We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Barcelo.com
$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/18/23
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/17/23
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
$74
View deal
Expedia.com$78
Hotels.com$78
Hurb$90
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,126)
Filter reviews
3,126 results
Traveler rating
1,355
1,152
387
165
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,355
1,152
387
165
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel old town outdoor pool minute walk residential area wi fi nice walk underground parking beautiful city la concha barcelo balcony euros spain taxis seafront cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 3,126 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August 2016. Overall the hotel was fine. Although the decor is starting to get a bit tired, it has all the usual amenities for a mid range hotel. If you plan to spend time at the beach and have pinchos in the old town, we'd recommend staying closer to the old town nearer to the water. Have a look at the Londres maybe... The Barcelo Costa Vasca is at least 30 mins walk from all of the action, half of which is uphill on the way back!!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Odyssey599676
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
-XperienceManager-, Director General at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for charing your feedback in through this useful tool and for letting us know the improvements we need to reflect on.

We are sorry if you found the hotel far from the city centre. Let me inform you maybe for the next time we have a free shuttle service which drives you from the hotel to anywhere in the city you would like to go.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel and offer you our best service.

Kind regards,

Direction
Barceló Costa Vasca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Football Break with my son...This is a very impressive hotel with very helpful & friendly staff. Only criticism would be of WiFi quality & lack of room service. I can honestay say the beds are the best I've slept in during many visits to Spain. Will definitely be going back.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank William Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
-XperienceManager-, General Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

Dear guest,

First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and our confortables beds.

I hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

the beds are very comfortable and the rain shower is fantastic. the saltwater pool is amazing. the rooms can be noisy as they are not very well insulated (you can hear a lot of noise from the hallways). we were not impressed by the restaurant at all. spend your money elsewhere. overall a good hotel.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
-XperienceManager-, General Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Barceló Costa Vasca and posting a review about your stay on TripAdvisor.

We greatly appreciate you taking time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor audience. Traveller’s feedback is a source of motivation for us as we try to achieve even higher standards of service and care.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Barceló Costa Vasca again one day.

Best Regard,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

We had such a lovely time last year that we returned again to the same hotel. It is still a wonderful place to stay. The only people who don't like it are the ones who think it is too far from the centre. In fact it's not far, but it is far enough to be peaceful and relaxing.

The waiting and cleaning staff are incredibly professional and hard working. It is clean and welcoming. The lifeguards and waiting staff manage to be friendly as well as totally professional.

We had realised from some reviews here that there had been some changes to the restaurant menu. I must be totally clear - the cooking is still excellent. The problems are with the menu.

Firstly, it is not as described on the website, so they hotel could run into legal problems of false advertising. Instead of a proper Spanish menu, there is a tourist style menu with things like cheesy nachos. It is the same every day, so if you are staying for your holidays you soon run out of options. The main problem is the total lack of vegetables. We asked, and we were told there were none in the kitchen! Normally a Spanish first course is fairly substantial and mainly vegetables. These have disappeared from the menu. As this is an excellent hotel, if you talk to the staff they will solve problems for you. We asked for vegetables when we made our dinner reservation, and they cooked some specially for us. Also we saw other guests asking for them too!

Secondly, there is the excellent Lobby Bar menu, also available in the poolside bar. Unfortunately, this menu is now only available when the restaurant is shut, so between 11.00 and 1.00 and again from 3.30 to before 8.00. Basically not meal times. So if you are staying at the hotel you are forced to eat from the same restaurant menu. This is obviously not done in favour of the customer, as the staff are continually having to explain to customers that the menu is not available. Even though most of the things on the Lobby Bar menu ARE available on the room service menu. While the restaurant is open, the poolside bar serves the same menu as the restaurant and the Lobby Bar has a kind of half-hearted fried tapas menu.

Again, I must be clear that the cooking is very good. The problem is with some poor decisions someone has made about what menus to offer. The fish of the day/meat of the day dishes are tasty (but without vegetables). The paella is very good, but you can't eat it every day for lunch and dinner!

We would love to go back again another year and see if they've sorted it out!

Room tip: If travelling as a family you can ask for connected rooms.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
-XperienceManager-, Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to tell us your nice experience with us at Barceló Costa Vasca Hotel.

We love reading you enjoyed your stay with us and all the good feedback! On the other hand, we are disappointed for reading you did not enjoy the food in our restaurant and we will transfer them your comments in order to improve and content all our clients, as this is always our main goal.

We hope to see you really soon and whenever you come to San Sebastian, this will be your home!

Kind regards,

Direction
Barceló Costa Vasca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

It is a nice and modern hotel with a good pool area. Close to the beach, but a bit far from the city central. Breakfast is really nice, but the restaurant and roomservice food is horrible. So is the wifi.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Drevsfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
-XperienceManager-, Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

First of all, we thank you for your confidence in our services, and specially for having taken the time to share your most sincere opinion after your visit to Barceló Costa Vasca.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions as they help us to continue achieveing our guests satisfaction.

We will be glad to welcome you back any time in the near future,

Best Regard,

Direction
Barceló Costa Vasca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews