We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Niza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Niza
Málaga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a good hotel in a great location in San Sebastian. The rooms and bathrooms are compact, but clean (we had one overlooking the street, but I would ask for one with views over la Concha). The internet works well in the foyer, but is very slow and drops out a lot in the rooms. The staff weren't particularly nice, but did their job efficiently and check-in/out was pretty quick. The price is expensive for what it is, but I guess that's what you get in August!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingAussie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    279
    78
    25
    21
See reviews for
69
318
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at beginning of August. Room was great overlooking the beach but with no aircon, however this was not a problem as the windows could be opened to let in a breeze. Breakfast served in the bar/diner area was also open to non-residents. Basic choice of food, hot food wasn't kept hot and wasn't even hot at start time! There is parking in an underground garage alongside the hotel. However the hotel was not well signposted and it took us about 40 mins trying to find it going around in circles and pull-in to unload was on a very busy road. Easy very pleasant walk into old part of town. The bars in this part of town have to be experienced to see the vast array of tapas piled on the counters. You get given a plate and you choose which tapas you want, order a drink and pay. The plates keep getting refreshed. Like a giant buffet really. The beach was very nice. Enjoyed the experience but probably wouldn't go to San Sebastian again.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the beach however no aircon in these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotel Niza is a bueatiful Beach side Hotel close to the old town of San Sebastian. Room was clean and adequatly spacious for a 2 night stay.
Its location on the main beach is ideal for exploring the nearby bueatiful old town. Hotel Niza has a lovely bar with tables on the promenade outside where you can sit in the evening and watch the world go by. San Sebastian is a lovely city well worth a visit. It is only a 30 minute drive from Biarritz.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was another pleasant surprise, a gem of a find while searching online. The hotel itself has a beautiful old world charm. The staff was friendly, helpful, and even humored me with my remedial Spanish skills. I booked over 7 months in advance, and appreciated their communication as my trip got closer. The room was clean and comfortable, wifi worked well and it's literally on the beach. The location was perfect, just a few blocks from great shopping, and not far at all from the old town. There is also a little grocery store across the street, definitely a good place to buy cheap bottles of water and surprisingly good Spanish wines.
The only caveat was my room window opened up to an airshaft, but so what, I wasn't there to spend time indoors. The bar downstairs has a lovely view of the bay, not to mention reasonably priced wine. I'd reccomend this hotel, and would stay there again. I loved San Sebastian, the food was truly incredible and it's such a charming town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KirTon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was extremely satified with my short single night, single traveller visit to san Sebastian and Hotel Niza. So much good in less than 24 hours! I had read reviews, but was still surprised to find Niza actually located on the very beach promenade, and even to get a lovely room with a sea view, Wow! The room is not sophisticted or fancy, but charming and absolutely OK, and the bathroom is clean and modern. The hotel is not large, but it is pretty and cosy and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. My main purpose of visit was to dine at the Mugaritz restaurant. The staff informed me of dress code issues (relaxed) but still managed to have my shirts washed and ironed on short notice. They also got me a taxi in just the right moment. Back in the room, opening the french doors to the dark night and letting the sea breeze and the soft beach sounds in was just so atmospheric and relaxing. Next morning it was very easy form the Niza to stroll the beach, the shopping area, the old town, the la Concha promenade, and the very nice seafront tapas bars right outside. San Sebastian is a very interesting and appealing place to vist, and the Niza is a perfect base to explore and enjoy it, at a very reasonable price. I could have stayed forever, and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MobileDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My friend and I asked at the desk if there was parking available and were pleased to here yes, after a long drive. However it was very difficult manoevering the car into the tiny parking bay three levels below ground and not directly under hotel.
The blond woman at the desk was quite helpful with directions etc during our stay, but the male reception attendant was very unfriendly.
We loved our room with a view of sweeping San Seb bay, a sheer delight! The room was spacious and comfortable with nice monogrammed white sheets and pillows. The gorgeous historic lift improved the quirky hotel atmosphere as did the fantastic bistro and restaurant attached. A highlight was watching the sunset over the bay from a booth!

Room Tip: ask to go high and sea-side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The location is great, right on La Concha beach. I had a single room, which was very small, but very clean. The staff was great. The restaurant had a great breakfast each day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreebirdTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,621 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#20 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niza

Property: Hotel Niza
Address: Zubieta, 56, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An everlasting style, remaining throughout time. Its privileged location, right at the La Concha bay, turns the Hotel into an incomparable site. Its decoration creates a warm and cozy atmosphere. Lamps, furniture, pictures. Everything is designed to supply comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Niza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niza Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing