We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel de Londres in late April 2014 and were very pleased with our spacious room, which faced the bay and had a small balcony. If we had noisy neighbors, we didn't notice them, having had such active days that we slept soundly--and quite comfortably-- once we called it a day. Fortunately, we didn't encounter any large tour groups. We ate two breakfasts at the hotel and because we had an early train to catch on the third morning, we asked for breakfast sacks to go. Those were waiting for us when we came downstairs to leave for the station. All three meals seemed somewhat overepriced by US standards, but the service both in the dining room and at the desk was prompt and courteous. I'm glad we chose to stay at the Londres.

Room Tip: A sea view room is well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutchine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 3,062 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I ended our 2 week tour of Spain in this gorgeous elegant historic hotel smack in the middle of the incredible La Concha Bay in San Sebastian. We had an Attic Terrace Sea View Room and it was absolutely awesome. Its the top level of the hotel with outstanding views of the entire city of San Sebastian but ocean front. We had our own private terrace deck with privacy siding, table, chairs and lounge.The room was large, beds were comfy with luxury linens, small couch and desk area, closet, safe, mini fridge and a luxurious killer carrera marble bathroom. The staff were efficient and friendly. The free internet was spotty but that is not uncommon in Europe. The cozy oceanfront bar and the restaurant were great. Wonderful walking access to the beach promenade and beaches, the historic old quarter with all the best Tapa bars and michelin starred restaurants and the shopping district and river front. High season is July-August and prices are much higher and beaches more crowded so keep that in mind. We can't wait to return to this gem!

Room Tip: Request an Ocean Front Room, Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I cannot argue that this hotel is in a fantastic location and that it mixes old world style with modern very well; this is what you pay the premium for. But, our room was tiny and when they say 'city view' all they mean is not 'beach view'. Also service in the bar was poor, almost rude, which is very rare in Northern Spain in our experience. In conclusion: over priced and over rated. The most expensive hotel out of the 6 we stayed in whilst in Northern Spain and by no means the best on any level, including location.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I am a little surprised by some of the unreserved praise lavished on this hotel by some reviewers. We stayed in May 2014. The hotel has an enviable position right on La Concha bay with a broad, attractive promenade outside which leads to the magnificent beach. I cannot fault the friendliness of the staff or the attentiveness of the service; the valet parking in particular was much appreciated as the streets in San Sebastian are busy and there is a one-way system which is somewhat confusing (even our Satnav got slightly lost). Our room with balcony overlooking the sea was spacious and very comfortable; the marble bathroom was well-equipped and also large with two basins and lots of storage space. I'd advise against the rooms on the other side of the hotel which overlook a small and traffic-ridden square.
There is,though, something odd about this hotel. It seems they have reconfigured it to remove a lot of the rooms which were once for the guests and turned them into private suites used for weddings etc which means that for hotel guests there is little in the way of pubIic spaces. On our last day there was a wedding reception and the guests were having their welcome drinks in the hotel lobby: we actually had to fight our way through the assembled flower of San Sebastian society to get out the front door! In addition the bar area doubles as the only lounge so has the feel of a rather grand station waiting-room in the evening when it is very busy (there were several large tour groups, both British and German, staying there at the time).
There is one dining room which, although advertised as a gourmet Brasserie, is in fact the rather austere breakfast room complete with self-service buffet area. We did not try the food as the setting was very unappealing: 'looks very ordinary' as my husband remarked on the night we arrived. That said we had no trouble finding excellent restaurants and Tapas bars in which to eat a variety of wonderful food. Hotel breakfast at 19 Euros is a bit on the pricey side and we opted for the delicious croissant and coffee avaliable at the bar from 10.00 am.
All in all it's a good hotel in a fine position but in my opinion only just merits its fourth star because of the limited public space available. Even if they spent millions on it I do not see how it could ever be ranked higher because it simply feels cramped; I think they have made a commercial decision at the expense of the hotel's amenities for guests. Definitely not quite what we had expected from the website.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing away from the sea: they overlook a busy small square with lots of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Located right in front of the beach. Good location (5 minute walk to the old town). Check in and check out was very efficient. Rooms were clean with ample space. Only downside is that walls of hotel are pretty thin so you can here footsteps or doors closing in the other rooms. But overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubub82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel on a driving tour of Northern Spain based on Trip Advisor Reviews. We were very happy of our selection. We got a deluxe beachfront room on the 5th floor with balcony. The room is large with all amenities with a beautiful view of the beach. Services were excellent. Breakfast were of high quality with food cooked to order.

The only minor negative is that the hotel driveway is small and can be easily be missed. If you drive to the hotel, make sure you read the driving instruction to the hotel. Parking is 20 Euro a day in a secure garage area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maturetraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent six nights in Spain in San Sebastian, Bilbao, Santander and Pampeluna, from May 21 to May 27. All the hotels we stayed in had 4 or 5 stars. The Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra was our favorite one. Everything was fine, from the beakfast to the room (we did not try the restaurant), but specially the attitude of the reception which was very eager to help.

Room Tip: The room was quiet thanks to the "double windows". We wanted a quiet room and got it but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G123HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,849 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Niza
Hotel Niza
#10 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
688 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $116 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing