We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Aida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Aida
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel is recently renovated and is certainly a great value for money. Common spaces are cheerful and neat, hotel provides free wi-fi in the room and a spacious lift. The men at the reception desk (24h) didn't speak English very well but he was helpful and arranged us not expensive parking place next to the hotel. The room we peaked was small but with a little balcony and a comfortable bathroom. Everything was clean. The room wasn't very quiet, the window was looking at the small street and when it was open (and only then) we could hear a little noise from the larger street nearby. But it didn't bother us and we slept well.
When we realized that we left something at the hotel, the staff ensured us that it was found and is kept for us there.
We truly recommend this hotel, we had a really pleasant stay there for a reasonable price. It was on a short walking distance from the old part of the town with great tapas bars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PleasedGuests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    69
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
142
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
297 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

I picked the Pension Aida because of the good write up in the Lonely Planet and because it was located about 6 blocks from the train station. Also it was located in the Gros (a neighbourhood in Donostia) a little away from the noise and bustle of the old town (Parte Vieja). The Lonely Planet was right again, this was a lovely place to stay but the really best thing was the reception that we got from Agur, the lady that managed the place. She was so friendly and helpful it was a delight to stay here. The room was clean and the bathroom had everything that you would need. The rooms were made up every day and everything was spotless. There was also a small balcony. The reception area was spacious and had some comfortable sofas to relax on and read the brochures. There were many nice cafes and restaurants near by and even a laundromat nearby. It was about a ten to fifteen minute walk across the river to the Parte Vieja where the majority of bars and cafes were located. San Sebastian is at the top of the culinary capital of the planet. The Pintxos (tapas) are really really UNBELIEVABLE. You walk into a bar/cafe in the Parte Vieja and the tops of the bars are covered in PIntxos. You have to see it to believe it and then you have to try them to understand how good they are. Bring your appetite and stay at the Pension Aida, an unbeatable combination. The Pension was very security conscious and you had to be buzzed in by the staff every time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed 3 night recently on a trip to San Seb, and would gladly stay here again. We decided to economize a bit on accommodations in order to splurge on food, and do not regret that decision at all. Rooms are large, and very comfortable. The location is fantastic, a very pleasant 10 minute stroll along the river to the Old Town. That made it far enough away to be quiet at night, close enough to be a safe and easy walk home even after stopping at one or two too many pintxos bars.

Staff were uniformly friendly, and mostly, very helpful. Paul in particular was fabulous. Friendly, eager to share his recommendations for which pintxos bars were best, and just fun to talk to and be around. And if you are driving, they have two enclosed garage parking spots just down the block, with secure, remote activated metal doors. Make sure to book in advance though, as there are only two and I suspect they book up quickly. Certainly it was a much safer option than street parking.

The only blemish on our stay was that we were not told, when we checked in, that breakfast stopped at 10 am. (sharp!). I went out for a run in the morning, and my wife wandered down to the lobby around 9:40. No one was eating, and the woman on duty did not offer her a coffee or breakfast. After I returned from my run, showered and went downstairs at 10:15, I asked for breakfast and was informed it ended at 10:00. Given breakfast was merely toast, jam, orange juice and coffee, it would certainly not have been a strain to serve it up anyways, but she seemed far more interested in supervising room cleaning than starting up the coffee machine and toaster again. I didn't push the issue, and consider it a minor blemish, not a major problem.

As other posters have said, you definitely want one of the rooms with a balcony, which means you are looking out over the street, rather than into the gloomy air column in the interior. I would not stay here if I could not get an external facing room. We were in room 3, if I recall correctly, and I believe 3, 4, 5 and 6 are all outward facing.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with a balcony onto the street to avoid the dark dreary interior rooms. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenderTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

There are a lot of positives about this pension. The staff are pleasant and helpful.The room while small, was clean and bright, bathroom had a good shower. Wifi was consistenly available with a strong signal The location, across the river in Gros is excellent. It is a short walk from the Parte Vieja and its glorious pintxo bars, yet in a much quieter area. The train station is about a 10 min walk. The Kursaal centre is about 5 min away. It is worth checking what is on there. We were able to catch the last day of a free Chagall exhibit. Unfortunately we had 1 of the two interior rooms and hot weather during our stay. The room was unpleasantly stuffy so it was difficult to sleep. Opening the window didn't bring much fresh air, but did bring in noise from the apartments that shared the same ventilation shaft.
We didn't think to ask if we could have a fan for our room. If available,this would have been helpful. We booked in June for an October stay, and at that time, already only interior rooms were available. Reserve early for San Sebastian. This lovely city is deservedly popular.

Room Tip: Avoid interior rooms Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plakias1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prefer not to say.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Thanks to Paul and Carlos the managers of this lovely pension. Aida is on the other side of the river from the old town and only about 200 metres from the surf beach. The managers are welcoming and informative. The rooms are clean and comfortable. And the location is excellent. What more needs to be said?

Room Tip: We chose an inside room which was unnecessary because street noise did not seem to be a problem at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beyond5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were thrilled when we arrived at Pension Aida and were greeted by an absolutely lovely and warm woman. We checked our luggage in and asked for a lunch recommendation. She sent us in the direction of a great little local place, which really set our stay in San Sebastian off on the right foot. Back at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by our light, airy and modern room. Our quad room had a double bed, a fold out double sofa bed, bathroom and self contained kitchen. The accommodation is about a 20 minute walk from the beach and around 5-10 minutes to the main shopping area. I would happily stay here again if (no, make that when!) I return to San Sebastian.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jobanoonoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2010. Whilst we were happy with the location and service, we were given room 2 where the window opens out to a shaft with no fresh air. Because of this, the room was unbearable at times. We asked about changing rooms, however, we were advised that it wasn't possible. I would not have booked this hotel had I known we would have no air in our room! Having said that, the other rooms with outside windows would have been great. I would recommend asking to not be put in room 2 during summer, in the cooler months it would be ok.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbelle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aida

Property: Pension Aida
Address: 9 Calle Iztueta, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 Specialty Lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Aida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aida Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing