We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”
Review of Hotel Terminus

Hotel Terminus
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Terminus
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for two nights, very reasonable price. It backs onto the station so could work out very well if you travel to the city that way. Parking in the centre San Sebastian is a nightmare and although we didn't take up their offer, cheaper parking is available through the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveygriswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    37
    16
    9
See reviews for
15
42
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend were traveling to San Sebastián by train, and arriving late, so booked to hotel for its location. It's is just near the station so no need for a long walk at night. Rooms are basic it adequate. However I have concerns about the security. We were asleep at 3 am in our locked room, however were woken by a group of very rowdy (drunk) guests in the hall, then heard rattling of the door handle, and someone managed to open our locked door and began to enter our room. As expected I was not happy and told them to get out, but they did not leave. It was only when I got up and came towards them that they seemed to size me up and then leave. Needless to say I didn't sleep much more that night. Firstly this concerns me because I w there with my girlfriend, and secondly this could have happened anytime during the day, so belongings would not be safe. We checked out the next morning and went to the kuursaal pension, same price, far better accomodation, location, and staff.
Tis place may be ok if your staying with a group of guys, but I would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone who values their own safety or that of their traveling companions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Paso Robles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arriving by train the hotel is two buildings from the station. Our room was very clean, modest in decor but large in size. Bathroom was clean but the hand held shower head kept falling down, just a small annoyance. The restaurant which was connected by a door was really quite good and inexpensive. Since it rained while we were there, this was a nice option. The people at the front desk spoke very good English and were very helpful and gave clear directions. This hotel is fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: No elevator so you might ask for a lower floor if hauling luggage is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Although San Sebastián has a slew of "pensiones" in the old town that would no doubt have been cheaper to stay at, all of the streets there are pedestrian only, and parking in San Sebastian as a whole is a nightmare. The Terminus is located right next to the train station and I got a space practically right across the street in a little off street lot. You have to keep a paid receipt, purchased from a nearby machine, on your dash. It's free from 8PM to 9AM also for the two hour lunch break. If you want to leave it there, you have to keep your receipt current. That means dropping by every three hours to pay and get another. My room is very large with two twin beds, a writing desk and chair, a vinyl covered bench/luggage rack. Although there are no passenger trains arriving or departing after bedtime, I figured that freight trains or trains speeding by headed for other destinations might bother me, I didn't hear any at all until morning. My bed was comfortable and I slept well. The bathroom is fine and the shower was great. The bracket was located quite high on the end wall and it swiveled up and down for easy adjustment. The desk clerks were very friendly. Room cost was 43 euros, tax included.

Room Tip: My room was 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Inexpensive, clean, and convenient. Yes, linoleum floors. Yes, tiny rooms. Yes, right next to train station, and plenty of road noise, too. Yes, thin walls. But also perfectly clean, with friendly staff, and convenient to Parte Vieja (Old Town), Kursaal center, bus "station," etc., etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We knew we could not expect too much, as this is only two-star, but were still somewhat startled by the spartan and old-fashioned nature of the hotel. There's no problem with having no carpet - we're used to that, especially in Spain where they often prefer stone floor tiles - but something looking suspiciously like 70s style beige linoleum, and cracked and nicotine-stained (?) at that, seemed to have been bulk-bought and laid throughout. It reminded me of our travels in the Soviet Union Communist era - huge high ceilings, dark and cavernous, large squeaky and stained radiators. That said, we can't accuse it of being dirty, and it was certainly spacious, especially the bathroom (which had an incongruous modern fitted chipboard wardrobe in!) The main problem was the noise. We love trains (we'd travelled to San Sebastian from London by train), so would have been happy to be right by the station except for the noise. The road noise was dreadful and went on all night, and perhaps was worse in many ways than the thundering (and vibrating) of passenger and goods trains. I did love the pictures around the hotel, though - historic images of the railway (sweet!!) and some nice abstract and retro ones in the room too.

Room Tip: Whichever side you are, you will get noise - sorry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Threeberthcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Aside from train noise (which I love, by the way) this little place is best value to stay cheap in San Sebastian. You can get an oversize room for about 60eur with a great view of the train tracks. Given that you come to San Sebastian to taste and see, spending much time in the hotel, other than sleeping, is not needed, so overall, it is a great choice. Hotel is clean, old fashioned and good for families. Also, it is super close to everything with paid parking nearby.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anatolijus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostal Bahia
Hostal Bahia
#37 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Ulia
Hotel Monte Ulia
#27 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arrizul Center
Hotel Arrizul Center
#33 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Irune Lodging & Guesthouse
Irune Lodging & Guesthouse
#36 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
54 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Nicol's
Hotel Nicol's
#31 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrizul Congress Hotel
Arrizul Congress Hotel
#18 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Property: Hotel Terminus
Address: Avenida de Francia, 21, 20012 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terminus 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing