We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night, having arrived eralier that evening from the 24hr Brittania Portsmouth-Santander ferry. It took a couple of hours or so to drive from Santander. We chose this hotel because of the great reveiws and location. We hoped for valet parking, and pulled up outside the main entrance, and immediately started getting tooted by a taxi that had pulled up behind. A porter came out and demanded keys and it was all a little fraught. The car park is underneath the hotel and costs extra. Reception staff were busy but polite and answered all our questions. Bags were taken up to our room, as one would expect.

The room was on floor five, not one of the refurbished ones but as seen in photographs, with an elaborate and splendid bathroom, although it could have done with a dust around the floor edges on close inspection. We had a small balcony, just enough room for feet, not a breakfast table as we had hoped. Outside, buskers were playing and the music floated up to the room. All charming and lovely. We went out for a walk-about on the promenade and through the old town before dark, all fabulous, to work up an appetite for dinner in the restaurant at 10pm. The menu was a complete disappointment and the food itself was little better. Service was poor. considering all the tempting and inviting looking tapas bars and restaurants we had passed while wandering around, this was a real let down. We only had one course and went out again to get an ice cream from one of the shops we had seen for dessert.

As previously reported, the matresses are very comfortable, but on the firm side.
We ordered room service breakfast - expensive - and ate some but not all items, wanting to go outside to the beach for a swim, and planning to finnish it off when we returned. However, we were shocked to find that the breakfast tray and its' contents had been removed. A quick word with reception on check out redeemed the situation slightly by not charging for it. we checked out at 12 noon (last available time) and discovered that everyone else had had the same idea so reception was VERY busy. We waited half an hour for the car to be brought round, and had to pay the porter the car park fee so he could retrieve it.

The beach is lovely and the sea was clean. There is a fenced off area to stop boats (and presumably unwanted marine animals such as jelly fish spoiling the bathing.

It is a top spot, and San Sebastian itself is a lovely place, welll worth the journey after the ferry, as Santander looks a little grim.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 3,005 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

As it was a special occasion we splashed out and got one of the modern rooms right at the top of the hotel facing the sea (7th floor). What a view, we could lie in bed and see the sea and hear the waves ( very relaxing). The room was extremely comfortable and it had an enormous terrace with table and chairs and sun loungers. Both the room and bathroom (no bath but huge shower) contained everything you could possibly want or need. Breakfast was very good and everyone in the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful.. The room was expensive but was well worth the money with it's amazing view which we will always remember. San Sebastián has three 3 star Michelin starred restaurants and we tried all of them and four of us agreed Arzak was without doubt the best, a real experience. We all loved San Sebastián and would recommend both it and the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multitrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Agree with the sentiment of the other reviews.

The location is the best. Right on the beach. We stayed in the new 7th floor attic rooms overlooking the beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the bars/pinxtos. The room was not huge, but nice. The bathroom was clean and modern.

The service was not that great. The entire time we were there the air conditioner did not work. We reported the problem every day for the first three days, then gave up after they kept saying it was working. Fortunately it was cool at night and the room only got to 75 inside. Other issues were small (phone not working at times, room-service not answering when busy, spraying sheets with disinfectant instead of changing them at times, not replacing beach towels).

When you've stayed at places with top-notch service, the lack of it can be striking at first. Just the small things such as staff greeting you and smiling were lacking here for the most part. Some (not all) front-desk staff acted like they were doing you a favor by telling you were a restaurant was on the map or calling you a cab.

Example - We wanted a corkscrew to open a bottle of wine in our room one day. I asked the front desk. He said we don't have one. Then I said well maybe the bar does? He said - yes, you can go ask them if they'll lend you one. The bartender then agreed to let me borrow one, but said, "don't forget to bring it right back".

The walls are a bit thin - but that's pretty much every hotel. So with louder neighbors you can definitely hear them. The mattress was firm, but not terrible.

Overall, to be fair, I would stay there again because of the location. Maria Christina is the other option and has reportedly much better service, but a bit more expensive. And it is a walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cocktail-hour-1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

You've stayed in this hotel before, called the Grand, the Bristol, or whatever, overlooking any beach in England, Ireland, Spain, France or Italy. Good!

Everything is right. Nothing wrong.

Two small points:
The sunrise in San Sebastian/Donostia means that a sea view won't give you a view of the sun until late afternoon.
The restaurant is good food and good value.

The local shops and bars (for bits and wine) are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are headed to San Sebastian Spain check out the Londres Hotel. It is on the water and right in the center of everything. I was there for a few days while on a tour and found the hotel and city so charming that I would like to take a vacation and just stay there. The bar was great and the hotel beautiful. So many places to eat wonderful food with in walking distance. If you can get a room with an ocean view that would be the best ever

Room Tip: I had a room with the water view. It was quiet and well appointed. I would feel lucky if I could g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monafromnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have many times to this Hotel, as it has the best location. Make sure they give you a room with see view. The rest of the services of the hotel are ok, a little be old but this give a nice enviromental.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our mission was to Eat and Joy in San Sebastian, Bilbao and Vitoria. Check the Michelin star restaurants and stay in beautiful Hotel. Hotel de Londresf y de Inglaterra was perfect place for this visit. Location and hotel it self was just beautiful. Old and traditional place, so that I just waited to see Agatha Christie´s Hercule Poirot with Miss Marple having a afternoon tea there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cartza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,829 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,920 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Niza
Hotel Niza
#9 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $113 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing