We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic position, lovely rooms, very limited public areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I am a little surprised by some of the unreserved praise lavished on this hotel by some reviewers. We stayed in May 2014. The hotel has an enviable position right on La Concha bay with a broad, attractive promenade outside which leads to the magnificent beach. I cannot fault the friendliness of the staff or the attentiveness of the service; the valet parking in particular was much appreciated as the streets in San Sebastian are busy and there is a one-way system which is somewhat confusing (even our Satnav got slightly lost). Our room with balcony overlooking the sea was spacious and very comfortable; the marble bathroom was well-equipped and also large with two basins and lots of storage space. I'd advise against the rooms on the other side of the hotel which overlook a small and traffic-ridden square.
There is,though, something odd about this hotel. It seems they have reconfigured it to remove a lot of the rooms which were once for the guests and turned them into private suites used for weddings etc which means that for hotel guests there is little in the way of pubIic spaces. On our last day there was a wedding reception and the guests were having their welcome drinks in the hotel lobby: we actually had to fight our way through the assembled flower of San Sebastian society to get out the front door! In addition the bar area doubles as the only lounge so has the feel of a rather grand station waiting-room in the evening when it is very busy (there were several large tour groups, both British and German, staying there at the time).
There is one dining room which, although advertised as a gourmet Brasserie, is in fact the rather austere breakfast room complete with self-service buffet area. We did not try the food as the setting was very unappealing: 'looks very ordinary' as my husband remarked on the night we arrived. That said we had no trouble finding excellent restaurants and Tapas bars in which to eat a variety of wonderful food. Hotel breakfast at 19 Euros is a bit on the pricey side and we opted for the delicious croissant and coffee avaliable at the bar from 10.00 am.
All in all it's a good hotel in a fine position but in my opinion only just merits its fourth star because of the limited public space available. Even if they spent millions on it I do not see how it could ever be ranked higher because it simply feels cramped; I think they have made a commercial decision at the expense of the hotel's amenities for guests. Definitely not quite what we had expected from the website.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing away from the sea: they overlook a busy small square with lots of traffic
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,839)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 2,840 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Located right in front of the beach. Good location (5 minute walk to the old town). Check in and check out was very efficient. Rooms were clean with ample space. Only downside is that walls of hotel are pretty thin so you can here footsteps or doors closing in the other rooms. But overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubub82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel on a driving tour of Northern Spain based on Trip Advisor Reviews. We were very happy of our selection. We got a deluxe beachfront room on the 5th floor with balcony. The room is large with all amenities with a beautiful view of the beach. Services were excellent. Breakfast were of high quality with food cooked to order.

The only minor negative is that the hotel driveway is small and can be easily be missed. If you drive to the hotel, make sure you read the driving instruction to the hotel. Parking is 20 Euro a day in a secure garage area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maturetraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent six nights in Spain in San Sebastian, Bilbao, Santander and Pampeluna, from May 21 to May 27. All the hotels we stayed in had 4 or 5 stars. The Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra was our favorite one. Everything was fine, from the beakfast to the room (we did not try the restaurant), but specially the attitude of the reception which was very eager to help.

Room Tip: The room was quiet thanks to the "double windows". We wanted a quiet room and got it but i...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G123HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a hotel with panache. The location, overlooking the gorgeous La Concha beach and a short walk from the old town, is unbeatable. We were near the top of the hotel on the ocean side, and it was amazing to wake up and open our balcony door to that view.

The hotel is extremely well appointed and exudes European luxury. The rooms are a good size, with comfortable beds and excellent amenities. The bar is beautiful and the drinks are good. The staff took good care of us (which we needed, as we did not arrive at the hotel until 2am due to travel delays).

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra cost to be on the ocean side. Try to get a room on a higher floor -- the v...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Londres has a great location. But most of all incredible view of the bay. Staff is nice even though they don't make an effort to go an extra mile for you. I was a bit disappointed to find out that there is no spa inside the hotel. The hotel is good for a short visit though

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 454Hrisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just the location of this Hotel alone is stunning. The Hotel itself offers superior accommodation at a realistic price and has a discerning and highly professional staff to oversee your comfort and necessities. I booked a sea view room which did not disappoint. It had a small balcony and french windows which allowed me to sleep and awaken with the sound of the sea lapping below.. I booked and got an enormous room with the largest king sized bed ever encountered, and slept with Egyptian cotton sheets and comfortable bed pillows. The ample marble bathroom was spacious and the walk in shower a delight. Add to this, good housekeeping, a friendly bar and valet parking. I will be returning to San Sebastian and re booking this wonderful Hotel. hopefully very soon

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, and a low floor if you want to sleep close to the sea. The second floor room w...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spookykenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,573 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#23 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $126 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing