We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A location impossible to beat!”
Review of Hotel Niza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Niza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We have stayed at this lovely hotel four times during the last 8 years. Niza is a hotel with a soul and a fantastic view of the world famous Concha Beach. You will wake up in the morning hearing the gentle waves from the sea.
The rooms are bright and the light from the sea makes them even brighter. The interior is a bit shabby chic/beach style and there is an old elevator which is an important contributor to the hotels soul. The breakfast is very good as well. The service at the receptions is correct and Ok, like at a big hotel (not overwhelmingly friendly).
There are rooms facing the street as well, but you should only go for those with sea view (no difference in price!). Some rooms have a small balcony, some don't. I have had many "rooms with a view", but the view of Playa de la Concha and the promenade just below the hotel windows is hard to beat. There are only two hotels in San Sebastián with such a central location and sea view. The other one, Londres, is more expensive and with less soul than Niza. With the beach on one side, the lovely irish pub "Molly Malone" on the other side and the gourmet restaurants and shops nearby, a better location is impossible to find in San Sebastián.
If you think the hotel is a bit expensive, you should know that this area has one of the highest property values in Spain. And if you found such a lovely hotel in Italy, the price would have been 50-100% higher.
Hotel Niza is a little gem in a outstanding city.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 670 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2009

Stayed one night at the end of October. Room was clean and hotel was very cool and charming. Staff was extremely helpful and spoke English. Great old style elevator. Fabulous location, right on beach and within walking distance of shopping areas, restaurants and the Parte Vieja. The stairway was tricky to navigate due to uneven steps - would not recommend taking stairs if you've had a few drinks! Bar had tasty tapas but did not try pizza restaurant downstairs. Definitely worth checking out if you want a funky European hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

We spent four nights at Hotel Niza at the end of November, a chilly time for San Sebastian. Hotel was lovely, the staff were helpful, the room was clean and fresh with a large bathroom. The hotel bar had good tapas, wine and the like and we dropped in often throughout the day. the pizza place downstairs served good pizza and pastas and was very reasonably priced. We were on the second floor and often walked up and down, but loved the beautiful little old-fashioned elevator. Free internet in the lobby, a nice bonus now offered by many good hotels. The hotel is close to the old town and to other city areas and its location on the beachfront makes walking a pleasure. We'd stay here again and again. Good room prices during low season made the stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

This hotel is in a great location, right on the seafront. It is very convenient for walking to the town center or to the old part of the town. The rooms were very clean. The downside is that there is no soundproofing between rooms, making it quite nosiy in the mornings etc. Overall, the staff were quite professional, and most of the reception staff were quite helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovestotravel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

A very special hotel with a fantastic sea view that I could look at forever. Beautiful perfectly clean room {cleaned every day}
Nice en suite. Very friendly and most helpful staff. Breakfast well worth 10 euro.
Will definatly go back again
Pat mulcahy
Ireland

Thank patricia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Niza and were very happy with our choice. We had a room on the first floor at the back as there were no seaviews available. The room was alittle small but cute and very clean. The bathroom was quite large and also spotless. We liked being on the first floor as we could use the stairs and not have to wait on the lift. Being at the back was not a problem with the window closed and the a/c on.

The location is perfect, right on the promanade and fabulous beach. It is nice to have a swim and walk into the hotel right away to change. It is also great to stroll along the promanade into the old town for dinner at night.

Breakfast was optional with a small but good choice including some cooked items. There was very nice fresh orange juice. You can eat and drink all you like for €10 which we thought was good value.

The staff were very pleasent and helpful. We loved San Sebastian and if we return we would be happy to stay at Hotel Niza.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AKQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We stayed in room 62. It had a great view of he beach. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very well appointed and clean - though quite small...but suitable for our needs.

The sound of the ocean at night was very pleasant.....until the disco on the beach starts up about midnight and then it can be quite noisy with the window open. Window shut is fine - but personally I would have preferred to have it open.

The disco is out of the control of the Hotel so they are not to be faulted for this.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gustofers_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,607 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#22 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niza

Address: Zubieta, 56, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $85 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An everlasting style, remaining throughout time. Its privileged location, right at the La Concha bay, turns the Hotel into an incomparable site. Its decoration creates a warm and cozy atmosphere. Lamps, furniture, pictures. Everything is designed to supply comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Niza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niza Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing