We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Similar to other reviews about this hotel - the hotel is a little dated and does need a good reno to make it more modern but the view of the bay makes up for this and more. If staying here, book the sea side view, more expensive yes, but well worth every penny as I believe the main attraction here is the beautiful beach and bay.

I visited in August and the weather was great, the beach was great but busy. The water was pleasant, a little cool but nothing to worry about.

The town is a great stroll to walk through with lots of nice bars and tapas restaurants. All in all, San Sebastian is a great spot and a nice break from busy cities such as Barcelona and Madrid - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    924
    174
    41
    26
See reviews for
409
1,476
68
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The best location in San Sebastian, the hotel was great, clean and close to eveything. Don't look at other hotels this is the best in the area. Our friends were staying at Maria Cristina which was a 5 star and although it was GORGEOUS, it was a 10 min walk to the beach. This hotel is right on the beach it was great

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lela#1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is my first tripadvisor review ever and felt it was necessary as this was one of my best hotel experiences ever. We stayed there for three nights and were luckily given one of the best rooms with a view overlooking the beach, ocean and plaza even though we only paid for plaza view. The staff was incredibly helpful and very accommodating to our group. The location of the hotel was perfect, just blocks from the old town and right on the beach. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone (families, groups, friends, etc.). Tremendous. Only cons were the room service pizza was not very good and a little pricey.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the way to go, but we were given a sea view even though we only paid for plaza vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkerto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

rooms furnished in a very poor way. Bathroom nice and comfortable.
In the bar of the hotel, after ordering a Bloody Mary and a gin&tonic, They charge YOU 2 euro for a handful of old nuts!!Rooms not particularly clean.
Temperature of the rooms fixed by the hotel computers and you have to nag at them to have it changed (!) They charge you one euro per day just to borrow one towel for the beach. Signs everywhere say that they don't take responsability for the content of the safe, that they charge yoy 12 euro if you lose the towel etc

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Went there for my honeymoon and my wife absolutely loved the hotel and the city. Booked the street view room (room 518) and although I was a bit surprised at the size, which was smaller than what it looked like on the website, the location and the promptness of the staff more than made up for it. The hotel faces la concha, which is 100m away, and is in close proximity (not even a 5 minute walk away) to both parte vieja and the new town with all the branded stores.

If you are looking to impress your partner this is the hotel to book. Although a bit expensive, you won't be let down with the location and the service. I went there us August and the weather was great.

Room Tip: If you have the budget book the sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights during August. I payed the extra for the double room with sea view, and in all honesty, was worth every penny! I stepped into the room, which granted, was quite dated in decor and on the small side (bathroom however was large and beautifully set in marble) but when I went out onto the balcony, it literally took my breath away! WOW! I was on the top floor and had the most amazing view of the bay, day and night. The most amazing thing during my stay was they also had fireworks both nights next to the old town. I was in a prime position on my balcony for this and didn't have to wrestle with the THOUSANDS of people packed onto the beach below me! Not only was the location good for the beach and views, but also the proximity to old town and all the delicious Pintxos, and the main shopping streets. Staff were very friendly also! Would I stay again? Definitely, even for just that view. It's amazingly not as expensive as other sea front properties elsewhere (I look at you Palais de la Mediterranee in Nice) and of a better quality! Highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BmitchAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 5 nights staying at the Hotel de Londres in late July and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Ideally situated right on the beach (watch out for the cyclists as you step on to the promenade) and within easy strolling distance of both the old town and the new shopping precincts.
The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel ammenities excellent.
The reception staff were very obliging and friendly.

San Sebastian did prove a bit of a challenge to drive around though so we left our car securely valet parked for most of our stay. When we did require the car it was waiting by the door very promptly. Valet parking was 20 Euros/day, no more expensive than the public parking near by.
We would not hesitate to return to both San Sebastian and the Hotel de Londres in the future.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BChristieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Property: Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing