property: Hostal Alemana
Address: San Martin, 53 - 10, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Alemana 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alemana Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Hostal Alemana San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing