We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star Hotel with 5 Star Service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Codina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Codina
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3 Star Hotel with 5 Star Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in Hotel Codina for a total of 5 nights over the course of a two week stay in Northern Spain.

Upon our arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist whom was more than willing to deal with our many initial queries. We made our way to our room which had everything you'd need and was immaculately clean. We were located on the top floor, Room 701, which has a spacious balcony with a lovely view of the sea and the surrounding area. Great spot to sit out in the evening with a cold beer. The bathroom had no bath but a good shower, bidet and plenty of towels which were promptly changed every morning. The room had a flat screen t.v and a fridge, which is handy for keeping your own water etc. The double bed was in fact a double bed and not two singles imaginatively tied together, which made for a comfortable nights sleep. The air conditioning also worked perfectly, which is a nice change. The wi-fi was fast and consistent.

Overall it was an excellent experience. There are no leisure facilities but the hotel is excellently positioned in San Sebastian. The buffet breakfast was fresh and for its size had good variety for those who might enjoy a greasy spoon or the healthy option.

Hotel Codina have got the simple things very right and their staff, at all levels, are professional and friendly!

Room Tip: Great balcony in room 701 with a lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wally2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    238
    70
    13
    4
See reviews for
69
228
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Location- slightly out of town (20-30 min walk) but there are frequent buses. Service- quite friendly but lacking basic things (like an iron in each room- there is only one iron in the whole hotel so you need to get it before someone else does!!). Rooms- clean, average size. Value for money- fairly priced- probably what you'd expect for the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a non smoker ask not to be on the smoker's floor. Also if you are a couple, specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanburger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

While the room felt like a dorm room, the hotel was perfect. With being only a few blocks from the beach, the location was great. The room was white with no art, but was very clean. The bathroom was large and modern. The bar served wine for $1.10 Euro a glass, which was great after a day on the beach.

I really liked the staff of the hotel. They did a great job helping me with directions and suggestions

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

No surprises at this hotel; it's described well in other comments. We appreciated the space in front to load and unload our luggage in this car-unfriendly city and were happy we reserved a parking space. The staff willingly explained in detail how to take the bus, which stops right in front of the hotel and ends in the old town. The only room for improvement was those little plastic bottles of soap, lotion, etc. that you can shake and cannot squeeze, making getting the contents out next to impossible. Who invented those things??

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kehoedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Level Contributor
454 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

It was a good hotel with a friendly staff. But the rooms are small and the bed a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hotel was very reasonably priced for an expensive town. It isnt waterfront but a very short walk to San Sebastian's famous beaches. We checked into a smiling staff, when brought to our room it was small but very clean, but we were dissappointed with the view and we said it out loud. Before the staff put our bags down he said wait let me call down and see if we can improve this- as we were staring out into a dark alley. Within 5 min after being offered a beverage we were moved into a street front room with a large. Balcony and a small view of the beach down the road. Again the rooms are small but very clean and modern. The breakfast was complimentary which is nice and it wasnt fancy but there was definate variety. If I was going to go back I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess81286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

The Pro's - I can not say enough positive things about our very friendly and helpful receptionist, Christina, who could not have gone more out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. When we arrived in San Sebastian after a very long drive from France, it was raining and we were starving. The hotel has only a small cafe, but they do have a partnership with a local delivery pizza/burger place - however they could not have anybody deliver to us within an hour. Christina was most apologetic for this, but as it is only a 5min walk, we decided to explore the streets ourselves. There is a local supermarket which also stocks alcohol about 3mins up the road as well. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable, and ours had a huge balcony with water views which was exactly what I had requested when I made the booking (shame it was raining). Parking is in the hotel, underground - you need to drive around the block to access it, and it is a bit tight, but very secure. Wifi coverage in room is good. Breakfast is a mixture of hot and cold, and plentiful.

The Con's - The shower is on the small side, but does the job. The bed is on wheels, and does have a tendency to move if you are sitting propped up on the wall. I did also request a quiet room as we are light sleepers, however we were given a room right next to the elevator. Located a bit far from the city

Room Tip: 7th floor is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#11 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#5 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Codina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Codina

Property: Hotel Codina
Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Codina 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Codina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Codina Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing