We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sercotel Hotel Codina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel San Sebastian(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ezeiza(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Avenida(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Costa Vasca(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Monte Igueldo(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leku Eder(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palacio de Aiete(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH San Sebastian Donosti(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Niza(San Sebastian - Donostia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
151
299
86
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
299
86
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsondaretta beachthe busbus stop right outside hotelold townminute walkbest room in the hotelsmall cafetop floorlarge supermarketdorm roomtea and coffee making facilitiesclose to the hotelbig bedbusy roadbars restaurantsmonths in advanceone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 555 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The hotel itself was perfect; clean, comfortable & modern. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Its a short walk to the beach & promenade but to reach the old town it's at least a 20-25min walk. Lovely to do once or twice but after that it gets tiring! We only stayed one night in San Sebastian so had to kind of cram in all our sightseeing during the day. Maybe if we had stayed an extra night we could have taken our time. That said I'd recommend the hotel to people who like to be close to the beach; for those who like to be nearer the centre of town I'd probably look elsewhere (but I guess you will have to pay more for that privilege!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterford-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Much newer hotel than most directly on the beach. Well maintained and well worth the walk from our point of view. Parking is truly only two short blocks away by the police station. Most of the 7th floor rooms have balconies with wonderful views but request early! One side has AM sun, the other side PM sun, request accordingly. Beach is 5 minutes and the old town can be done in 25 minutes if you walk to the beach area promenade and keep up a steady pace. A nice bakery is just 150 meters/yards behind the hotel (opposite direction from parking near police station) for some fine breakfast pastries to enjoy on a 7th floor balcony in the AM sun. Will stay again for a few nights!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribbeanlovers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed just for one night, but wish I could have stayed longer. The room was modern, and clean, very close to the beach and a great little spot - Bar Pepe. Staff were nice and professional and recommended a bunch of restaurants to eat at in Old Town. Old Town is a good 40 minutes walk from the hotel but it is a great walk especially if eating all day. The internet connection was quick and the beds were comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishManinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Very good location if you wan't to stay close to the beach (some 5-7 minute walk), but out of the hustle and bustle in old town.
The hotel is easy to find by car, and some rooms have ocean view.
The walk into old town is about 30 minutes along the beach promenade.

The hotel seemed to be very recently renovated, both rooms and common areas were fresh and modern.

Service in reception was good - and helpful in giving directions to places of interest.

Breakfast service was OK. Not the largest of selections, but all fine.
We stayed for 6 nights and had breakfast twice. There are ample choices from bears nearby if you wan't to have breakfast elsewhere. We just bought sandwiches from the supermarket, 100 meters to the left of the hotel.

Yes; the water in your fridge/minibar is complimentary!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_oslo_gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Do you enjoy spending time in the ocean? Prefer to be close to the action but not right amongst the hustle and bustle? If you have answered yes to both, then the Hotel Codina maybe the perfect option for you.
The hotel is roughly a 2 minute walk from San Sebastian’s most picturesque beach ‘Playa de Ondarreta’ and a 20 min walk from the old town where all the classic Tapas bars, restaurants, street performers and shopping is located!
In terms of the design of the hotel as you enter there is a bar/café that serves nice, affordable Tapas for breakfast (possibly lunch and dinner as well) The lobby is very stylish with a 24 hour reception desk and free internet.
The hotel offers parking, however it is quite expensive (2o euro per night exc GST) so thanks to a gentleman on trip advisor that recommended this to me, I’m passing this onto those who wish to save a bit of mula… There is a free parking spot next to the police station which is about a 5 min walk from the hotel. If the kerb line is white this means it’s free and you can usually get a park within 5 minutes of stalking the locals.

The rooms are also quite modern with a massive KING size bed that has potential to fit at least 4 people in the bed. The bed is quite hard though, so for those that get sore backs and intend to stay for a few nights, this may not be the right hotel for you.
I will second metcalfem’s comment around the toilet paper holder? This hotel has clearly not thought of women at all in it’s design as you literally need to stand up and take a few steps to collect the toilet paper… Hmm…

Rooms were expensive considering the hotel is only 3 star, however we did stay over a weekend period in the middle of summer so this obviously has a big impact on price. The reception staff were polite, however I think they were more about ‘getting you in and getting you out’ rather than having a personable approach with each of their guests.

Quick tip – there’s a great local supermarket for all your food, wine and deli needs just 1 minute to the left as you exit the lobby. Room 605 had a great view of the ocean and hills, even if there were a few concrete obstructions plopped in between.

For the ladies who like to indulge this hotel is about 5 mins from the Thallaso Spa where they offer massages, facials, body wraps and amazing spa packages. Absolute bliss! For those that enjoy adventure sports the hotel is only 5 mins from a kyak rental and although I didn’t see it, I do believe there are water sports available at the ‘Playa de La Concha’ beach. If you are are a surfing enthusiast the hot spots to surf is at the ‘Playa de La Zurriola’ beach which is about a 30 min walk from the hotel or 10 mins by car. Another great beach to surf if you have a car is Zauritz which is a small town about 20 mins from San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webbh_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews