We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,581)
Filter reviews
2,581 results
Traveler rating
1,059
1,008
338
124
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,059
1,008
338
124
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus nice hotel shuttle service nice pool old town business hotel per day main town lovely walk minute walk hotel is located residential area good size quiet location wi fi small balcony concha beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 2,581 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2015

The hotel is very nice. It is open, light and modern. Easy to find and to park The restaurant is nice with good food and a very nice breakfast buffet. The bar is too nice.
A big pool and spa. The spa treatments was very dissapointed, I will neary say unprofessional.
The service in general high. The room with terrase very nice and good. The distance to beach not long, but for old town some longer.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 2nicetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcostavasca, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review on tripadvisor, and for describing us as a nice hotel.
We are delighted to read that you liked the design of our facilities, rooms, location and swimming pool area.
Regarding your observation about your spa treatment, I have to inform you that the spa Sasoibide does not belong to the hotel. For this reason I will forward your comment to its manager.

We hope to have the opportunity to see you back in our hotel. Next time feel free to ask for me at your arrival in order to welcome you and thank you in person.

Best regards
Romain Laquieze
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

We booked on www.Booking.com a "family room." The room was advertised for 1 room that could accommodate a "max. 4 adults." It was the most expensive room we were booking for our entire trip. We paid way more than we would have for this standard, chain hotel that lacked charm because we were unwilling to sleep apart from our two minor children.

When we arrived, we were told that they had only two nonadjoining rooms that could accommodate a maximum of 2 people per room. We showed the print out that clearly stated "1 Family Room max 4 adults." The woman behind the desk shrugged and said the hotel did not have anything like that.

We sat in their living room trying to search for other hotels. San Sebastian was at 98% occupancy, and there was not a single family room to be rented anywhere in the city. After searching for other options outside the city for about 45 stressful minutes, the woman came up to us to say that she could put us in a two bedroom suite for the first two nights and then we would have to move. We said fine.

The rooms are modern, sparse, clean, large, with decent but not luxurious towels, and full amenities, e.g., a magnifying mirror by the sink. However, the rooms stank to high heaven of some cleaning fluid that was smelled like cotton candy. Fortunately, the windows opened, so we could air out our room each time we returned.

The hotel is on the Western edge of the city a 10 minute walk from the beach. This is nice in that there is no noise (other than the constant landscaping work on the hotel). But it makes for a very long walk if you -- like us -- want to spend most of your days in the Old Town.

But for the stress of not having what was advertised and paid for at the start, I would have rated this hotel as average.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcostavasca, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2015

Dear Erica,

Thank you for investing a few minutes of your valuable time in sharing your opinion about our hotel on tripadvisor.
On one hand, we do appreciate your good observations and description of our rooms design, cleanness, and about the selection of amenities available.
On the other hand, we highly regret that in this occasion we did not meet your entire satisfaction. We take note of all your comments; and we are sorry that you had to spend 45 stressful minutes looking for another option in San Sebastian. However, I am pleased to read that our reception found a solution in order to fit all your family in a unique room in a high occupancy situation.

Nevertheless, we consider that we are not doing any false advertisement, since in Booking website’s room description it is written that our family rooms is composed of two adjacent double rooms. However, in order to avoid any similar misunderstanding we decided to add this information in the headline.

We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Romain Laquieze
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Hotel upgraded us to a suite as they didn't have any connecting doubles remaining (we're a family of 4). Glad they did as it was the largest and most impressive room we have stayed in . . . free-standing bath, separate shower room with 3 showers (!), separate toilet room, another bathroom with another lovely shower, huge bed, everything fresh and new (or seemed like it), spotlessly clean, great views, amazing pool & spa . . . you get the picture. Couldn't have been any happier with our stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcostavasca, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your good comment on tripadvisor. In Barceló Costa Vasca we work everyday to provide the best service to our guests, that is why we are very happy to read that “ you couldn’t have been any happier with your stay”, and we are glad to know that you liked our suite.

We hope to see you again in our hotel. Next time do not hesitate to ask for me at your arrival in order to meet you and thank you in person.

Best regards
Romain Laquieze
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

The hotel was only a short taxi ride from bus station, check in was prompt, room was great, the beds were amazing and would love to know the brand as we will be trying to get one for home, the shower was class, bathroom really roomy. View from window not great but we werent here to sit in the room and look out the window. Wifi was weak enough in the room but good in the loughe, there is a different network/password for the hall/lounge. On a fairly steep hill, but good shuttle service into town and home, the driver was really nice and friendly. Had dinner one night in restaurant it was nice reasonable priced we though. Pool area really nice pity we didnt get fantastic weather while there but did get at least 1 day at the pool. If hotel staff read this will you olease let me know about the bed. ..

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NavanPyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcostavasca, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your Amazing review on tripadvisor.
All the team and I feel very happy en proud to read your nice comment describing your stay with us.

We are very happy to know that you liked our rooms and bathrooms, beds, shuttle service and pool area.
Your kind words about our staff will be shared with all the team.
Regarding your request, the bed’s brand is “Pikolin”. Hope this information will help you.

We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Next time, do not hesitate to identify yourself at reception to in order to meet you and thank you in person.

Best regards
Romain Laquieze
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Finally found a good hotel with a pool ! Friendly and efficient staff Lovely room with a little balcony approximately a 15 minute walk from San Sebastian bay. Pool was a welcome addition especially with the very warm weather. Courtesy bus available leaving once an hour from the hotel to the old town.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MJMACLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcostavasca, Deputy manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to share your opinion about our hotel.
We feel very happy and proud to read such a great review.
Thank you for your good observations about our pool area, rooms, shuffle bus service and staff friendliness.

We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in our hotel. Next time do not hesitate to ask for me at your arrival in order to welcome you and thank you in person.

Best regads
Romain Laquieze
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews