We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Codina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Codina
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and paid extra for a room with a balcony - which I would recommend - room was very clean and comfortable with a good shower room. Hotel in a good location 5 minute walk to the beach - it is a lovely walk into the centre of San Sebastian, especially if you walk along the beach. Staff v helpful, the 24 bus goes outside the door to the central bus station and they got me the times. Inside room with doors wide open very comfortable, however when sitting on balcony even though on the 7th floor, traffic noise intrusive. Cafe on ground floor great - good coffee, wine and service.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMWDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    221
    67
    13
    3
See reviews for
66
216
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes,
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Whilst staing in France with family my husband and I took a 2 night trip to SS and chose the Codina. We had a very friendly welcome, the desk chap conversing in Spanish, French and English with us. I would recommend booking a parking spot around the corner in the undercover car park - Euro18 a day from memory.
The room was fine - little noisy overlooking the street but nothing a pair of earplugs couldn't fix. All the amenities were fine, big spacious bathroom.
The hotel is about a 25 min walk to the old town but it is a beautiful walk along the bay. There is also a bus stop right outside and for 1.45E you can get the bus to the doorstep of the old town on the number 5 or 25.....considerably cheaper than a cab although they don't run that late.
Overall perfect for our trip, clean and friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claypole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Huge rooms & baths - includes bidet; shower over tub. Exterior shutters + thick windows that can be vented or fully opened + drapes make for a very quiet room at night. Lots of outlets to plug in all the stuff we have come to HAVE TO HAVE. And huge in room safe that fit my big laptop & more plus it was easy to operate. You can order pizza & cheese sticks & the pizza people deliver to your room & charge your room which was nice the first night it was drizzly outside. There is a wonderful little bar just down the block + 2 supermarkets close by. About a half mile to the surf shop if you want to take lessons. Breakfast was expensive & looked crappy - canned fruit cocktail? We opted for going down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor & seaview - worth the extra 20 Euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaulegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here and really liked it. We couldn't decide between the area this hotel was in and the old downtown but we were really glad we picked this as it was only a few blocks from the beach.

The staff was great and really made the experience a lot better. They may seem very reserved but if you ask them anything they will go out of their way to accommodate. We used public transportation the whole time and they were very knowledgeable about bus routes and how to get places. Pedro in the bar/cafe area was excellent and was patient in showing us regional cuisine and drinks that we didn't know about.

I would add that at first this area of Spain seemed very reserved and not very outgoing so it took a little while to adjust to after coming from Barcelona. After understanding that this was just a regional difference and nothing personal we had a great time!

I would highly recommend a side trip to Bilbao and/or Biarritz, France since they are so close. The Amara bus station is about 7-8 euros by taxi or 2 euros by bus and easy to get to.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to have about the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MateoVerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel when we visited San Sebastian for a wedding. It was great value (we booked it through Discount Hotel Reservations (DHR) and perfect for the 3 night stay we had planned. The rooms were clean and very modern and the bathroom was stocked with lots of toiletries if you needed them. One of the added extras was FREE Wi-fi which I found useful. It's a relatively small hotel with a small cafe/bar on one side and the reception on the other. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had hired a car so used the hotel's garage which cost 15 Euros plus tax per day. This was well worth it because parking is at a premium in the area. A buffet breakfast is available for 10 euros and it was perfectly adequate - cereals, pastries, meats, yogurts, cooked ham & eggs etc. The area the hotel is situated in was lovely - lots of shops, cafe's and bars within a short distance. A large supermarket was literally just along the road. We had pinchos at a local bar/restaurant just a few doors up from the hotel and also at a bar called Pepe's which was just along the road the opposite way. San Sebastian centre was approximately a mile from the hotel and is a very pleasant walk along the promenade just by the beach. It's good to join the locals as they stroll along! The Onderetta beach is practically opposite - a 5/10 minute walk. We would defintely stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in Hotel Codina for a total of 5 nights over the course of a two week stay in Northern Spain.

Upon our arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist whom was more than willing to deal with our many initial queries. We made our way to our room which had everything you'd need and was immaculately clean. We were located on the top floor, Room 701, which has a spacious balcony with a lovely view of the sea and the surrounding area. Great spot to sit out in the evening with a cold beer. The bathroom had no bath but a good shower, bidet and plenty of towels which were promptly changed every morning. The room had a flat screen t.v and a fridge, which is handy for keeping your own water etc. The double bed was in fact a double bed and not two singles imaginatively tied together, which made for a comfortable nights sleep. The air conditioning also worked perfectly, which is a nice change. The wi-fi was fast and consistent.

Overall it was an excellent experience. There are no leisure facilities but the hotel is excellently positioned in San Sebastian. The buffet breakfast was fresh and for its size had good variety for those who might enjoy a greasy spoon or the healthy option.

Hotel Codina have got the simple things very right and their staff, at all levels, are professional and friendly!

Room Tip: Great balcony in room 701 with a lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wally2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Location- slightly out of town (20-30 min walk) but there are frequent buses. Service- quite friendly but lacking basic things (like an iron in each room- there is only one iron in the whole hotel so you need to get it before someone else does!!). Rooms- clean, average size. Value for money- fairly priced- probably what you'd expect for the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a non smoker ask not to be on the smoker's floor. Also if you are a couple, specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanburger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Codina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Codina

Property: Hotel Codina
Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Codina 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Codina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Codina Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing