We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope you like trains!”
Review of Hotel Terminus

Hotel Terminus
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Terminus
morecambe
Level Contributor
176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Hope you like trains!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

You really must try this hotel, but I would only use it as a i / 2 night stay It's the old station hotel and buffet (cantina). Yes, the noise of the trains WILL ensure that you rise early.Here you really do 'get what you pay for'. Breakfast is literally one croissant, one glass of orange juice and a coffee. The bar prices are amazingly cheap and so are the 'tapas...sorry, pintxos. The hotel also has a front door that is never open and you have to ring for entry.This place is 'really rustic' . but an experience we are very glad we had. Try it!!

Room Tip: Train side is nosier than road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    36
    16
    8
See reviews for
15
39
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BritAbroad
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Passing late through Donostia-San Sebastian (Donostia is the Basque name for the city) by train, needed a bed for the night and Hotel Terminus did the job. Adjacent to mainline railway station so perfect location for me. Last person to check in, received friendly welcome and directed to top floor of three (stairs only), room at the front. Closed the double-glazed windows and curtains, put in my earplugs, didn't hear a car or train all night and slept reasonably well in the single bed.

The hotel is old and tired, along with its fixtures and fittings. Corridors are empty and echo. The room and en suite bathroom were adequate for my single night stopover. Breakfast, however, was a disappointment: I like a substantial breakfast while travelling but all that was on offer in the conjoined station café was just a coffee, orange juice and croissant. For those wanting something more, suggest a walk into the nearby city centre.

Having time to kill in the morning I strode across the nearby De Maria Cristina Zubia bridge and soon found myself in the city centre and before too long was looking out across the beautiful bay of La Concha with its immaculate beach. I quickly took a liking to the city and decided I would like to return and spend more time there ... but I wouldn't be staying at the Hotel Terminus.

Room Tip: Front equals road traffic; rear equals rail traffic - so take your pick ... or just use a decent pai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britabroad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

travelling with backpacks we loved the location of the Terminus Hotel near the train station.
The reception desk people were very friendly and helpfull. The looked up the time schedules of the busses for us. The price includes the breakfast in the restaurant that is very lively with all train passengers hopping in for coffee.

Room Tip: rooms in the back side are noisy because of the train station, and there is no AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddyrotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Terminus hotel is nothing remarkable, the rooms are comfortable but not luxurious, the service is acceptable but not fantastic, the facilities, including wifi, are adequate but not worth a specific mention.

The cafe/bar that is attached to this literally part of the main San Sebastion train station. The other station (Amara) which is the one you will use for local travel is only about a 15 minute walk away.

If you're travelling to San Sebastián by train, particularly if arriving very early or late in the morning, this hotel is worth considering.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may want to request the road side rather than the train station side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashmerrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for two nights, very reasonable price. It backs onto the station so could work out very well if you travel to the city that way. Parking in the centre San Sebastian is a nightmare and although we didn't take up their offer, cheaper parking is available through the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveygriswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend were traveling to San Sebastián by train, and arriving late, so booked to hotel for its location. It's is just near the station so no need for a long walk at night. Rooms are basic it adequate. However I have concerns about the security. We were asleep at 3 am in our locked room, however were woken by a group of very rowdy (drunk) guests in the hall, then heard rattling of the door handle, and someone managed to open our locked door and began to enter our room. As expected I was not happy and told them to get out, but they did not leave. It was only when I got up and came towards them that they seemed to size me up and then leave. Needless to say I didn't sleep much more that night. Firstly this concerns me because I w there with my girlfriend, and secondly this could have happened anytime during the day, so belongings would not be safe. We checked out the next morning and went to the kuursaal pension, same price, far better accomodation, location, and staff.
Tis place may be ok if your staying with a group of guys, but I would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone who values their own safety or that of their traveling companions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arriving by train the hotel is two buildings from the station. Our room was very clean, modest in decor but large in size. Bathroom was clean but the hand held shower head kept falling down, just a small annoyance. The restaurant which was connected by a door was really quite good and inexpensive. Since it rained while we were there, this was a nice option. The people at the front desk spoke very good English and were very helpful and gave clear directions. This hotel is fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: No elevator so you might ask for a lower floor if hauling luggage is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostal Bahia
Hostal Bahia
#38 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Irune Lodging & Guesthouse
Irune Lodging & Guesthouse
#36 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pension Edorta
Pension Edorta
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Avenida
Avenida
#22 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
#23 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Property: Hotel Terminus
Address: Avenida de Francia, 21, 20012 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terminus 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing