We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent site in San Sebastian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Windwardside
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent site in San Sebastian”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This recently renovated (e.g. all modern conveniences) historic hotel is remarkable for its location and view of the entire bay that makes the city famous. It is worth it to pay for the seaside view rooms (with small balcony,SRO only) for viewing the sunset, constant people promenade, and the city at night. Staff was very helpful, and the valet parking a valuable asset. Well worth the price. Staff was helpful in finding a good regional restaurant. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroll949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,506
    978
    182
    46
    29
See reviews for
447
1,575
78
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

There are several reasons my wife and I keep coming back to Hotel Londres. In no particular order they are: the proximity to the beach, the design and style of the hotel, the hotel's bar room, the neighborhood, the rooms and balconies facing the ocean, the helpful staff, the patio tables/restaurant, the beautiful boardwalk it sits on, the proximity to the Parte Vieja, and that's only off the top of my head. Surely there is more.

I did complain this year about two things: 1. a chambermaid knocked while entering our room while I was not dressed and while I exclaimed loudly that we were in the room and to please not come in now, she inexplicably kept coming and trying to hand me a wastepaper basket that belonged in our bathroom. I was literally holding a pillow over my undressed body with one hand and waving her out with the other. She insisted on leaving the basket which she laid on the floor as she walked out. What the heck????
2. There was a very loud celebration at the port which involved a bandshell pointed right at Londres. I was hoping the break the bands took at 11:30pm would be the end of the music, but I was wrong. 2 different heavy metal thrash bands came on and played until 2am.
It was *insanely* loud in our room despite our double-pane balcony doors and all that. We didn't sleep that night until 3am and we had to leave the next morning at 11. We eventually changed our plans and they gave us a 1pm checkout so that we could sleep another hour that morning.

I inquired and received a message from the hotel's GM that the port celebration was not under their control and they apologized for any inconvenience it may have caused us.

My response was simply that a 4-star hotel in the line of fire of a bandshell should have some details about what's going on and a schedule of the festivities to some degree. I would even go so far to say that in that very small city, they might even have a say in the event since they would be so affected.

So, we had a less-than-stellar experience this time around, but we *will* be back. From New York City, we travel for pleasure frequently around Western Europe and Hotel Londres has been, and still is, one of our favorites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Americano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We found the hotel to be lovely. The old staircase, chandeliers and beautiful sitting area looking out onto the beach were fantastic. This was a little more on the expensive side for our trip, however I think you get what you pay for and in this case it didn't disappoint. The bathrooms were large and well set out, the bedroom was of a reasonable size. The breakfast was great with so much choice. Location was great if wanting to head to the beach, also very central to the town with most things within walking distance. The train station was a little bit of a treck but definately manageable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in July, Excellent value, perfect position overlooking the bay- make sure you ask for a sea view room- and the staff were fabulous.

Prompt attention to anything we needed. Good beds, lovely rooms and the stff made it all most enjyble

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is very well located just at the sea front and quite near of the old town, where you can find the best bars an restaurants in San Sebastian. The soundproofing of the door is poor, and the services should be a little better. The price that I paid is the same that I pay in any hotel during the peak season. I really did not see a better hotel in SanSebastian than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLLFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I'd heard good things about this hotel but in my view it was just too oldy worldy. The view however was outstanding and the staff friendly. Its very conveniently located next to the shops. Not sure I'd go back.

Room Tip: Make sure at check in you state that you dont want non-smoking as its allocated by default
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneywinelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX,USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel londres

I just spent 4 nights at the hotel Londres in room 313.  It was listed as a Jr. Suite with an ocean view.  The hotel location was ideal: literally on the beach and adjacent ti the old town.  The only comment is that the parking is a bit tricky.   It's necessary to make an immediate turn via the taxi/bus lane when turning away from the beach.  There is a diagonal driveway that puts one in front of the hotel.  My advice: have the valet take care of it.  The parking price for this is competitive and life is short.  The room had a great sea view and wad well furnished with a lot of historical items from Mati Hari's life.  She spent a lot of time in the area and is a historical interest for most of us.  My son slept on the foldout couch and we had good privacy.  Note that the doors did not lock, however.  Everything worked well during our stay and I would  stay there again. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerWantabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,673 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#22 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Property: Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing