We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Costa Vasca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

It’s a very specious, modern and clean room. I do not have any problem about a noise while I stayed in the room although I could not confirm that the room has a sound or a noise proof.
Staffs are very helpful and kind. We certainly had to stay at Bilbao and they have negotiated the special night stay price at Barceló Bilbao Nervion Hotel for us. It was very helpful and save our money as well.
The location of the hotel is a green residential area, however it is too far from the old town, it takes 30 minutes by walk and around 8 euro by Taxi, and there are not much Buses running from this area to Old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satomi-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    625
    228
    83
    25
See reviews for
254
724
22
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed two nights at this fine hotel about a 5 minutes walk to the beach and a pleasant 30 minutes to the centre of town. The room was spacious, clean, with balcony. The outdoor pool is excellent and on a sunny day it is wonderful. However, it felt wrong that pool towels must be rented for 1 euro apiece. It would be nice to have it included in the price of the room. The breakfast is good and varied. We ate out for dinner and had little problem finding good restaurants and tapas bars. San Sebastian is a lovely town and the night life is lively. Much to see and do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retirees10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

the hotel is so clean, staff so helpful, rooms wide, view of hotel is very good, train station is facing the hotel door.
Location is very nice and quite, 5 minutes walking to the beach.
From the bus station 5 minutes in the bus you arrive to old town and romantic places.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afif T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This town is so beautiful and i thought this hotel was a good place to stay. Its a bit out of the way of the old town, but it doesn't take long to walk there.

The hotel is nice, comfortable and the staff are very helpful. My boyfriend had the breakfast here and he said it was really good. The food in the restaurant was really lovely too and at a reasonable price.

The only thing i didn't like was the cost of the parking why on earth was i having to pay 15 Euros a day to stay at the hotel which is already quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vet0travell0ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with my hb 4 nights in august and we loved San Sebastian, loved the pinchos and friendly people !!
Hotel clean, friendly, good size bedroom and balcony, clean swimming pool and pleasant bar but breakfast €20 way too expensive so we had it few minutes away from the hotel
Very close to the beach but 25 mn at least to walk to the old city center, otherwise €9 by taxi

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismarkParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

It may not be central - but I thought this was a beautiful and very comfortable hotel with really good breakfast and friendly, helpful service.

BUT PLEASE - these days guests should have an option to NOT have their towels changed every day, to NOT have their perfectly good bit of soap thrown away and replaced with a new one and so on - for reasons of saving energy. I had to find the lady cleaning the rooms to ask her about this (and then it was fine), but I shouldn't have had to go to such lengths. Normally there is a sign saying throw your towels on the floor if they need changing. Please can you instigate this asap?

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pavlovsfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is a good half an hours walk from the old town.
The room that we were originally given had a very bad 'musty' smell. We were changed to another room without to much fuss. The room safe didn't work though the maintenance man sorted this quickly. The 2 ladies on reception were indifferent and distant throughout, rarely making eye contact, having conversations with other across the foyer and even answering a mobile phone.
The 2nd room was a decent size and clean.
The outdoor pool was very nice with surrounding grassy area. Really don't know why they had to charge for a pool towel. Also strange that you had to walk out of the hotel's front door and though the top of the car park to reach the pool.
They also advertise an indoor pool though note that this is only accessible as part of a spa package at 18 euros an hour!
We knew in advance of the parking charge of 15 euros a day outdoor and 20 euros a day underground. We discovered that the street parking outside the hotel is 4 euros a day an seems pretty safe.
Didn't have breakfast at 17 euros each. Much better and cheaper option in town or in the Calle Maria area, 5 minutes down the hill and to the left.
Check out was efficiently done by a friendly and polite chap whose colleagues could learn much from.

Room Tip: Wouldn't bother with a balcony, there isn't much to see in the neighbourhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Costa Vasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Vasca

Property: Barcelo Costa Vasca
Address: 15 Avenida Pio Baroja, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#4 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Costa Vasca 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Barcelo Costa Vasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Vasca Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Barcelo San Sebastián Donostia
Barcelo Hotel Costa Vasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing