We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Codina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Codina to your Saves list
Hotel Codina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average hotel but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Location- slightly out of town (20-30 min walk) but there are frequent buses. Service- quite friendly but lacking basic things (like an iron in each room- there is only one iron in the whole hotel so you need to get it before someone else does!!). Rooms- clean, average size. Value for money- fairly priced- probably what you'd expect for the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a non smoker ask not to be on the smoker's floor. Also if you are a couple, specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanburger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    208
    63
    13
    3
See reviews for
63
204
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

While the room felt like a dorm room, the hotel was perfect. With being only a few blocks from the beach, the location was great. The room was white with no art, but was very clean. The bathroom was large and modern. The bar served wine for $1.10 Euro a glass, which was great after a day on the beach.

I really liked the staff of the hotel. They did a great job helping me with directions and suggestions

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

No surprises at this hotel; it's described well in other comments. We appreciated the space in front to load and unload our luggage in this car-unfriendly city and were happy we reserved a parking space. The staff willingly explained in detail how to take the bus, which stops right in front of the hotel and ends in the old town. The only room for improvement was those little plastic bottles of soap, lotion, etc. that you can shake and cannot squeeze, making getting the contents out next to impossible. Who invented those things??

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kehoedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Level Contributor
454 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It was a good hotel with a friendly staff. But the rooms are small and the bed a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hotel was very reasonably priced for an expensive town. It isnt waterfront but a very short walk to San Sebastian's famous beaches. We checked into a smiling staff, when brought to our room it was small but very clean, but we were dissappointed with the view and we said it out loud. Before the staff put our bags down he said wait let me call down and see if we can improve this- as we were staring out into a dark alley. Within 5 min after being offered a beverage we were moved into a street front room with a large. Balcony and a small view of the beach down the road. Again the rooms are small but very clean and modern. The breakfast was complimentary which is nice and it wasnt fancy but there was definate variety. If I was going to go back I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess81286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The Pro's - I can not say enough positive things about our very friendly and helpful receptionist, Christina, who could not have gone more out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. When we arrived in San Sebastian after a very long drive from France, it was raining and we were starving. The hotel has only a small cafe, but they do have a partnership with a local delivery pizza/burger place - however they could not have anybody deliver to us within an hour. Christina was most apologetic for this, but as it is only a 5min walk, we decided to explore the streets ourselves. There is a local supermarket which also stocks alcohol about 3mins up the road as well. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable, and ours had a huge balcony with water views which was exactly what I had requested when I made the booking (shame it was raining). Parking is in the hotel, underground - you need to drive around the block to access it, and it is a bit tight, but very secure. Wifi coverage in room is good. Breakfast is a mixture of hot and cold, and plentiful.

The Con's - The shower is on the small side, but does the job. The bed is on wheels, and does have a tendency to move if you are sitting propped up on the wall. I did also request a quiet room as we are light sleepers, however we were given a room right next to the elevator. Located a bit far from the city

Room Tip: 7th floor is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Codina for 4 nights in Sept 2011 in a superior room on the 7th floor. The room was a good size with a well equipped bathroom and also had a fantastic terrace with a lovely sea view. There were sun loungers on the terrace and there was plenty of room for sunbathing if that is what you want to do (we didn't - not quite warm enough).

Both the room and the hotel generally were very clean. The rooms were not luxurious but were comfortable and a step up from "basic" . They had all the main requirements - ensuite, good air conditioning, fridge in room with free mineral water, laptop sized safe, free Wifi etc. For a 3* hotel, I thought it was pretty good.

There is a breakfast room but as we were room only we did not use this. However, there is an additional cafe/bar on the ground floor which provides coffees/croissants etc in the mornings and tapas and drinks in the evening - very reasonably priced and good service.

San Sebastian is a lovely place.The Codina is set a bit outside the main town but there is a bus stop literally outside of the front and the bus journey to the heart of the old town is about 10 minutes and costs 1.40 Euros. During the day time it is also a very pleasant walk in - along the promenade with a view of the beach all the way. It is perfectly safe to walk at night as well, just a bit cooler.

The old town and the Tapa Bas are a must in San Sebastian. The food is good and the experience even better. If you don't fancy travelling into the old town there is a nice bar just a couple of minutes from the hotel - Bar Pepe. Excellent (and very cheap) food and great service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors likely to have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Codina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Codina

Property: Hotel Codina
Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Codina 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Codina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Codina Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing