We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice view !”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A good business hotel but the location is a bit “off” especially if you want to enjoy the pinchos in the old part of the city. Still the central part is on taxi distance.
Stayed at the 7th floor and had a balcony which was nice so being there during spring/summer/fall is probably better then January ;-)
From my balcony you could even see the sea
Breakfast buffet was a bit expensive (17 Euros) so I usually took a walk down to the sea side and had breakfast at a local café but the bar at the hotel can offer you a sandwich and coffe or tea so if you are used to a less heavy breakfast this is a good alternative.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedenPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    695
    239
    85
    26
See reviews for
283
799
24
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Modern hotel in a residential area of San Sebastian. Probably about 20min walk to the old town, which with the frequent rain was not an option at this time.
Rooms are quite modern, bathroom not so (seems like they didn't get refurbished when the room was done), water pressure in shower a disaster, very nice breakfast. I had dinner one evening in the restaurant next to the bar which was good value for money, although when in San Sebastian there are 100s of better options in town.
Free WiFi was good and fast!

BUT: The rooms are terribly noisy, thin walls to the next room and I guess only drywall for the bathrooms mean you can hear everything going on next door, incl. the bathroom. I could follow every part of the conversation next door which went on till very late. Every shower, toilet use etc. came through loud and clear...! The doors to the corridor close very loudly - so there was a constant banging of doors. One evening somebody on the corridor started to practise violin, it sounded like he/she was standing next to my bed. Luckily they knew how to play so it was kind of amusing.

I will not consider staying here again, unless I am 100% guaranteed a room with real walls and ideally no neighbours!

Room Tip: Actively mention that you want a room with *real* walls to the next room otherwise you hear everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FS_FRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Fairly modern looking hotel with decent rooms and fantastic showers. We had a few problems that were quickly and happily resolved. The hotel is about a 20min walk from the old town where most of the food places are. It's a nice walk for the most part but uphill on the way back. The Spanish breakfast was really good! It's kind of a business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Good hotel with all the basics in order. The rooms are quite spaciouss and were clean. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was rather good, and also the food in the restaurant was proven to be good and reasonably priced. The pool was great for children, but other than that there was really nothing for kids.

The location was quiet with some 10 minutes walk from the beach front.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JavierDeEspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is of a good standard. I liked his general ambience. The staff were nice and friendly in all departaments. They speak English quite good. The check-in/-out process was fast. Good breakfast. The room was nice and spacious with comfy bed and modern bathroom. The only problem was the water pressure in the shower. Sometimes it was close to nothing and it was hard to do antything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our travel agent selected this hotel for our first trip to San Sabastian. It is a nice hotel. The staff was very helpful and the room was comfortably large. Breakfast was included and it was outstanding. The hotel is in what appeared to be a area of condominiums and homes. The draw back for us was the locaton, which is quite a distance from the downtown and the old town. Too far to walk and I found that Taxis are not cheap in Spain. Also, it is such a bargain that tour busses were constantly dropping off large groups people which could make it crowded in the lobby and restaurant. This is a nice property and a good bargain. However, if we go back to San Sebastian, we will stay closer to the town area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Whenever a client insists on booking a hotel on my behalf a cold sweat develops on my brow! In the case of the booking made for me at the Barcelo Costa Vasca I really had nothing to worry about. Check-in in the modern lobby was quick and efficient (although it's been a while since a hotel in Europe has asked to see my passport). My room, located on the fourth floor, was extremely bright, spacious and perfect for my stay. The beds were exceptionally large and comfortable, the bathroom (bath & shower) excellent. I particularly liked the distinctly separate desk area (with lots of electrical wall sockets) as I had work to do on my laptop during the stay.
The buffet breakfast was superb (particularly the selection of fresh fruit for the healthy and waffles and caramel syrup for the likes of me). The evening menu, while a little limited in choice, is superb value at just €14 for three courses plus a complementary digestif. Coffee and snacks at the bar are also good quality and value.
Location wise the hotel is well placed being just 250m from the seafront and the beach. The geography of San Sebastian means that nothing is too far away with the downtown shops, bars and restaurants being no more than fifteen or twenty minutes walk.
If there was any criticism to be had whatsoever it is the charging for the car park - €20 per day to stay in the open over-ground car park or €25 to park underground. If the actual room prices were not such good value this could almost be a deal breaker but, that said, the charges didn't taint my stay whatsoever.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong even with a standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#21 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Costa Vasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Vasca

Property: Barcelo Costa Vasca
Address: 15 Avenida Pio Baroja, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#4 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Costa Vasca 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Barcelo Costa Vasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Vasca Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Barcelo San Sebastián Donostia
Barcelo Hotel Costa Vasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing