We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect pension”
Review of Pension Goiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Goiko
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The location is amazing at the center of the old town where everything is going. we booked a private room and it was so clean and tied up, the staff were so nice they showed up around the city and invited us for a really nice paella. Definitely coming to san Sebastian and specifically to pension Goiko, thank you so much for the amazing experience.

Room Tip: If you check in early they give you the preference to choose the room you want and probably with an...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Pension Goiko
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 135 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is my first hostel in Spain, when I arrived, the weather wasn't good, thanks for Goiko provided me a nice comfortable accommodation, I can stay hostel in rainy days comfortably. And the lady at reception is so nice and welcoming, she spent like 20 minutes explaining Donostia (SanSebastien) the nice Bars, foods, and my questions about transportation and the suggestions for visiting. The most important thing during traveling is meeting nice people, no?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOGOGEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stefania was an absolutely wonderful hostess. She spent ages with us marking on the local map all the best places to eat and their specialties. She answered all our questions regarding the local history and culture and gave lots of advice and insight into places to visit. The Pension was spotlessly clean and all staff welcoming and friendly. Our room overlooked the street (3rd floor) so noise from the street could be heard but that added to the charm of the place - the sounds of people out enjoying the evening and then the cleaning of the streets, rubbish collection etc. The location was perfect. We three siblings (younger at heart than in age!) shared a room that had a bathroom next to it and another a few steps down the hall. We were there in January 2014, a perfect time to visit San Sebastion (any time would be perfect though). Definitely value for money and more. Would highly recommend this accommodation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stephanie runs this Pension and she helped to make our stay in San Sebastian the best ever. First of all we had a triple room and it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had a shared bathroom which was also spotless.Stephanie helped us make the most of our short stay from suggesting walks of various lengths to Tapas bars.We would never have found these bars on our own. We will stay here again and again.Thank you Stephanie.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joangallagher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff, great location if you want to stay in the middle of Old Town. The street is noisy outside but then we went at the height of the summer hols. Really close to loads of pintxos bars, shops and the marina area. Breakfast is cereal, toast, hot drinks etc you just help yourself. good kitchen area as well. Staff will do your laundry for 5€ so great for travellers. Our private double room was clean but one side of the blind didnt work so was a bit public! But definitely recommended hostel. There were some English families staying at the same time as us, they were travelling, and they were well looked after and loving it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJL1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place was ideal. Very clean, secure and spacious.
The check in process was efficient and smooth (we paid cash, but they do take credit cards). Our host showed us to our room (we had booked a double room) and explained that we could move the two queen beds together.
She let us know she could give us a map and share some recommendations - they were spot on.
We had everything we needed from this place (towels) and were very comfortable. There was a shower and toilet outside of the room (to be shared with a dorm bedroom, unoccupied during our stay). Our room faced the puerto calle (street) so was fairly noisey (sun-weds) but it also added to the atmosphere.
I would recommend this place to those looking for a place in a great location close to everything in the old town.
Make sure you remember the code to get in the front door (as sometimes there isn't anyone in the reception/kitchen area to let you in!).
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Overlooking the street, be prepared to hear the street cleaners @ 3am, but then just have a siesta t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Has more of a Hostel vibe than a B &B. Is a bit more ramshackle than the photos make out. Had a room in the centre of the building which was very hot and stuffy during the summer months. If you stay here try and book a room facing the street although I suspect that would be quite noisey. Having said that the staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good value. And is in a great location for bars restaurants and the beach

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_T255333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Pension San Juan
Pension San Juan
#65 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaixo Hostel
Kaixo Hostel
#42 of 88 in San Sebastian - Donostia
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Loinaz
Pension Loinaz
#44 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Umore Ona Bi
Umore Ona Bi
#45 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#2 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Room In The City
A Room In The City
#2 of 88 in San Sebastian - Donostia
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Goiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Goiko

Address: Calle del puerto, 6, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $38 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Goiko 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pension Goiko esta en el casco antiguo de San Sebastian, a 2 minutos a pie del puerto y la playa de La Concha. Ofrece conexion Wi-Fi gratuita y habitaciones sencillas. Algunas tienen bano privado y otras, bano compartido. Todas las habitaciones disponen de calefaccion y la mayoria incluye TV. Pueden dar a la calle o al interior. Los banos compartidos estan equipados con ducha. La pension Goiko esta en el centro, a pocos pasos de muchas tiendas, bares y restaurantes. Hay guardaequipaje y mostrador de informacion turistica, donde se pueden alquilar bicicletas. Se ofrece servicio de enlace con el aeropuerto por un suplemento. La estacion de tren de San Sebastian se encuentra a 15 minutos a pie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Goiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing